Fiction logo

Fear is a game...

Time to play, time to lose! 😈 Mother Combs Campfire Challenge.

By Lamar WigginsPublished 9 months ago β€’ Updated 9 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
52
Checkmate! Dall E

The following micro fiction was written in response to the Mother Combs Campfire Challenge. Write a horror story within 75 - 250 words. You can find all the details here.

πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·πŸ•·

Tricks of the mind are beyond deceptive, they are alive...

Paranoia seeps in after a dangerous drug cocktail reveals a hallucinatory world so real that I become completely detached from reality.

I find myself in a dark room, the dimensions are unknown. The only visible light is coming from a tiny keyhole on the other side. As I cautiously walk toward it, I begin hearing the terrifying sounds of distress. The volume increases with every step forward. Scared shitless, I use my hands to cover my ears in an attempt to block out the horrendous noise. It sounds like lost souls trapped in my head are being tortured. The voices are overwhelming. I panic. Where am I? As soon as that thought occurs a dim light comes on, revealing three closed doors in an otherwise empty space. The voices abruptly stop. My heart drops at the sight of my deceased mother standing at the door to my left. Zombified and expressionless, she looks at me then points to the door opposite her. The light begins to flicker; within its strobing, she vanishes. The light shudders, then explodes, sending glass particles everywhere... darkness returns. A squeaky hinge breaks the silence. I back myself into a corner as I hear multiple feet scurrying closer. Fuzzy, prickly arms are all over me. I scream as they drag me by the legs through one of the doors. 'I'm not ready to die! Not now!' I'm thrown into a pit! I'm falling! 'Please God! Someone hellllllllllp!

Waking Nightmare. Dall E

Thank you for stopping by. Your turn to join in on the challenge!

MicrofictionHorror
52

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (38)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey8 months ago

    great story

  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    This was very dreamlike. I was spooked, but too invested to back out! AWESOME entry!!

  • Yikes! Scary stuff 😬

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    I thought the way you built up the tension was great. Congrats on TS!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    That was great. Congrats on the TS.

  • Agapitus 8 months ago

    Nice story but can you guys please help me rate the article I wrote https://vocal.media/fiction/the-princess-of-change-ivg60rt4

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Super creepy yet wonderfully descriptive, I felt my heart rate pick up as I was reading. Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • ANFAS8 months ago

    nice

  • Gina C.8 months ago

    So creepy and descriptive! I felt like this was happening to me as I read it - amazing, immersive experience! Congrats on a well-deserved Top Story! πŸ€—β€οΈ

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    This is outstanding, Lamar. I love that you wrote the whole story as action, not an easy thing to do. But you did it perfectly! Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Thavien Yliaster8 months ago

    Whether it was a hallucinatory cocktail or one that straight up poisoned him, that shit was toxic either way. It negatively affected his mind and distorted reality from what existed on the plain that he's used to residing. May he wake up the next day, if not someplace peaceful for his soul to take.

  • Creepy.

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Very creepy and I'll be watching the keyholes now 😳 Congrats on Top Story too!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Well done!

  • Ian Read9 months ago

    Seems like a rather bad trip! Good job!

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Creepy. Hope I don't encounter spiders tonight. Congrats on TS!

  • Congratulations on your Top StoryπŸŽ‰

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Back to say congrats! πŸŽ†πŸ₯‚πŸΎ

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!!! πŸŽ‰ Happy this made the cut!!!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    That's some scary stuff right there, my friend! Congratulations!

  • Lamar, like a crafty spider, you pulled me into your web.πŸ•·οΈ This is brilliant! One favorite part was the prologue: "Tricks of the mind are beyond deceptive, they are alive... Paranoia seeps in after a dangerous drug cocktail..." And you hooked me in 250 or less words. 😯 The only thing more terrifying is not knowing what happened next. Bravo, my gifted storyteller!!! πŸ‘πŸ’™πŸ‘

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Well now, glad to see this on the front page where it belongs. Congrats on Top Story, pal!

  • Great story

  • Test9 months ago

    This was awesome! Really great take on the prompt. Congrats on the top story!

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    This is so good! Great take on the prompt and congrats on TS :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.