Fiction logo

For Life

Puppy love can last forever.

By Donna ReneePublished 12 months ago 1 min read
35
For Life
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

"Can we keep Cooper forever?"

The boy cradled the gangly puppy in his arms and looked up at his mother desperately.

"Sure, baby, for life," she reassured him with a smile.

Tears shimmered in her eyes as she watched their new puppy happily licking her son's face.

Cooper waited at the bus stop every day, rain, snow, or shine for 12 years. Until the last day of senior year when the senior dog couldn't rise from his bed.

"I thought we'd get to keep him forever," the boy cried, cradling Cooper in his arms.

"We did, baby, for life."

MicrofictionLove
35

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • ema9 months ago

    After my family's dog died, it took 15 years before anyone had the courage to say: shall we get a dog? 🙄

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Ugh, this is so sad! Great writing, the poignancy of the relationship with Cooper is stunning. Reminds me of Hachi. I sobbed during that movie.

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Donna ~ I've been following you for a year and so glad that I've heard from you *I've subscribed to you 'Caffeine-Drippings' and all. Don't slap my hand for self promoting: I'm just a Senior "Goof Writer" - but please take a moment to view "Rescue" as written on behalf of - Pet Haven Minnesota - They've received so many 'Re-Home' Adoptions from that silly (3) minute story; that's a lovely feeling, Donna. - They name everyone ~ And they have a lot of Smiling "Coopers" ~ L'Chaim, which means “To Life!” - - With Pleasure - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Just lost my pup this week, so extra tears with this one ❤️ Well done ❤️

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Ugh. That is heartbreaking. Excellent story.

  • Claire Jones12 months ago

    Beautiful story, a dog's love is so pure.

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    'For life'. So many different meanings to diff situations. Still Cooper had a good run. Really wish we could peek over beyond the beyond. Heartfelt and relatable words.

  • Forever is never long enough with someone you love, including our furry friends.

  • Kelly Robertson12 months ago

    Excuse me while I go ugly cry in the corner now....😭 I loved it so much! We really don't deserve dogs, but life truly is better with them!

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    So much feeling in so few words ❤💔 Their lives really are too short of a story for us aren't they

  • Iris Harris12 months ago

    Happy for the new family member.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Donna.... this was so heartbreaking. I cried reading this, I both love and hate (in a good way) that! This was so passionately written and is my favourite story I've read from you! It's a subject that's close to my heart and I admire you for how emotional you were able to make this short story! 💜

  • The ancient Hebrew definition of forever: a very long time (the foreseeable time).

  • Mark Gagnon12 months ago

    A story that teaches an important life lesson. Well done!

  • This was so sad it’s so hard losing a pet great microfiction

  • Caroline Craven12 months ago

    Oof Donna 💔 Great story but heartbreaking. I really loved this one.

  • Shane Dobbie12 months ago

    😭

  • Why can't animals live as long as us 🥺 I lost my cat 1 and a half years ago and it devastated me. It's never easy. Loved this emotional story!

  • Abby Kay Mendonca12 months ago

    Such a hard thing to lose a pet. Great story though.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh12 months ago

    So poignant! A life full of love.

  • Kendall Defoe 12 months ago

    I'm not crying - you are! 😢

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    Sad and beautiful. ❤️ Reminds me of my dog, Fozzie who died a couple of years ago. His death was so sad, but we got 11 years with him. He was a very good boy 😢

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Awww! Dog years are so quick. I did a silly story a while back (before vocal) where I had to figure out what dog years actually equates to. Turns out dogs have a birthday every 54 days lol. This totally reminded me of that. Great read, Donna. 💖

  • Oh man, that will get any dog-owner/ pet-owner and probably anyone teary eyed. Fantastic job with so few words. I felt that one!

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    Great work Donna and a refreshing perspective! I hate saying goodbye to dogs, they are still with me! 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.