Fiction logo

Good morning, Helen

A Story of Love and Sacrifice

By HillaryPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Good morning, Helen
Photo by Jordan Wozniak on Unsplash

It's been twenty years since it happened. We are underground now. The survivors are only here because of her sacrifice. She gave everything for us. She sacrificed it all. No one knew what that locket held, and the secret she kept until now. I hope you take this as a warning after we are long gone.

Here is our story.

30 June 2050

It was a typical morning. I heard my alarm for work going off. My wife already left for work and our kids start stiring in their rooms. It's time to get up, "Okay Hellen, activate morning mode."

"Morning mode activated." The house goes into morning mode, starting the coffee brewing, cooking toast and eggs, turning our lights on in the bedrooms and living room, pop music blasting throughout the house.

"I feel good! na-na-na-na I knew that I would!"

I step into the ensuite bathroom the shower already preheating and steam filling the room. I can hear the kids fighting, "Helen! Change this song!" "Helen! Turn it up!"

"Parent controls locked. Morning mode activated."

"UGH!"

I feel a smile creep across my face. "Serves those little shits right. Momma is the ruler of this house. Don't mess with my morning vibes!"

"Helen, change song please."

"Yes, ma'am." Maroon 5's "Sugar" rings through the speakers, and I can hear my kids grown. I smile in pleasure.

As I step into the shower, the arms reach out to lather my hair and the shampoo dispensor leans over my head. I feel the deep head massage and all the tension melts away. My brain flashes back to the night before - Our fght, our deep passionate making up, and our rebuilding trust. The kids this morning definitely didn't help. Oh how I wish I had savored every moment with her while she was still with us, with me.

I finish my morning shower and walk into my closet. "Helen, weather alert please."

"Today, it is 120 degrees Fahrenheit. It is sunny. Preparing clothing items."

Helen chooses three outfits from my closet. I choose the linen pants, flowy tunic and UV blocker jacket. I top it off with my wedged boots, and UV glasses. It's been an endless summer since 2030. Every year getting warmer and warmer. We used to have seasons, weather, time. We used to have alot of things. It's all gone now.

I take the elevator downstairs. Izadora and Alberque. They are twins and are 10th years in school. My wife carried them and I donated my DNA. Thankfully, science had progressed, and we could use only our DNA. No need for some stranger's seed.

"Good morning!" I greet my children.

"Yeah Yeah." "Morning, Mom!!!" I kiss them each on the forhead while they eat their breakfast. Our daughter has hit the typical teenage girl mentality, a phase as old as time. Thankfully, our son hasn't been effected, such a momma's boy.

"You should finish up, the telleport station will open in a few moments." God bless that device. It's the best thing that was ever invented. Even after everything went to shit, I still miss it.

"Okay Mom," they respond in unison. I still cannot get used to that. It's so creepy.

The transport pod dings almost on cue. They both get up and grab their backpacks. They give me a kiss on the cheek and I wish them well at school. Izadora and Alberque walk up to the pod and sit in the chair.

"Helen, send the twins to school."

"Yes, ma'am."

The pod closes and chimes. In an instant, the pod re-opens, empty. "My turn." I grab my coffee and my breakfast.

"Helen, send mom #2 to work."

"Yes, ma'am."

The pod opens when I approach, and closes once I sit. I feel a rush of air around my face and hold tight. Once I feel the pod stop, it opens and I see the movement around me.

I step out and into the din of the downtown office. I say hello to the reception hologram and walk to the single elevator to the top floor. As I walk out of the elevator, I can see my office scrambling.

"Madam, we've had a breach," My second in command, Torique,

"Who?"

"The Hackers known as Orion's Maiden have gained control of Hellen."

I take off running down the hall to the main frame and Hellen's office. Her server was lit red and all the controls were going crazy. Most of my staff was present and working on blocking the hackers.

"What's the situation?" I asked

"We're trying the best we can, but we can't find them," my chief engineer, Katheryne, says.

"What do you mean you can't find them?"

"They're using the sun, Ma'am," one of our techs explains.

"The sun? No one has been able to do that in centuries!"

"Madam, we have to turn the sun off." Torique looks at me with pity.

I looked at him, "Who the fuck do you think I am? God? Who can turn off the sun?"

"We have to explode it, Ma'am."

"We will kill everything on the planet! Where's Helen?"

"She's in her office."

I burst out the mainframe room doors, and run the opposite end of the hall. I can feel hotter as I run to her office.

Helen is a solar star who has powered our tech since the sun has gotten more intense over the years. She has influltrated every part of our lives and our tech since she landed in 2030. She's kept our earth going, but at a price.

She has to center her powers to keep them going. Her heart locket holds the key to her power. She rises with the sun to anchor her energy and keep from destroying our planet.

"Helen! We're losing power. We need your help!"

Helen turns to me, "Hello my love." She kisses me on the lips. She is so lovely, and I am in awe of her even more than when I first met her. Then, I snap back to reality.

"Did you hear anythig I just said?"

"Of course, but there's a simple solution."

"Really? Because people are telling me to destroy the sun!"

"Exactly." She walks out and down the hall.

"How are you not freaking out right now?"

"I have a plan, dear one."

I stop and start to panic, "No! You can't!!"

Helen stops and turns to me, "I have to. I love you, but I don't want you to die."

"So you're going to release yourself to the solar system and become our sun instead? I can't lose you!"

"My dear, you have to. There is no choice."

Helen turns and walks to the end of the hall and passed the main frame. She goes to the roof access door and enters onto the roof.

"Pause all transmissions. Executive override," Helen commands.

I can feel and hear the whole town sutting down. She has made up her mind, and I can't stop her.

"Helen, what do you need me to do?"

"Get the children and go into hiding. Alert the media, get as many people underground. The earth will be wiped out for a period, but it will be inhabitable again. I am doing this for you and our family. But I must fulfill my purpose. I am hurting the earth, and it's time to let me go."

"I love you." I have tears streaming my eyes, and I know I look terrible. But my heart is breaking, and I don't care.

"I love you too, Ilza." She kisses me for the last time. Helen opens the locket and her sun beam fills the area round her. Helen's body falls and her essense floats upward. I hold Helen's body in my arms and kiss her forehead. I get up an run, to save my children and as many, as I can.

It's my job now to save who I can for humanity.

30 June 2070

It's been twenty years since Helen became our sun. The earth has recovered, the climate is back to normal, and my children are now adults, married, and I have grandchildren. Their sun powers have kept us warm underground and kept the core going, my mini miracles.

Today, we rise out of the depths of the earth and start our lives over again. We have learned the price of technology and power can do. We have a daily reminder. Our old sun is now a grey rock in the sky, and our new sun eclipses it at the same time each day, reminding us of the sacrifice Helen made for us.

I still have her locket, and I wear it over my heart. She was my only love, but she will always be my sun.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.