Fiction logo

Finding the Phoenix Bird Within

Phoenix Lightning Motorcycle

By Elizabeth CripePublished 11 months ago 9 min read
1
Finding the Phoenix Bird Within
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

“And Just as the Phoenix Rose from the Ashes. She too will rise. Returning from the flames, clothed in nothing but her strength, more beautiful than ever.” Shannen Heartz

Zeus, Athena, gods reigning over humanity, war, marvelous achievements of humanity, Hades; it all seemed so alluring but illusive. However, the concept of opposing forces in the universe and light vs. darkness easily overlap with the narrative that society is presently force feeding its civilians. The premises of a Phoenix, cyclically regenerating, or being born again is the stand out creature of Greek Mythology. Dying in flames to rise from the ashes with new life; that I could get behind.

I was a shy child, I didn’t need the company of friends; the characters in the books I would read would fill my room with adventures that I never thought could be matched by anything in the real world. I didn’t find the necessity of companionship a requirement for my day to day life. I did feel a tinge of stomach ache when I wouldn’t get invited to a birthday party. But what did a princess party really have on the Ethiopian princess, Andromeda, who was saved from a terrible sea-monster by the Greek Hero Perseus. Forget living only happily ever after, they lived together until they became constellations in the sky.

Keeping to myself, or being an introvert as some would say; carried through to my adulthood. Greek mythology always wove its way through the interlacing of my regular reading repertoire. While others were at parties, I was curled up at the coffee shop with a good book. My party was the images of The most famous festival in Athen, The Panathenaia, which would bring people together in honor of the goddess Athena.

When yet another couple was married, I would sit in the corner imagining Zeus and Hera, or Aphrodites and Poseidon. The stories of love that went against anything that society could accept in today’s culture.

And today was yet another moment that society claims is a, “big deal” and one in which I would rather curl up in my favorite coffee shop, with my regular barista handing me my regular drink, and dive into the world of Telemachus whose adventures are often seen as the Greek version of the coming-of-age story.

As I sat looking at my phone, pondering if I should pick up for the woman who brought me into this world; I noticed a flash go by my window. I looked down at my phone, just in time to see what looked like fire go across the window in the opposite direction. I looked around, sure that someone else would be gawking at the window. Yet everyone seemed to be going about their business, not noticing me; more or less any fireball at the window.

Curiously, I grabbed my wallet, keys, phone and book. I walked outside curious, my imagination running wild; wondering what my eyes saw. I didn’t realize that while I was inside a storm had been brewing; not a storm that Aeolus would have concocted but definitely one that was booming across the sky and ensuring that the concept of lightning was not lost on its viewers.

There it was again, out of the corner of my eye, a flash of fire. I ran towards it, running up the steps of the next store building out onto a platform. Where did the flash of fire disappear to? Perhaps the abyss? As I was letting my imagination run wild I heard the thunder above and quickly realized that I had run up multiple sets of steps in search of the mystery fire. I also unfortunately realized I was on the highest point of the span of town that the coffee shop was in. As these unfortunate realities hit me, I blacked out.

I slowly tried to let my vision find its focus. As I did I saw a blurred fireball; the shape started to take form and hovering above me was a Phoenix bird. I was slowly realizing at that exact moment that I must have been struck by lightning.

I wasn’t sure which was more imaginative, a Phoenix Bird flying over my head or the reality that I was struck by lightning and that I seemed fine. I had read about stories where people were struck by lightning and they had brain hemorrhages, cardiac arrest, vision changes, hearing loss and at the very least their shoes were blown off their feet. I looked down at my shoes and did a double-take; those weren’t my shoes. I slowly realized that I was in Jeans and a long sleeve shirt, with gloves and a helmet on. As I rolled my head to the side, I saw the Phoenix hovering over a motorcycle lying on its side 50ft from me.

A motorcycle? My head was spinning, this was not one of my imagination trips; although I seriously wondered if someone had put something in my coffee. A man ran up to me freaking out, “Wow! Are you okay?1 I saw you hit that pothole. I’ve been telling the city they need to fix it; and now they know why. I’m sorry, are you okay?” He seemed to never stop talking. Yet, there was something familiar about his face. “I’m Evan, I work at the Coffee Shop across the street. Can I call someone to come pick you up? Do you need an ambulance? Do you need a cup of coffee? At this I smiled, he talked a lot but it was cute.

