Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 8

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 3 years ago 12 min read
Like

Disclaimer: This story has multiple parts. To read the previous part, you can click here.

I hung my shopping bag over my wrist as I ran out the front doors and across the parking lot back to my car. The parking lot didn't feel this big when I first arrived. My eyes wandered everywhere for Ace. I felt like screaming out his name, but what if Rev was still here and was able to hear me? If it really was him who was supposedly standing behind me, there was no way he would have been able to get too far away. The thought of him standing behind me gave me the chills; the breathing on my neck, the unknowing that he was there all along.. I hurried back to my car as quick as I was able.

"Ace?" I whispered at a low enough register that even Ace probably wouldn't had been able to hear me if he was around.

Once I got back to my car, I threw my bag into the backseat and slammed the door shut. My eyes looked over my shoulder to make sure nobody was standing there before I opened the drivers' side door.

"Hello," said someone from behind. The voice sounded deep but still managed to send chills straight up my spine.

"I was hoping I'd finally catch up to you." His hand draped over the top of my window as he leaned his entire body up against the side, "Man.. you really are a quick one." He let off a sly chuckle.

"What the hell do you want?" I tried to make my voice sound harsh, but it came out more of a snarky whine.

"Obviously, I wanted to see you again."

I grabbed the door handle to get myself inside safe, but he put his entire body weight between the door and myself.

"Just let me go," I raised my voice a little.

His body slipped around the door, but still remained blocking my way so I couldn't find a way to escape. He cupped his hands around my throat as he held my head up against the seat, "Don't you dare make me do it."

"You better get the fuck away from her," Another voice piped up from behind Rev. I tried to get a good look at who it was, but Rev's grip was so strong that I was unable to move my neck. I did have a slight feeling who it could be.. these two are basically a package deal.

Rev turned around to face him, yanking me forward in the process causing me to wince in pain.

"I will give you ten seconds to let her go," The other voice said. He sounded so serious, yet terrifying, at the same time. I couldn't really explain it.

"Sure you will," Rev scoffed. He jerked me out of my seat and held my neck with just his forearm.

"Ten."

Rev didn't move. I tried to fight myself out of his grip, but he just made his grip against my neck stronger with each movement I made.

"Nine."

"Don't you dare move," Rev whispered into my ear as he tightened his forearm against my neck. Was he seriously trying to help me in not getting hurt? Afterall, he was the one who put me into this position.

"Eight."

While in this unbearable position, I finally got a look at the guy. His hoodie hid his eyes quite perfectly, but I was still able to see his beautiful green eyes. They were so bright, I doubt he couldn't hide those eyes if he tried. The sleeves of his hoodie had been pushed up his forearms, and his jeans were slightly baggy with a little bit of tightness in certain areas. It was him. Ace. I couldn't help myself from revealing a small smile.. but that quickly faded away the second Rev opened his mouth once again.

"I'd give it up if I were you."

Give up? No. Please don't you dare give up, Ace. I tried shaking my head to silently signal over to Ace not to give up, but Rev took notice of my actions first. His hand grabbed ahold of the top of my head, forcing my chin into my chest.

"Seven," Ace's tone sounded louder than before; almost as if to prove to Rev that he wasn't about to be defeated.

I still couldn't comprehend what the hell he was doing? Was Ace unsure of whatever it was that Rev could do? He had to. He's known Rev a lot longer than I have. Weren't they friends? I stared at Ace; the only direction I was able to look into with Rev standing next to me. My eyes couldn't help but focus on what he was possibly hiding underneath his hoodie. Was he bald? Did he have long hair that flowed in the wind? Or was his hair short? Did he have a shaved head, or maybe curly locks that you could run your fingers through when you're snuggled up into him? I did kind of wish he'd allow for a couple strands of hair to fall out of his hoodie.. at least just so I could see what color his hair was. I was growing curious about every little detail when it came to Ace. I had no idea was. He was definitely the type of person I should be avoiding but hell.. that isn't about to happen with how these two stuck to me like glue. Anyways, I didn't want to let myself stay away from him. I fought for a way to see him again.. even in my dreams. A chill ran up my spine at the thought of that dream I had. I know it was just a dream but.. I kissed him. I imagined myself kissing Ace. I couldn't help but wonder how it'd feel if that actually happened. What would he even do if that happened? Would he even want to kiss me back? Would he even allow me close enough to him to get a kiss?

