Fiction logo

Duty Calls

It's not about the job, it's about the satisfaction.

By Mark GagnonPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
7
Duty Calls
Photo by Amy Syiek on Unsplash

Consciousness came crawling back from the edge of oblivion as I slowly recognized where the annoying sound was emanating from. I pushed “accept” on my phone and listened to the electronic voice coldly say, “Get up now.” 3 a.m., right on time as usual; not much chance these electronic gadgets would give a guy an extra 15 minutes. No time to lie around complaining. People were counting on me.

I went through the usual morning routine (shave, shower, dress) and was out the door by 3:35. My destination was only 2 miles away, so by 3:45, I pulled into the empty parking lot that surrounded my store. The key phrase here is “My Store”, not some branch of a conglomerate. This place is all mine and the banks.

When I started working in this business, it was for one of the big chains. I hated it! The hours were the same as I work now, but the pay was low and I felt like a minor cog in a massive machine. Now, I have the satisfaction of knowing that my customers appreciate my hard work.

By 4 a.m. the kitchen lights were on, the ovens were warming up, and I retrieved the first batch of dough from the refrigerator. My little shop ran like a well-oiled machine because it had to. My regular customers would start arriving by 5 a.m. and if I wanted to keep them coming back, I couldn’t waste their time. At 4:15, it’s time to make the donuts!

Microfiction
7

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Tina D'Angelo6 months ago

    Time to make the donuts, lol!

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Hi Mark - Funny Coincidence: I once represented a Donut Chain that offered to pay me in 'Product' - Yum - btw; as Veterans it was Shave-Shower & 'S' j-bud

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    great story, Mark!

  • Are there really people go who get doughnuts at 5am? I mean, if they start work that early, then I guess it's not to shocking, lol!

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    It's time for bed and all I want is a donut now, lol! I just saw a clip recently that had the old 'time to make the donuts' commercial. This took me back :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.