Fiction logo

Freedom Ain’t Always Been Free

Running through the snow

By Real PoeticPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
13
AI Arta Image

This good stuff is so soft and smooth. I can even eat it when I get thirsty. I ain’t never seen anything like this down in Florida.

I ask once more, “What’s it called again Harriet?”

She says back quietly, “Snow. In this case, the white parts are better than the colored. Be careful and remember to cover your footprints as you go.”

A life as a slave ain’t no life at all. I wish I could just play in the snow like the white children. I guess I’m too black for fun. Kids that look like me start workin’ before we can even put a thought together.

We’re escapin’ to the north, so we can be free from slavery. It ain’t right, but it’s the way things are, so I gotta do what I gotta do to live another day. Mama taught me how to pray when I get worried.

Harriet is takin’ me to a safe place in Maryland to hide until we can continue our journey all the way to New York.

I ain’t ever been there, but I hope my Mama will be there too. I don’t know if she’ll recognize me, but I’ll sure know her if I see her. I still remember the way she smells and how she wrapped her hair every night with a sheet.

The snow has frozen my feet, but there ain’t time to warm them up. The dogs will be after us soon, and I really don’t wanna die.

MicrofictionHistorical
13

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write what I want, whenever I want.

Thanks for reading!

-R.P. ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • montana roy3 months ago

    https://fruitbattlegroundscodes.net/ on Roblox draws inspiration from One Piece, offering a fighting game where obtaining the most powerful fruit is paramount.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    That was really well done. The voice of the child who can't simply be a child is heartwrenching. Well done.

  • A whole new world..., if only they can live to enjoy it. And then come to terms with a different form of apartheid.

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    A lot is going on here in such few words. Powerfully written, RP!

  • A life as a slave is no life at all. That is absolutely true! Loved your story!

  • Scott Christenson3 months ago

    You capture a child's first experience with snow, and running away to freedom, very well in 250 words!

  • Test3 months ago

    Super!!! Excellent story!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.