Fiction logo

Frankenstein - 2009

I wrote this my senior year of high school as one of my final projects for AP English.

By Jay TaylorPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Frankenstein - 2009
Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

It is my belief that the ultimate turning point for Victor Frankenstein’s monster was the refusal of the doctor to grant his creature the love of a companion and in doing so dooms him to eternal unhappiness. For my project, I have chosen to write an alternate ending for the novel so I can explore what may have happened if the original course of events had been different.....

 My personal manuscript is continued from page 204(?) during the scene in which Doctor Frankenstein is creating the creature’s bride. “…and he now came to mark my progress, and claim the fulfillment of my promise.”....

 

“No! I will not!” I screamed, and moved to destroy the loathsome thing that I was now creating.

“You shall!” he roared, and leapt from the rafters to meet me. Bounding towards me, he clutched my throat and spoke, a detestable stink issuing forth from his lips, “You will finish this, Viktor Frankenstein, or you shall never enjoy life again. For I will pursue you and yours with a demonic rage the likes of which you have never beheld, and I will not stop until it is satiated. Now go!”

The force with which he flung me toward the female caused me to kneel. And as I rose, I almost expended my fury on his future companion; for it may have been better, I’d thought, to only have to face his wrath alone; but the glaring yellow eyes at my back, and the rasping, labored breathing behind me broke me, and I vomited into my hands. I then rose, sobbing, back to my instruments.

He watched me, leering, as I shakily went back to work. I could still smell him, and my stomach heaved as I closed the remaining stitches. Blindly I completed what was left to be done, the mechanics of the thing, and whispered, “God, forgive me,” as I pulled the lever.

I threw my arm over my face and turned my back, shielding myself from the light. I could hear him laughing with elation over the crackling electricity. It was a maniacal, terrible sound, and I shuddered. Then everything stopped, and it was quiet for a moment. But only for a moment.

 He rushed past me to her resting place, and wrenched open the door. He began talking to her as she coughed and spluttered, and it struck me that he was saying the same things to her that I had said when I had first given him life. My curiosity overcame me, and I turned.

He was embracing her, mewling like a kitten, and after he had cleaned most of the slime from her face he began nuzzling and kissing her. I gagged, and he once again noticed me. As we looked on one another, I saw that his face seemed much softer, and that he was weeping. He then turned back to his companion, and helped her to her feet.

 He wrapped her in a cloak and cradled her in his arms; and while he looked at me, he said, “I thank you from the depths of my heart. You have kept your promise, and I shall mine- you will never see or hear from me again.”

He lied.

After a few years, when I had all but forgotten my past deeds, I received a letter. I’ve kept it this long, as it functions as a map to the fiend.

 

........

My dear Dr. Frankenstein,

            I must again thank you, Victor. You were originally the cause of my misery, but have redeemed yourself by being the cause of my happiness. I have given my wife the name of Fiona, and she and I are happy as can be expected. As initially planned, her and I started for South America, but were inadvertently seen by natives who drove us away with their torches and spears. We then decided that it would be best for the two of us to turn ‘round, and travel far north. Our new destination is the iciest region of Nova Scotia; as you know, we are very sturdily built, and have no problem dealing with the frigid cold. ....

            The real purpose of this letter, Doctor, is to give you the wonderful news- Fiona is with child. We were merely content with just the two of us, but with his new addition (whom we have decided to call Viktor), we are sure to become divinely happy. I shall implore you to come calling, if only to meet your namesake…....

 

........

I’ve never actually had the stomach to finish it.

The fiend! Don’t you see, Walton, you must take me to him. We cannot simply stand by to let him populate the world with a race of wretches. You, as the one who knows of my plight, must help me. However, if you do not, I vow to undertake the slaying of the beast myself. Or at least die trying.

Fan Fiction
1

About the Creator

Jay Taylor

Hi there, I’m Jay. You may know me from the internet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • D F SMITH2 years ago

    I like this alternate ending. It was one of the saddest parts of the book that the monster was lonely. Adding the pregnancy is a great touch that spurs Viktor back to his belief that he must destroy his creation. I liked this a lot.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.