Fiction logo

Endurance

Chapter 5: Exposed

By The Freedom RunnerPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Endurance
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Just days after the engagement party, the wedding is set to take place on a warm Saturday morning. Michael is in the back behind the sanctuary, peeking out of the doorway leading to the altar. Michael watches as the guests file in and take their seats.

Mitchell, Michael's father, stands behind Michael and pats him on the shoulder.

Mitchell- Relax, son. Watching these people isn't going to take the nerves away.

Michael- I can't help it.

Steven and Doug are seated on their chairs, and they are scrolling through their phones. Doug's eyes light up as he sees a post on Twitter.

Doug- What the fuck?!

Doug's reaction startles Steven. Michael and Mitchell look in Doug's direction. They approach Doug curiously. Doug looks up at Michael with disappointment in his eyes.

Doug- Michael, you're not going to like this.

Doug holds the phone up, revealing the post to Michael. Michael takes the phone from Doug, and he plays the video. Women can be heard cheering on the phone. Loud moaning from a woman can also be heard.

Michael's reaction is of surprise, and soon after, heartbreak. Michael hands the phone back to Doug, and he walks away.

Steven- (to Doug) Hang on. I'll go after him.

Steven follows Michael out of the room. Michael continues walking through the hallway.

Steven- Michael, hold up. Hold up, bro.

Michael stops walking, and he turns to face Steven.

Michael- What did I do to deserve this? Huh?! What did I do?!

Steven- I'm sorry, bro. I'm sorry this happened.

Michael sighs angrily, and he continues walking. Steven follows him until they walk outside of the church.

Steven- Where you going?

Michael- Home. I'm not marrying her. She thinks she can make a fool out of me, and she thinks I'm going to marry her? I'm going home. To hell with her, and to hell with her friends.

Steven- Does that include Shelly? She told me she and Becky left her there because she wouldn't leave.

Michael- Do they know what happened?

Steven- I don't know. Shelly was the one who mentioned this to me. Even she said she doesn't know what Abby did. All she knows is Abby wouldn't leave the club, so she left Abby with Monica and Carla.

Michael places his hands on his hips and shakes his head in disgust.

Steven- She made a fool out of you. Why not pay her back?

Michael- What are you talking about?

Steven- She embarrassed you. Now you have a wedding ceremony. I say you humiliate her.

Michael sighs deeply.

Meanwhile, inside the bridal dressing room, Abby is nervously pacing back and forth. Shelly and Becky watch as Abby continues pacing. Monica and Carla are on their phones. Monica's eyes widen as she looks at her screen.

Monica- (loudly) Shit!

All eyes are now on Monica.

Carla- What? What happened?

Monica- Ladies, the shit just hit the fan.

Monica shows everyone the video that has now gone viral. Women can be heard cheering and chanting. Loud moaning can be heard on the phone. Abby's face is now pale as she continues watching the video.

Abby- (stunned) Oh, my God! No! This is going to ruin my wedding day!

Shelly is angered by Abby. She grabs Abby by the arm, and she pulls her into the bathroom. Shelly locks the door.

Abby- (nervous) I don't remember any of that! I swear!

Shelly- Why the fuck didn't you just listen to me?! I told you to leave the club with me! Damn it, Abby! How could you be so stupid?!

Abby- I don't know.

Shelly- You just threw away a 5-year relationship with a great man, and all for your last night of freedom?

Abby- (crying) I'm sorry! I'm sorry!

Shelly- Sorry that you did this, or sorry that you got caught? You'd better hope Michael hasn't already seen the video. I'm not going to have your back on this one.

Abby- But you're my older sister! You're my maid of honor!

Shelly sighs with disappointment. She grabs Abby by the shoulders, and she stares into Abby's tear-filled eyes.

Shelly- Abby, I love you. Under any other circumstances, I'd defend you. Yes, I am your maid of honor, and I will be here for you on your wedding day. However, I'm not going to clean up your mess. If he finds out you cheated on him, you're done. I will not bail you out this time.

Shelly walks out of the bathroom, leaving Abby to cry alone.

To Be Continued...

SeriesScript

About the Creator

The Freedom Runner

My series, Endurance, covers real-life situations that include love, romance, betrayal, jealousy, and compromising situations. My characters have interesting stories, and I hope you enjoy them.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Nice work! Great job!

The Freedom RunnerWritten by The Freedom Runner

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.