“I’m okay..I think. Have you seen where the Phoenix went?” I asked. He simply smiled and said, “from what I understand the Phoenix rises from the flames. I’m not sure how your motorcycle didn’t burst into flames burning you; but you seem to be rising from the ashes fairly well.” That grin, he didn’t even question me asking about seeing a mythological character. He slowly helped me up and walked me to the coffee shop insisting he at least keep an eye on me making sure I didn’t have a concussion.

When I sat down on my favorite couch, he handed me a copy of “House of Names” and said he’d be back. Just as I was being pulled into the dramatic story of the murderess, who unknowingly would be murdered by her son. I felt a tap on my shoulder and Evan was grinning; damn that grin, “Is it an okay time to talk? My shift just ended”. Without thinking I flirtatiously said, “I could talk to you all day. So yes, now is a good time to talk.”

Evan matter of factly stated, “I hope you don’t mind but I looked you up based on your id. I was looking to see if there was anyone I could find to come be with you.’ At this my mind swirled, who did he call? Evan continued, “the only two names I could find were you mom and someone named Ms. Louis. I found your mom’s phone number but couldn’t find Ms. Louis. Your mom simply cried and said she told you not to buy that damn motorbike and that she knew she should have talked you out of going on that bike ride today. Even if it was for a good cause.”

I cringed, he had talked to my mother; well it was all downhill from here. Wait! What good cause was I riding a motorcycle for?

Evan didn’t seem phased by any of this, “I took the liberty of looking up the patch on the back of your vest. There was a ride today that matched your patch. You are part of a biker gang that helps protect young women who need to leave abusive relationships? That’s some bad ass stuff. You are literally helping women fight a war they can’t fight while being the light in the darkness.” Evan stopped, looked up and quickly said, “Hey, I’ll be right back, I need to go help the person at the register.”

I watched Evan walk away and caught a glimpse of the Phoenix. I knew It wasn’t my imagination! I yelled, “Hey I’ll be right back!” and quickly ran outside.

The Phoenix flew into traffic; without thinking I ran into the road desperate to know why the Phoenix was haunting my existence. Before I could take in my surroundings, I was seeing the earth spin. I rolled and landed on my back. All I heard was a man yelling, “Shit! She ran out of nowhere. I swear I didn’t have time to stop.”

I slowly heard a voice, “It’s okay I know her. She’s a regular at my shop across the street.” I knew that voice. That voice, I looked over and saw my wallet, keys, phone and book sprawled across the road. I quickly looked down and sighed, I was wearing my shoes. But again, how was I not finding bones bursting through my skin? How was I not laying in a pool of my own blood? I was hit by a motorcyle. As I was wondering my seemingly invincible humanity, I saw it.

The Phoenix. She circled over me then flew in the direction of the coffee shop and burst into a flame so bright I closed my eyes. When I opened my eyes, I was staring at a man seeminly serious studying me. I'm sure he was trying to figure out how alive, or dead, I really was.

“Hey, I’m Evan. Are you okay?” I simply said, “I shouldn’t be, I was just hit by a motorcycle. But you know what, I think I am okay. Your smile is already making me feel better.” Evan smiled; damn that smile.

“Do you have anyone that I can call to help you? Or do you need a cup of coffee? I’m sorry, that sounds crazy. You got hit by a bike, getting coffee is probably the furthest thing on your mind.” Evan was rambling, he must have been nervous.

“Evan. I would love a cup of coffee. Would you mind telling me why the coffee shop is so busy? I swear I just left there and it was calm?” I asked, genuinely wondering what the hell was happening.

Evan just gave me a sideways look, “Well… it’s busy because we are having a fundraiser. We’re raising funds to help a local biker gang. They’re raising funds to help young women get back on their feet. Their symbol is the Phoenix Bird. Pretty cool right.” He was grinning from ear to ear; the type of soul wrenching smile that inspires you to be a better person.

“Very cool indeed. I’d love to learn more and see how I could help.” I smiled, anticipating my transformation into a stronger and more vibrant individual.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Elizabeth Cripe

I have lived an incredible life! I've travelled the world, was an English teacher, lived through multiple life threatening illnesses and accidents. I am the CEO of a non-profit, a mom of two amazing kids, a proud linewife and a Jesus lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.