Fiction logo

Endurance

Chapter 4: Michael's Resolve

By The Freedom RunnerPublished 9 months ago 3 min read

Angel leads a very hesitant Michael into the back room. She seats him on the couch, and she closes the curtains. She turns around to face him, and she smiles. She approaches him slowly and seductively. Michael watches as she walks towards him, and his heart beats faster. Michael is scared.

Angel- (smiles) I have you all to myself tonight. No one will come in and bother us for the next hour. The drinks are all taken care of, and you can have as much fun with me as you want.

Michael, now very conflicted, remains silent. Angel starts to dance while he sits and watches nervously. She starts to straddle him.

Michael closes his eyes, feeling nothing but regret. Angel rests her forehead against him, slightly teasing him as if to kiss him.

Angel- (whispers) I'm going to take care of you.

Michael nervously remains seated. Finally, Michael has had enough.

Michael- Stop. Please stop.

Angel, now embarrassed, and ashamed, slowly gets off Michael's lap. Michael lowers his head. Angel now looks at Michael with concern.

Angel- What's wrong? Is it me?

Michael remains silent.

Angel- Do you not want to do this?

Michael finally faces Angel, and he looks into her bright blue eyes. Angel finally starts blushing, and she starts to look away.

Michael- Look, I'm sorry. I didn't mean to disappoint you. I just can't do this.

Angel remains silent, forcing herself to look away from Michael, now feeling very convicted.

Michael- I'm really sorry.

Angel looks back at Michael with sadness in her eyes. She is feeling slightly embarrassed sitting in front of him in only her undergarments.

Angel- I'm sorry. If I came on too strong, I apologize.

Michael- No need. Can I ask you something?

Angel nods reluctantly.

Michael- Do you really love what you do here?

Angel looks away again, unsure of how she wants to answer the question. She sighs deeply.

Angel- Michael, you seem like a very sweet guy. I knew it the moment I saw you. Can I be honest with you? Please don't tell anyone.

Michael- Of course.

Angel- I hate it here. The owner is such a sleazy pig. I have to deal with him and the bouncers, and their disrespect every night, not to mention the guests that come in here. I'm a single mom, and I have a child to support.

Michael- I'm sorry.

Angel- What's worse is that I can't keep a relationship because of this. This is the life I have left.

Michael genuinely feels bad for Angel. A tear rolls down Angel's face, but she tries to keep her emotions in check. She slowly reaches for Michael's hand, and she gently grabs it. Michael allows the gesture, and he looks into her eyes.

Angel- Whoever your girlfriend is, she is very lucky to be with someone like you. You have shown so much resolve despite all the pressure your friends put on you. A lot of money was spent for this.

Michael- I know. I feel bad about it.

Angel- Please don't. They did pay me a lot of money. That's on them.

Michael- Well, they have been my best friends for the last 5 years. We've been through a lot.

Angel- They did say a lot of great things about you. I can see why.

Michael- If you don't mind me asking, what is your name?

Angel- My real name is Victoria.

Michael finally starts smiling. His smile finally puts Victoria at ease. Victoria smiles back, brushing her hair back from her face with her fingers.

Michael- (smiles) It's nice to officially meet you, Victoria.

To Be Continued...

SeriesScript

About the Creator

The Freedom Runner

My series, Endurance, covers real-life situations that include love, romance, betrayal, jealousy, and compromising situations. My characters have interesting stories, and I hope you enjoy them.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    The Freedom RunnerWritten by The Freedom Runner

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.