Fiction logo

Flight of the Blue Jay Part Three: One turns To a Group

Who is doing it all?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Flight of the Blue Jay Part Three: One turns To a Group
Photo by Ehimetalor Akhere Unuabona on Unsplash

Sammy lingered over my shoulder, his eyes chasing the lines of the letter. The red head was trembling in the corner, her fingers gripping the tan to go cup with her life. His gaze met her anxious eyes, hot coffee spilling on her lap. Rolling my eyes, I grabbed the nearby towel to my left. Patting her ripped jeans, Sammy crossed his arms.

“Could you not look at her so intensely?” I pleaded, taking the cup from her hands. “She has had a rough couple of months. I barely got her to mention all of the creepy emails and letters. Do you have a safe place to go?” She shook her head violently, her teeth biting her lip. Blood dripped down her lips, onto my tan carpet.

“You can stay at my place.” I promised with a warm smile. “I have the best security system in time. I will get an officer to take you there.” Waving my hand, a tall dark haired officer walked in, a gentle smile on his face. His radio crackled as he looked over at Ms. Orvie, his face falling.

“I am assuming you want me to take her somewhere.” He implied, turning in Sammy’s direction. “Is it your place or hers?” Awkward silence hung between us, his blue eyes twinkling with excitement.

“Mine.” I affirmed firmly, a crooked grin dancing across my face. “Make sure you do some security checks as well.” Nodding, he helped her up, and out of the room. My heart skipped a beat, Sammy’s face inches from mine. Our faces flushed scarlet, his cell phone jerking us awake from our trance. The crooked grin slipped off of his face, the call ending.

“There was another victim.” He explained coldly, turning towards the door. “Do you want to come with me?” Shrugging, my hands wrapped around the nearest blank notebook. Cops stirred, curious eyes peeking over the cubicles. Rolling my eyes, my boots clicked into the chilly afternoon. Leaves danced across the cracked pavement, a masked man hanging in the tree line. A blade glinted in the fading sun, the urge to puke twisting my stomach.

“What are you looking at?” Sammy barked, pulling me into his black Mustang. “We have to go before someone else gets the case.” His engine roared to life, the man backing into the tree line. Clicking my seat belt, the tires squealed as he peeled out of the top level parking garage. Bright lights flickered above us, his engine growling down each level. Heavy silence hung between us, only the radio calling out codes. Trees flashed by my window, my eyes half expecting to see the strange man again. Red and blue lights flashed, a soft smack to the back of my head waking me up.

“What the hell did you do that for!” I snapped, glowering back at him. “I was thinking about the case, you numb nuts.” Growling to himself, he undid his seat belt and left the car. My foot was out the door when my cell phone rang. Lifting it to my ear, heavy breathing stopped my heart in its tracks.

“Someone is here!” The red haired woman screamed out of breath, hot tears in her voice. “It is -” A shrill scream rang out, nearly bursting my eardrum. Waiting with bated breath, a new strong voice froze my mind.

“She is currently unavailable.” A deep rough voice joked coldly, sending chills up my spine. “Do you like the treat I left you? See you later, my little blue jay, or Mina isn’t it.” The phone clicked, my lungs begging for air. Remembering to breathe again, my fingers gripped the small radio in his car.

“I need you to check my house.” I blurted out, clicking the side button desperately. “I think something is going on!” Nothing, there was no response. The radio was deadly silent, causing me to leap out of the cruiser. Shit, this was my street. My boots pounded down the sad sidewalk to my small black cape. The door was cracked slightly open, my trembling fingers pushing it open. Hot coffee vile flew up my throat, the woman laid twisted into a circle. Blood pooled beneath her, the blood matting her hair. Strong footfalls alerted me, a man in a red devil’s mask towered over me. A spiked bat pounded against his black leather gloves, a rock banging into the back of my head. The room spun around, finally going black.

“Wakey, wakey, my darling doctor.” The voice from the phone mused, lifting up my chin. “You shouldn’t stick your nose where it doesn’t belong.” Groggily, my eyes fluttered open to see three men in the same devil masks. Black business suits were spotted with blood, the white dress shirts sprinkled with bits of brain. Nausea contorted my stomach, my mind struggling to figure out the situation.

“Is this a cult or something?” I groaned, feeling the rough rope around my waist. “Are you the ones who did all of the other murders?” They chuckled to themselves, my heart pounding away. The two smaller men stepped forward with full needles in their hands, green liquid dripping out.

“I suppose.” He answered mildly, chilling me to the bone. “I am not the leader though. We are a group of hunters, surgeons, and officers.” Fury boiled in my veins, my eyebrow cocking. His long tongue licked his lips, his finger tracing my cheek. Hot whiskey breath made me sicker, my eyes meeting his dark eyes.

“So, the murders are a sick form of an afterschool club.” I retorted coolly, watching the bat in his hand. “I will find everyone involved.” Smirking, a wide grin danced across his face. Agony exploded through my body, his bat smashing into my right knee. My lips parted to scream, but stale leather covered my mouth. Disgust melted my face, pieces of my knees floating around.

“Here let me help you out here.” He offered, pulling off his mask. “We were bunk mates in the mental hospital. Unfortunately you weren’t a true psychotic mastermind. Too bad you won’t be alive long enough to remember my lovely mug.” Horror gripped my body, my mind temporarily forgetting the current pain in my knee. Ivan’s older face stared at me, gray stubble dotting his chin. Red and blue lights flashed outside my window, panic palling his face. A knock on the door had them running around like chickens with their heads cut off.

“I will make them go away if you free me.” I said calmly, knee pain blinding my thought process. “I promise to not tell anyone.” Sighing deeply, he cut the rope. The rope fell to the floor with a soft thud, my good foot slamming into his groin. Howling, he fell to his knees. My leg screamed at me as I struggled to stand. Leaning against the nearest wall, my trembling hand reached for my revolver at my waist. The two other masked men rushed at me, my gun hovering at their knees. My ears rang angrily, bullets flying into their knees. Fury burned in their eyes, their bodies collapsing to the ground. Alarm filled me when a gloved finger tapped my shoulder, a knife popping into my shoulder. Sharp twisting pain burst in my shoulder, my gun falling to the ground. Shots exploded all around us, my hands wrapping around the handle of the damn knife in my shoulder. Blood flooded from my wound, the blade sliding out easier than I expected. His bloody bat swung down at me, my foot slipping beneath me. I needed to take him down without killing him. Think, you idiot. Pain is only temporary.

“Come now, my little blue jay.” He taunted, the bat slamming into my side. Excruciating agony exploded in my sides, the spikes sticking into my skin. The room spun around me, my fingers grasping at my revolver. Groaning, there was one bullet left. Shakily aiming for the middle of his spine, my finger pressed the trigger. Sparks flew from the barrel into his spine. His eyes grew blank, his body falling down next to me.

“You okay!” Sammy shouted, his voice fading in and out. “Medic, I need a medic.” Hot tears of pain flooded from my eyes, my body cursing me. His hands felt my neck, his arms sweeping me up. His heart pounded away, EMTs with blank faces snapped their fingers in my face. Feeling my side, red blood coated my fingers.

“I found something out.” I whispered, pulling him close to me. “I know some mor-” Exhaustion gripped me, sweet darkness embracing me.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.