Fiction logo

Grimm In Love,

An Unexpected Love Story

By Misha AlslebenPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 9 min read
8

I watched as tears rolled down my face while the graveyard emptied from the funeral happening a few plots over. Sitting down beside her freshly dug grave felt weird. It had been 3 weeks and she still felt like I lost her yesterday. Feeling the wind pick up as the air got chilly. I looked up to see a hooded black figure, blinking my eyes I assumed they were clouded with tears. That was until it moved closer and closer, before standing just on the other side of the headstone I sat in front of. I blinked watching as he brought a sithe out of his cloak. Gasping I sprung up and walked backward a few steps.

"What are you doing to my grandma's headstone?!" I wanted answers From this sicko.

Slowly the hooded figure turned toward me.

"You can see me," A quiet velvet voice asked.

"I can and I'd like to know what kind of sick joke this is."

Deep laughter filled the empty graveyard as the shadowy figure in front of me morphed into what looked more man than ghost unlike before. A hood still shielded his face from visibility his muscular arms stuck out of his black jacket, black cargo pants adorned with a chain leading to black boots. He stood firmly in front of me head turned sideways as if he was studying me.

Unsplash image by Lucas Clarysse

"That's a new one, a human seeing a Grimm hasn't happened in years."

"Are you trying to tell me you are like the Grimm reaper?" I stared in disbelief. Maybe I had taken too many of those sedatives my therapist prescribed. I looked at him unmoving

"Names Malakai Grimm, but you can call me Kai."

"So what are you? I asked crossing my arms.

"I was checking for your grandma's soul token. So I could take her to the other side. It is a long walk, it is better to have company"

"That's nice, I guess," I said still completely dazed at what was happening.

"Honestly it's nice to be talked to. Most of the dead are too scared to talk. Nobody realizes I'm not dead, just a friendly entity to accompany your trip to the afterlife."

"Can I ask you a question?"

"Sure, what's up?"

"Do you know when someone will die?"

"Mmm, not exactly. I know when a soul has departed life and entered pre afterlife."

"Okay, so you can't say how long say my mom would have, or me?" I asked curiously.

"Nope. Nasty business looking into future deaths"

"Are you like always here walking around where humans can't see you?"

"Pretty much except for when I take walks with people. There are other Grimms though, it's very unusual you can see me. Have you had a recent brush with death?"

"I was in the car with her." I felt tears sting my face.

Kai reached out, brushing the tear off my face.

"How can I feel you."

"Magic trick" he shrugged not offering much explanation

"You know what you need, you need a little bit of fun."

"Fun?" I choked back tears laughing a little at his comment.

"I'm not really in the mood for fun"

"Ah, come on it's not every day you get to meet a Grimm."

I contemplated for a moment. I had felt numb the last couple of weeks.

"Why not" I sighed.

"Let's go, Kai held out his hand and I took it hesitantly.

" Where are we going?"

"First stop is the cutest little diner, food is fuel. Right?"

"I guess, I'm not that hungry" We stopped walking and I saw an old-style diner in front of us. Stardust Diner, I haven't been here since I was a kid. My grandma used to take after church on Sunday, I never really enjoyed church but loved the time with my grandma.

"Trust me when you smell the food you'll be hungry."

As soon as we stepped inside the smell of various breakfast foods hit me. The kitchen clambered with the sounds of knives chopping, bacon sizzling, and the cooks talking amongst themselves. It was busy in the dining areas but still had plenty of tables left.

"Seat yourself hun" A peppy but puzzled-looking waitress from behind the counter said grabbing a menu.

Sitting down in a window booth I slide in as Kai slid in across from me.

"What can I get you to drink while you browse the menu." light brown hair thrown into a hasty bun framed her face, her bright green eyes seemed to sparkle with happiness. Something I missed.

"Two glasses of orange juice please."

"Two?" She repeated back with a puzzled look on her face.

I looked across to Kai who shrugged in response.

"Yes two please"

"Coming right up."

"So what do you want?"

"Order two plates of waffles with whip cream and strawberry syrup. They are to die for." He chuckled at his joke

"Okay you won't die though"

I giggled at his joke, ordering what he asked for when the waitress returned.

As soon as the waffles were sat in front of us my mouth watered. They were fluffy and steaming. Pulling my plate closer I dumped the strawberries and whip cream on top and noticed Kai had already done the same and began eating. I felt eyes on me and looked around the dining area. Several people were staring but I ignored them. Once we were done I paid and left a tip then stepped outside into the warm sun.

"You know another favorite of mine that is also great for cheering people up? "

"No, what?" I asked genuinely interested.

