Fiction logo

From the Dark Deep

Fearful Beauty

By Roy StevensPublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
From the Dark Deep
Photo by Jim Beaudoin on Unsplash

Leaping into the cobalt blue, the cool Coral Sea surrounds me. I dump the last bit of air from my B.C. and sink to the bright reef below. The friendly reef sharks join me hoping for a handout I won't provide.

There toward the dark drop-off a darker shadow looms. A slowly cruising Tiger shark still swirls attention from everything else. She's seventeen feet of pelagic muscle and teeth.

Perhaps foolish, I swim alongside her. Her inner eyelid opens on my burbling image. Suddenly defecating, she swims swiftly off to the dark deep. I frightened her.

By Oleksandr Sushko on Unsplash

Microfiction

About the Creator

Roy Stevens

Just one bad apple can spoil a beautiful basket. The toxins seep throughout and...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (16)

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Holy...spit?

  • Hi Roy, just checking in on you. It's been quite some time since you published. And I've not seen you comment like you usually do. Hope your doing well ❀️

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    To think, this mere diver can frighten something so powerful! You've got some excellent imagery in this one!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    That was a whole lotta story in a whole not lotta words! πŸ€―πŸ‘

  • That's a mean mug in the picture❗

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    You won this round, But she'll be back and guess who's breakfast? Awesome display of your writing skills, Roy!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    oh crap! you did a sterling job getting such vivid descriptions in the word count limit! can't believe I wasn't already subscribed- I am now!

  • L.C. SchΓ€ferabout a year ago

    Thought provoking and vivid 😁 Good luck in the challenge 😁

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Oh shit…

  • Testabout a year ago

    LOL! I am sooooo afraid of deep water. The ocean horrifies me beyond explanation. However, I love the concept that even an apex predator may fear us… since we, too, are unknown to them.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Roy your descriptive language was breath taking! I could vividly see the shark swimming along side you and feel the tension of thrill in my chest as you took me on this journey with you! So well done!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Well damn, I think I'd be on the same page as the shark, lol!! I loved the unexpected twist of the home-turf predator being unsettled in that scenario. Wonderful work :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    She knows humans are trouble. Great story.

  • Oh no, poor sharky. You made her poop herself 🀣🀣🀣

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    The tables turned! Good one Roy!

  • There are some bragging rights. Not only did you frighten a shark, you made it crap itself!

Roy StevensWritten by Roy Stevens

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.