Fiction logo

Full Moon

A campfire story.

By Ashley LimaPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
19
Full Moon
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I could see my breath in the cool autumn air. The carbon dioxide spiraled in front of me beneath the shine of the full moon, coming in through the treetops. A wolf howled, but otherwise, my campsite was silent. I couldn't remember waking from slumber.

I stood on the forest floor, listening carefully. Not a sound was to be heard. The fire had gone out fully, not an ember or crackle remained. The rush of the river was hushed as if the water ceased to move. A chill went up my spine.

The zipper to my pop-up tent was undone. I traversed back to it, dazed and confused, needing to get back to sleep. I had never been prone to night-walking, but I guessed there was always time to develop something new.

As I made my way back inside the temporary abode, I nearly stumbled backward. Laying in my green sleeping bag was a mangled body. Torn apart. Ripped to shreds. By some kind of wild animal. Teeth marks riddled their neck, and scratches cut open their face, leaving the corpse unrecognizable.

When I looked down at my hands, I realized they were translucent.

________________________

This microfiction was inspired by Mother Combs' Challenge, which you can read about here:

HorrorMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
19

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    This gave me a shiver!! What a phenomenal little story this is. So well contained.

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    OOOOH! That was good!

  • Ian Read8 months ago

    Nice twist at the end, there! Awesome job!!

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Terrifying! Brilliantly written with suspense galore! What a twist!!

  • Hahahahahahahahahahah dude went floating outta his body and thought he was sleep walking! This was hilarious! You're so good at horror!

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    Oh so creepy! Loved this story! From the first sentence to the last!

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    What a great story! You could take it in so many different directions if you want to expand on it. Hope you do!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Love this!

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    This is EXCELLENT!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Whew that was scary 🥲

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Stunning little play of chilling narrative, I love the sleepwalking element, I actually remember sleepwalking once out camping and starting awake a few yards from the tents and fire, and it being a weird and scary sensation. I don't usually sleepwalk. That would make it a thousand times worse though!

  • I felt this from the first sentence, and the ending shock rewarded me. 👏

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    ohhh, chills!!! I love this!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.