Fiction logo

Blue Moonlight Part Two: One Turns to Two

Too many choices.

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Blue Moonlight Part Two: One Turns to Two
Photo by Godwin Angeline Benjo on Unsplash

“Who is she?” I queried, my eyes squinting in her direction. “How does she know me?” My fist clenched tightly, red flames forming around my hand. Her head tilted to the left, her pointed tongue licking her blue lips. Her blue eyes glittered excitedly, evil laughter tumbling from her lips.

“Did you not give her back her memory at all?” She taunted, stepping closer. “How evil of you? That is even below my limit. Would you like to know who you really are, firecracker?” Her hand graced my face, ice creeping over my cheek. My hand slapped her hand away, the ice melting away instantly.

“Go away!” Johnny growled, raising a black dagger to her neck. “You are not welcome here.” Blue moonlight bathed the forest floor underneath us, the branches grabbing at her. His eyes glowed red, blood lust burning in his eyes. A maniacal grin danced across his face, fear widening my eyes.

“Stop it!” I shouted, both their eyes meeting mine angrily. “Can’t we just get along? Also why am I a big problem? What memories are you talking about?” Sighing, the flames licked my arm. A clear dagger of ice formed in her hand, sparks flying about them. Metallic clinks rang out in the still night, grunts passing between them. Wonder filled my eyes, a red scythe forming in my hand. Red flames licked the worn curved blade, curiosity making me stare at it funnily. The golden bottom touched the ice beneath me, the ice melting away. Fury twisted her face, her blade melting away.

“She has Lady Firestone’s scythe!” She screeched, her body launching at me. “No fair!” Swinging the handle, the blade slid through her heavily armored body. Shock widened her eyes, her torso sliding to the ground. Tears formed in my eyes, fresh thoughts of worry running rapidly through my panicked mind. Johnny cut off her head, and held a lighter to it. Flames licked her skin, the skin turning black and crumbling away. Her body turned to dust, a gust of wind blowing her away.

“Sorry.” I mumbled as the scythe disappeared. “I didn’t mean to.” Fury burned in his eyes, a scowl forming on his lips. His hand raised to hit me, but he stopped. Softness melted his face, his hand patting the top of my head.

“No biggie, you just started a war.” He growled sarcastically. “Good job!” His arms folded across his chest, his eyebrow cocking just so. Guilt weighed down on my body, my eyes spotting another vampire in the distance. In the blink of an eye, he was standing in front of me. A cocky grin greeted my eyes, red eyes staring into mine. My dead heart nearly pounded out of my chest, curiosity peeking in my eyes. His long black hair hung around his fancy black jazz suit. White gloves covered his slender hands, a dead deer not far behind him.

“Dinner, mistress.” He bowed, lust in his eyes. “This is a gift of my loyalty. Become my bride, and you will never have to hunt again.” Jealousy seized Johnny’s features, his lips pinching tightly. His arms wrapped around my waist, his embrace growing tighter by the minute.

“Get used to it little brother.” He teased, a childish giggle pouring from his lips. “Did you just assume that she was yours?” Sensing too much testosterone in the space, I shoved him off of me. The deer was intoxicating, my desire for it burning deep inside of me. Sauntering over to the poor creature, my hands pressed together in a prayer. Kissing the top of it’s head, I whispered thank you. Woodsy scents flooded my nose, my fangs sinking into the tough skin. Hot blood filled my mouth, my hunger fading to nothing. Sighing in joy and fulfillment, blood dripped from the corner of my lips. The boys were still arguing over me, when I just walked back into the tunnel. My heart was split into two between the two of them. Was he right? Did I indeed have a choice?

“I don’t think you are a prize to be won, my dear Emily.” The younger brother called out behind me. “I am Jean, by the way.” Spinning around, his face was inches from mine. Our faces flushed bright red, my heart falling to my stomach. Looking behind him, I saw no one.

“Where is Johnny?” I queried, looking into his eyes. Jealousy flickered in his red eyes momentarily, his hand rubbing the back of his neck. Childlike wonder glittered in his eyes, his hand tracing my cheek.

“He went for a quick hunt to blow off steam.” He admitted, shrugging his shoulders. “I like you, too. You had a crush on me growing up. That was before they sealed your memories away.” His hand lifted up my chin, his lips pressing against mine passionately. The room spun around me, darkness swallowing me whole.

“Emily, “ Jean called, Johnny trailing after him. “I love you.” My little two year old self looked confused in my red baby doll dress. My eyes followed him to me, Johnny looking a little jealous. Blank faced adults waved at me, tears forming in my eyes. The icy white haired vampire swooped in, cutting them in half. My two year self cried out as Johnny’s mother dragged me away. She whispered some words, sweet slumber wrapping her arms around me.

My body jerked awake, cold sweat dripping down on my forehead. Hot salty tears flooded from my eyes. Johnny’s hand touched my shoulder, my hand instinctively slapping it away. Hurt burned brightly in his red eyes, regret contorting his face. Anger burned in me, my control slipping away.

“How could you let them take me away?” I screamed, pounding my fist against his firm chest. “I trusted you.” My voice cracked from the volume of my outburst. His arms wrapped around my shaking body, doubt filling my mind. Damn it, I like them both.

“It was the only way to keep you alive.” He explained, sadness dripping in his voice. “Jean stayed behind to protect your manor. Do you still love me?” A pregnant pause hung between us, my fingers messing with the red silk sheet over me. Anxiously, my gaze swept the black room around me.

“I don’t know.” I admitted, flinching lightly. “It is kind of hard to look at you the same after what you said.” Sighing calmly, he buried his face in his palms. The bed creaked as he stood up to leave, only turning once to look back at me. The silence was unbearable the moment he left, only the occasional sound of the house settling down greeting my ears. Red roses sat clumsily in a red vase on the nightstand next to me. A small card sat folded beneath it, my trembling hands grasping the thick paper.

Please go on a date with me tomorrow at midnight.

Love, Jean.

Sighing, my body collapsed back onto the silk of my bed. Too many choices here, I groaned to myself.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.