Fiction logo

Love Note's In Paris

Mysterious Gifts, Small Adventures & Love

By Misha AlslebenPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
2

Cafe Au Vieux Paris d'Arcole

Julia‘s hands closed over the box sitting on her desk that was covered with brown paper. The fourth mysterious package to show up at her stoop with no knowledge of who they came from. The adventures they led her on, though, were just as exciting as they were, confusing to their origin.

Leaving Manhattan so far had been worth it. She was slowly healing from the pain caused by her Ex. The jerk proposed then said no at the alter because “he wasn’t ready” leaving her humiliated and hurt in front of their friends and family. When she got home all his stuff was gone so she decided what better way to get over heartbreak than come to the city of love using what was supposed to be honeymoon money.

So far her favorite adventure from these mysterious packages was the small cafe Au Vieux Paris,d'Arcole. Where she had the best lunch and dessert since arriving while being graced by beautiful wisteria trees.

Opening the strings securing the box closed, Julia’s breath hitched. A beautiful filigree mask laid inside the box. A card laid beneath it.

“Time for a beautiful evening for a beautiful woman. See you there? Tucked in the envelope was a royal-looking ticket to a masquerade ball this evening. No sooner than she had finished reading her doorbell rang. Answering the door, she was surprised and slightly nervous to see a woman holding a dress bag.

“Julia Westerly?” The woman asked.

“Yes, that’s me,” Julia confirmed as the woman thrust the dress bag into her arms.

“Thank you,” Julia called after her.

The woman waved to the open air behind her.

Setting the dress bag down on her sofa, Julia slowly unzipped the bag revealing a beautiful red dress with black lace over the fabric.

It was crazy to go, Julia thought as she paced her spacious kitchen. Looking outside she thought about how whoever was leaving her messages and sending her on fun outings could easily be crazy and perhaps she got to caught up in it. Then she considered maybe it was actually a secret admirer. What did that mean, though? Grabbing her phone, Julia dialed the number she had known by heart since she was sixteen.

“Hey little lady how is Paris“ her best friend Launa’s chipper voice filled the phone.

“Its good but , uh something’s been going on and I think I’m in over my head.“

“Tell me right, you didn’t get knocked up by some cute French boy,“ Launa stated sounding amused.

“Lauan! You know I wouldn’t do that. I , I have been going on these adventures though. Compliments of whoever has been leaving little love notes and adventure directions on my stoop.”

“Ok and? Do we know who the mystery person is?“

” Well no , but I could meet him tonight. At a masquerade ball . He sent a dress but like”

” But like what, girl, go, it’s a public place what’s the worst that can happen?”

“Yeah but like how does he know my size“ I grimaced thinking of all the ways one may get that information

“Maybe he’s a tailor and can guess your size or ooo a model,“ Laura went on.

“I don’t know, but I guess I’ll find out tonight,” I said happily, running my fingers over the gorgeous dress.

“you better tell me, talk to you soon.“

“Talk to you soon I confirmed” hanging up the phone Julia got ready and take a chance on this mysterious admirer.

Walking into the ball was breathtaking. Freshly cooked pastries filled the air as servers went around with appetizers. The music was relaxing yet up beat and the energy in the room was welcoming. That was until Julia began her descent down the staircase where it felt like every eye in the room was watching her, even if they weren’t. Unsure who she was meeting or what to do with herself while waiting, she situated herself in the dining room at a table, ordering a glass of Moscato wine and enjoying a cold sliced peach from the fruit bar.

As soon as she sat down she was engulfed by a familiar smell, but one she hadn’t had around her for years. Just as she went to look behind her, a man dressed in a sleek black suite with a silver tie and a mask that matched hers sat down while also sitting a small brown box with a bow on the table. “You’re even more beautiful than when I left Julia”

“Gideon! It’s been you leaving those love notes while I go on mini adventures around the city?!”Julia exclaimed sitting back shocked.

“It was,” Julia took in Gideon’s features his sharp jaw line and muscular body sat across from her. The suit fit him well, giving him an elegant look when he normally looked more rugged. The bad boy vibes he had in Manhattan weren’t gone, but they were much more settle. As he took a glass of wine from a server he thanked her before turning to Julia.

“So are you going to stay or run away ?” He asked in a husky voice.

“Why would I run away?” Julia asked surprised by the question her curiosity what was in the box growing.

“Well, any other time that we got closer to anything other than friends, your flight or fight response kicked in. As much as I love your fight because lets face it you 're cute when you’re mad, you like to choose flight. Pushing me away into the friend zone abyss. I’m too old for the friend zone, Julia. I’ve watched you since we were teenagers. You grew into the remarkable woman you are today. All the while dating the wrong men and letting them walk on you while you walk to the end of the earth for them. I have to admit, when Launa told me you left Eric, I couldn’t have been happier until she told me you left Eric and came to Paris. It was pretty easy leaving you little gifts and adventures once I knew where you worked and were staying. I was honestly afraid you’d be a little mad when you realized who it was but you need to know that I have loved you a long time and it’s time you either know that, accept it , maybe start a life with me or let me move on. I only came to Paris because I couldn’t watch the woman I love marry another man.” He finished leaving Julia shocked, breathless and with tear-filled eyes.

“I knew Launa was up to something.” Julia muttered, sipping her wine.

“Gideon, I’m staying. I didn’t know who it would be tonight and now that it’s you I don’t want it to be anyone else.”

“Open the box, kitten,” Gideon said, finishing his own wine using the nickname he gave her in high school.

Opening the box, Julia felt like she was dreaming. Laying inside the box was her grandmother’s ring. Her grandmother had passed away years before. She lived states away and her estranged father had her estate auctioned off to pay for the funeral. Julia remembered wearing the ring when shed visit her grandmother in the summers.

“How did you?”

“This isn’t a proposal, Julia, though I hope to propose to you someday. This is a gift and promise. A promise that if you take a chance on me, on us, I promise we won’t be ordinary lovers. We will be a storm of good, we will have sleepless nights and endless conversations at 4am, I’ll give you passion, support and love. I’ll make your whole body shiver from a distance and hold you close, wake up next to you and fall asleep beside you, as long as you let me. May I?” Gideon finished, gesturing toward the ring to put it on Julia’s finger.

Julia nodded a yes, unsure what to say, but every bone in her body wanted what Gideon had just promised? Kissing her hand after sliding the ring on her finger. Gideon pulled her closer to him. His strength and cologne engulfing her further.

“Gideon, I want that, all of it.” Julia said, leaning her head on his chest.

Leaning down Gideon placed a kiss on Julia’s head, moving to look up to him as they swayed to a song that was being played, she looked into his eyes as he reached up to brush hair back off her neck and out of her face. Leaning down, Gideon peppered across her collarbone and up her neck. Resting his forehead on hers, he leaned in for a kiss, not expecting Julia to grab both sides of his face as they kissed passionately.

Gideon pulled away, taking a breath.

“Julia, if we kiss again, I won’t be able to stop. “

“It’s getting late anyway’s. Let’s head back to my place, you’re going to love the view,” she gushed pulling him toward the exit in a happy rush.

Julias Bedroom View

Love
2

About the Creator

Misha Alsleben

Wife & Mom Fueled by ;

Caffeine & Gratitude, when I’m not writing you’ll find me raising awareness about our planet’s needs , in the kitchen ,outside with the family, taking photos or in a bookstore.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.