Fiction logo

Feeling Human part two

Futurama Fanfiction

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
Feeling Human part two
Photo by Tan Kaninthanond on Unsplash

We go home in a cab, and Fry is utterly wasted.

“I… I want to propose a toast!” Fry says in a fit of giggles, “to—-me! To my shit life!”

I sigh and roll my eyes. The cab driver ignores him.

“Buddy, just calm down. Really, Fry, you’re embarrassing me!” I whisper loudly to him. Fry laughs louder.

“I love you, man, I-I love you!” Fry says in a clear way, but still very drunk, and leans over on me.

“Uh… okay, thanks, Fry….” I mumble, and the cab driver looks back and gives us a disappointed stare.

Suddenly, Fry is throwing up all over the car floor and my feet.

“Okay!! That’s it! Get out! Pay the meter and get out of my cab!” The cab driver pulls over and growls at us angrily.

I sigh and pay the driver and yell as I hold onto Fry’s arm as we get out, “Your cab already looked like a craphole anyway! The vomit only made it go up in value!!”

The driver flips us off as he drives away.

Fry is looking tired and closing his eyes, and I say, “Do I need to carry you, or can you walk? I was really only made to bend girders, y’know.”

Fry gives me this huge, goofy grin and falls on top of me.

“I am… so… tirrrrred…” Fry says in a slurred fashion, and I frown.

“Okay, I’ll do this only once!” I kneel a bit and move my arms to pick him up, lifting him up above my shoulders, his torso near my front and his lower half hanging over on my back.

“You strong… you’re strong….you are like a strong person…” Fry giggles and hiccups.

“Shush! You’re being too loud. It’s late! Don’t you know anything about acting normal?!” I yell. Other passerby’s look at me like I’m crazy and I walk a bit faster.

“Hmm.. you know somethin’ Bender? You wanna know something?” Fry says in a tempting tone.

“What?” I scowl, and wish I could just fly back home. I almost imagine my lower back hurting from lifting up such a big man for so long. The thought makes me smile.

“I think you were made for way more than bending… Bender….y’know? You are here for more than that.”

I sigh. “Sure. Sure. Thanks.”

But I know deep inside even as I pretend nothing effects me, his words hit me and I feel so many things, sad things, hopeful things.

“Well, Fry… since you are in a wise mood.. I mean… wise ass, haha, what am I here for?”

“I think you’re here.. because.. you are my friend. My bestest friend. And because you are good at playing folk music. And… you’re smart.”

I feel a warmth trickling down my circuits, and I’m worried I have a leakage or that I’ll short circuit… but it’s a good thing I think. And Fry is warm.

“You don’t think it’s ridiculous for a robot to want to be a folk singer?” I ask, a squeak in my voice.

“No, not at all. I think it’s wonderful,” Fry says and I beam so brightly, my eyes literally light up.

“Really?” I say more to myself than him. I realize he doesn’t hear me as he starts talking about my eyes.

“Ohh, cool light effects, Bender! Is that a new extension of your body?” Fry asks with a happy, chirpy tone.

I don’t say anything. We head back to the apartment, and the night is dark except my eyes, keeping the path back home lit clearly.

I don’t tell him anything at all, not about the way his disgusting warm body makes me feel wanted, needed—how his gentle words give me hope and a sense of purpose… no, none of that.

I certainly don’t tell him how the light reflex on my eyes works…

It only activates when I’m feeling the utmost happiness.

Fan Fiction
4

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I love how Bender hides his feelings behind that facade

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Bender is a robot with feelings , interesting and has a crush on Fry?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.