Fiction logo

Hansel and Gretel Find a Snack

L.C. Schäfer's Fucked up Fairytales

By Hannah MoorePublished 14 days ago 2 min read
13
Hansel and Gretel Find a Snack
Photo by Ali Bakhtiari on Unsplash

For L.C. Schafer's Fucked Up Fairytales unofficial challenge. 366 words before I added this bit!

Hansel vomited into the bucket again. No one looked very sympathetic.

"So you pushed her into the Aga?" Hansel thought he might be sick again.

"I think so. Yes. I pushed her." He could see himself doing it, but then he'd seen a lot of things.

"Hansel, Mrs Mastaroudes is in a very serious condition. Yet you don't seem sure."

"It was all... I don't...." Hansel started to cry.

He'd been the one in charge, he should never have let it happen, but when Gretel ran off, he had to go after her, didn't he? Then they'd both been lost. Dad would have known how to stave off hunger in the woods. He'd just been showing off, trying to look knowledgeable when she'd held out a handful of slim, grey-brown mushrooms. Now they were telling him he wasn't going to die, but he felt like he might.

"Where's Gretel?"

"I ATE her! Or... I don't know. She was with me at the house, and then, I think I ate her!"

The house had been something else. After the mushrooms, Hansel had started to wonder if all this had happened on purpose. Linda, their step-mum, was trying to get rid of him, he'd told Gretel, she wanted him out. Gretel had not argued. And then they had stumbled into the clearing and he'd seen the house. Yellow cake walls and striped candy woodwork, a gleaming boiled sugar roof, Hansel had been agape, and Gretel had laughed raucously. Until the woman came out.

Inside, the paranoia only built, and he recalled with another lurch of his stomach his terror as he had been offered dish after dish, certain the old witch was trying to kill him.

Now he remembered. Gretel had pushed her. Head first into the oven. "Linda sends her love!" she'd shouted.

"Gretel, you killed her!" he'd gasped.

"No one will believe you" she'd told him. "She wouldn't let me in on my own. Grandma can't stand girls. Don't know why." He'd watched as she gathered gold and jewellery from nooks and crannies around the house. "Anyway. I didn't. You did. Don't you remember? After she made you eat me all up."

Then, she was gone.

Microfiction
13

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming12 days ago

    Yes, it is confusing but I think I would have just accepted this as a piece representing Hansel's confusion and that would have been that. Having read your self- examinatory piece and the comments, I can see that other readers wanted it to make sense whereas I would have thought it was just a bit of a bonkers trip.

  • Cathy holmes13 days ago

    Guy's bloody trippin' on the shrooms. 🤣

  • Christy Munson14 days ago

    I'm with the others who've commented as to their confusion, but you have created something here. Might let it sit a bit and come back for a second read when my day's less packed.

  • L.C. Schäfer14 days ago

    This was... Confusing but also amazing 🤩 I had to read it twice 😄

  • Paul Stewart14 days ago

    haha...I was a little confused at first...then thought I had figured it out...Thavien's dissection helped a little, but I thought it was very entertaining and quite the trip, either way! Well done, glad you didn't hold onto this and went ahead and published! :)

  • Enjoyed it really well. Thank you!

  • I was as confused as John, lol. So grateful for Thavien's explanation to John, I now understand perfectly hehehehehehe. Now that was a freaking twisted story! Also, what is Aga?

  • JBaz14 days ago

    Ok that is a trip and a half Totally a mushroom vibe going on

  • Caroline Craven14 days ago

    Oof. Maybe it’s because I’m moving to Missouri but this gave me ‘Gone Girl’ vibes. Gretel is a piece of work! This, however, was a great piece of work!

  • John Cox14 days ago

    Well, at the expense of looking stupid, I’m just going to ask. Who’s Linda? Who’s Mrs. M? Who’s Grandma? I read this 3 times and still don’t who’s who. Wait … maybe I ate the Mushrooms.

  • Thavien Yliaster14 days ago

    *cracks knuckles* Time to comment!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.