Fiction logo

Fracking for Tact

A Story Every Day in 2024 March 22nd 82/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished about a month ago 2 min read
14
Fracking for Tact
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

"Well, you've finally got the Yorkshire puddings right. Well done!" Neil was pleased with his compliment, hoping that it would get the response it warranted. He was, after all, praising for a change instead of criticising. He was making an effort and he felt sure that it would be noticed.

He smiled at Emma, who glared back at him with a scowl.

"What?" he said, before putting a big mouthful of the delicious roast dinner which Emma had cooked into his mouth.

Emma was watching him and getting increasingly irritated with the smirk that was still on his face despite his energetic chewing. His comment about the Yorkshire puddings was sitting while she formulated a reply that would convey her full disdain for it.

"I can't believe you just said that," she ventured as her opening gambit.

Neil's chewing slowed. He swallowed and said, "I thought you'd be pleased that I'd noticed the extra effort."

Emma bristled again but Neil failed to notice her hackles rising and continued.

"Every other time, we had those piddling little ones which were disappointing, weren't they? You said so yourself. And we know now it's not the oven, because you've had the new one, so it must have been something you did."

Emma listened, teeth grinding as Neil happily regaled her with her failings in the Yorkshire pudding department, thinking that this chump she was married to wouldn't have the first idea of how to cook a meal like this, never mind the Yorkshires, and he had the gall, the gall, to sit there and criticise her past Yorkshire puddings!

Everyone knew Yorkshire puddings were notoriously difficult to get right. Except Neil, it would seem.

"Do you know how patronising you sound?" Emma parried.

Neil blinked as the frostiness with which his comments were met made its way to him.

"I thought I was paying you a compliment," he said, completely flummoxed at her response. "They've not been great before and now they are."

Emma shook her head and blurted:

"Talking to you, Neil, is like fracking for tact!"

Neil still wasn't sure what he'd said wrong but he was very wary around Yorkshire puddings from that day onwards.

***

365 words

I love writing these little exchanges between people, the ins-and-outs of a marriage or a relationship that show the misunderstandings that exist and how these chinks can become bigger and wider until, like drifting icebergs, a couple is no longer a thing and the two are now miles apart.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do drop a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

82/366

Short StoryMicrofiction
14

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a month ago

    I'm guessing he felt those fracking earthquakes rumbling beneath him whenever the subject of any puddings, Yorkshire or other, ever came up again, lol. Us guys sure can be dense sometimes. (Yeah, I've had more than just a few of those moments myself.)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I'm so sorry Emma. If I was your friend, I would have talked you out of getting married or getting into a relation with him. Please divorce his ass or break up with him. You're not his mother to cook for him. I rest my case. Lol

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    "Constructive" criticism is still criticism and rarely welcomed, despite everyone's assurance that they want to learn! Dipped my toe in those cold waters a few times and decided that no response is better. I'm also not a fan of the manipulative way people "frack" for anything instead of asking directly or quietly letting things ride. Don't think I'd much get along with either of these two, but can think of many people like them. "Fracking for tact" is a great line, though! Well-wrought, once again!

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    I really liked this little snippet of life between two people and how you captured it. The dialogue was spot-on in revealing the grand disconnect between these two--a la differences in the sexes? or the difference between a guy like him and a woman like her? Who knows. But the marriage might be doomed.

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Ah, Neil. Just so clueless. Brilliant title/line! You built the tension so strongly but with a bit of comedic flair!

  • Jay Kantorabout a month ago

    Rd - Since Neil beat me to the Yorkshire Quips, may I add. Although I don't eat meat, Wife would slather gravy over our Yorkshire that came out in all different overstuffed slants ~ Drip-Drip-Drip....Yum. JB

  • Caroline Cravenabout a month ago

    Oof. This is so realistic, I can feel myself wincing. Awesome writing. Also - I think Yorkshire puddings are ridiculously difficult to get right!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Seems there more wrong between them than the pudding. Great piece.

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Again, another convincing slice of life, almost forensic in its examination of a clueless male who has no appreciation of the efforts that his wife has made to provide gustatory pleasure. Really good storytelling, Rachel!

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Fracking for tact. I can imagine finding myself on both sides of this!

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    Ah!! Fracking for tact. I get it now. Narcissism, it is just glaring us in the face everywhere we go. Little arguments that turn into storms and end not so well sometimes. Well said.

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    You are so great at these little exchanges. I love how realistic it is...the uncomfortableness...the anxiety it makes me feel for her and how much I think Neil is a tool or at least just being one in this instance. there's a history there too. You are just so great at weaving so much information in a believeable and not overladen way into short pieces. I know you're not interested in that kinda thing right now...but if you did a book of like micro viginettes I'd totally buy it lol. I love how you just take something small and seemingly insignificant everyday and just inject life into it. The dialogue is splendid. Yeah...you did it again, chum. Well bloody done.

  • D. J. Reddallabout a month ago

    I was waiting for one of the puddings to spring to life and murder Neil.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.