"Follow me" he gestured toward the boardwalk. Once he stopped I noticed we were in front of a animal rescue.

"Hello, welcome to Paws and Claws animal rescue. Are you looking to adopt today?" A red-haired woman asked looking concerned at my appearance. I ignored her judgemental stares

"Umm, no"

"Tell them you want to volunteer to walk a dog and play with the kittens."

"Is it possible to volunteer to walk a dog and play with the kittens"

"This isn't typical but today is a rare day, all our dogs are being walked as we speak but the kitten room is open"

Kai looked giddy at the news.

After playing with several fluffy kittens for what felt like hours. My favorite being a spunky black one. We had made our way to the pier and boardwalk. Kai seemed to be enjoying himself the exact opposite of what you’d expect from a Grimm reaper. I wish I could see his face. I watched as he walked at a slightly faster pace similar to how he had done at the graveyard as we approached the end of the pier. A small pop-up carnival had formed at the of the pier and down on the sandy beach. Halfway through games, I found myself laughing with Kai as I got stares from strangers. I won a giant stuffed animal tossing rings and that didn’t help with people's stares. Kai's favorite snack was cotton candy and he loved rides I kept feeling something when I got near him but I couldn’t place what it was. I couldn’t remember the last time I had this much fun.

“Sabrina”

My head snapped up to Kai bringing me out of my thoughts.

“You can call me Bri, all my friends do.“ I smiled.

”If it’s ok with you I like your name, and how do you feel about beaches?“

I looked at him as he looked over the edge of the pier near a sign that said no jumping.

“I love the beach, especially the water.“ I said happily,

“Let's go for a walk and look for sand-dollars,” he said leading me down the steps of the pier.

Once on the beach, the salty air helped me relax. We searched until sunsets for sand dollars but only found two. Soon we found ourselves walking down a road then through the woods. As the sun sat the sky turned into a creamsicle sunset with purples and pinks swirling with the dwindling clouds.

“One more thing, Kai said quickly stopping then stepping behind me covering my eyes“

“What’s that?”

The smell of wildflowers and pine trees filled my nose. As he removed his hands I was breathless looking at the site in front of me. Wildflowers filled the field by the hundreds all different kinds coexisting in an open field surrounded by trees and plenty of chirping birds.

“We should get back Kai said looking up at the darkening sky.”

I didn’t want our time to come to an end. I felt something for Kai and today had been amazing.

”Sabrina, I figured out why you can see me. Your family will be here soon, I have to go, it was such a blessing meeting you ” he finished sadly facing me brushing hair back off my neck.

“Why would my family be here ?“ I questioned as we walked forward. The trees slowly thinned and I realize we were back in the graveyard. Suddenly I was extremely cold. I looked down as I rubbed my arms realizing my blood-stained jeans were torn and I wasn’t wearing a shirt but a hospital gown.

I looked up toward Kai as I heard someone calling my name from behind me.

”Today wasn’t real?“ Tears stung my eyes.

”Very real but I'm afraid all those stares were due to your, uh attire he gestured. Also as I said humans can’t see me so while I ate laughed and enjoyed today more than I have in quite a few years, nobody saw me, only you. You left the hospital when you woke up out of your coma. Sabrina Wells he said touching the hospital bracelet still attached to my wrist. " Promise me you will go back and let yourself heal. Physically and mentally. It’s not your time Sabrina Wells and I hope it isn't anytime soon.

”Will, I ever see you again?”

”Perhaps, but hopefully not too soon, enjoy your life, love, laugh and Most of all, live“

“This is for you, may we meet again my love“ his deep husky voice faded as the screams of those looking for me got louder. My hands were numb from the cold I looked down as I felt arms wrap around me, a beautiful orange and gold marigold flower laid in my hands. As I was helped up I clutched the beautiful flowers remembering the legend my grandma use to tell me. The flower is traditionally placed on graves during the Dia de Muertos also known as the day of the dead. It is believed to lure souls back from the dead to the land of the living with its vibrant colors and powerful scents.

”Sabrina you could have died out here, people have been calling in your whereabouts all day but we always got there too late. I’m so thankful we found you in time.” My sister gushed wrapping ga blanket around me leading me away from the graves and toward their car. I carefully took one last look behind the gravestones and seen Malakai Grimm walk away as my body warmed up and he disappeared into the trees.

Love
8

About the Creator

Misha Alsleben

Wife & Mom Fueled by ;

Caffeine & Gratitude, when I’m not writing you’ll find me raising awareness about our planet’s needs , in the kitchen ,outside with the family, taking photos or in a bookstore.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.