Fiction logo

Frozen in Memory

We froze our love in an igloo

By Real PoeticPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Snow Micro Challenge
24
Frozen in Memory
Photo by Michał Mancewicz on Unsplash

Layla and Junior are having a snowball fight in the front yard with some friends in the neighborhood. My wife, Jenny, and I are watching from the porch with our homemade hot chocolates. No one makes them like she does.

School is canceled for the day and everyone is enjoying the snowy weather. Not just because of its beauty, but the way it has the ability to press pause on our daily lives, so we can focus on what’s most important— Family.

I reach for Jenny’s hand, and she grabs my arm and pulls me up onto my feet. She jumps up and down with excitement and says, “Babe, let’s play in the snow! Its been ages since we made a mini igloo together. Pretty please!”

I can’t say no, so we hold hands as we come down from off of the porch and step onto the yard. Jenny goes to retrieve a shovel to gather as much snow as possible.

Piece by piece, I mold the cold, wet snow into blocks and stack them. With the help from our children, we have an igloo that’s move-in ready before dark.

I make Jenny close her eyes even though she has already seen it. I come behind her and cover them to be certain that she’s not peeking. Once I remove my hands, I see the nurse standing in front of me with my medication. “Mr. James, you spaced out for a little bit. Everything ok?”

I sure miss my Jenny…

MicrofictionLove
24

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer12 days ago

    Glad I caught this story previously missed and so glad you shared it ☺️

  • John Cox14 days ago

    I loved the memory but definitely did not see that end coming!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Jarring end to a sweet memory! Great work!

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    Oof I did not see this one coming! What a heartbreaking twist. I wonder what happened? I like the contrast of the peaceful family vibe with the hospital solitude right at the end, and this line “Piece by piece, I mold the cold, wet snow into blocks and stack them” is easy to visualise. Well done Real Poetic 👏

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Awesome job RP! Congrats on placing in the Snow-Micro Challenge!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Congratulations, you pulled us in with your beautiful story of fun and love then hit us hard with the final act.

  • Test3 months ago

    Nice.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    What a twist. So sad. I was feeling the warmth and the love and then WHAM!

  • A. J. Schoenfeld3 months ago

    Love the heartbreaking twist ending. Congratulations on your win!

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your challenge win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    This is the best reason to come back here! Hurray!!! Triple Congrats on your win! 🥇 This story was amazing the first time I read it! 💖

  • Congratulations on your win in the Snow Micro challenge!!!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Super & congratulations on the runner up win!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Congrats on your win in the Challenge! Somehow I missed this one before. Well done!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Hey there! congrats.

  • Judey Kalchik 3 months ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎈🍾

  • montana roy3 months ago

    Get the https://soundbound.dev/ app for free! In the expansive realm of music, where the universal language thrives, discovering the ideal platform is essential.

  • montana roy3 months ago

    The https://kiddionsmodmenu.app/ is a modification designed to enhance the GTA5 experience in various ways, offering users access to different mod menus to improve their gameplay.

  • Test3 months ago

    Fantastic story, Real Poetic. So creative. Loved it.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Oh, my heart. What a wonderful story.

  • She means well, but I do believe this nurse just snowed on your parade.

  • Is it bad that I laughed at the ending? 😅 i certainly wasn't expecting that twist though. Loved your story!

  • Test3 months ago

    Fantastic writing. Such a captivating story.

  • Harbor Benassa3 months ago

    Very sweet, nice imagery

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.