The sound of Ace's voice lead me out of my deep thoughts, "Six."

Rev went to say something but Ace cut him off. Apparently Ace doesn't wait till he's counted to ten.. good to know. All I knew is that I was throwing out my hands to catch my fall as my body smacked against the concrete below.

"Ace," I shouted out, "Stop!" My eyes widened as I watched the two of them go at it like two preschoolers fighting over who ate the last animal cracker. They cannot fight. Not here. Not that I hated them.. I normally wouldn't give two shits about a fight. Usually, I'd just walk past as if I didn't see a single thing and continue on with my day. But it's daytime and there are a ton of people around us. People could see what's happening back here and possibly try to intervene. Even though Rev had me in a pretty intense chokehold and people didn't seem to avert their attention over to us.. so what on earth do I know about this town?

Ace had his arm wrapped firmly around Rev's neck as he pressed him up against my car. I couldn't help but notice Rev start to run his hands aside his pant leg and followed my eyes along with his hands. That was when I noticed the piece of silver metal Rev had poking out of the top of his pant lining.

"Ace!" I shouted out. I jumped up and ran over to them, pushing Ace off Rev. I could have sworn he ripped off skin with the grip he was holding on Rev's neck.

"What the hell are you doing?" He asked me.

"He has a gun." I whispered back. I didn't realize just how close our bodies had been until this second. He had his legs intertwined with mine and his elbows were bent back into the pavement below him. He looked back up at me and I had noticed the hoodie had fallen off during our little interaction. He must've not noticed yet, but I saw them. Those gorgeous green eyes. I couldn't help but smile, but he pushed me onto the pavement before I could say something to him. I fell onto my elbows, laying on my back as I shifted my eyes up to the metal object that was in Rev's hand. My eyes widened as I pushed my body up.

"Don't you dare move, bitch." He said to me.

I bit my lip as my eyes remained locked on the object in his hand. I wanted to scream for someone's, anyone's, attention but no sound was able to come out of my mouth. Fear had officially taken over. I was muted. Who was he planning on shooting? Me? I took another look at the gun. My body tried it's best to not get near the barrel as I tried to get a better look, trying to think of every possible reason he'd have for using his gun right now. My eyes shifted from the barrel of the gun to Ace, who was standing behind Rev by now.

"Ace!" I called out to him for help.

Rev turned his head, the gun following his movement to face Ace, "I see you still haven't left yet."

"Why would I leave you alone with her?" Ace asked, I don't have anywhere else to be.. and there is no way I'm just going to let you be alone with her while you pull stunts like this."

I sat up on my knees. There was no way he actually meant that.. right? I swallowed the lump in my throat as I watched the two of them stand there, doing nothing.. the barrel of Rev's gun still facing Ace. I couldn't help but admire Ace's bravery right about now. Even with the gun pointing in his direction, Ace still remained in the same exact place. Wasn't he afraid of getting shot? After what happened yesterday, I wouldn't even hold it against Rev to not pull the trigger. I wouldn't even trust Rev to stand near me with a gun, let alone stand right in front of me.

"Ace," I stood up, "Move out of the way."

Ace eyed me as he mouthed the words "Shut the fuck up". Rev took a step forward, keeping the gun held directly at Ace.

"You know.. I would have left before," Rev smiled, "It would have been the smart thing to do."

"Leave him alone." I jumped onto Rev's back. I tried to reach for the gun, but he shifted. The hand he wasn't using to hold the gun curled into my shirt, pulling me over his shoulder and smashing me against the ground.

"You do not want to watch this." He smirked.

I tried to stand back up, but my body was hurting too much from that last fall. "No," I stated, "I'm not going to leave."

"Are you sleeping with him?" Rev asked out of nowhere.

I almost choked.

"If you are.. I'd have to give you credit for being an even bigger slut than I thought you were." He said, "You'd be the first."

The first at what? I pushed back what I wanted to say to the back of my mind and just smiled as I said the words "Thank you".

"You're welcome."

"You're wrong, by the way."

"Don't deny it babe."

"I'm not sleeping with Ace. I hardly even know the guy." I stated.

"Sure you aren't, babe."

"Stop calling me babe," I snapped, "I'm not your goddamn babe."

"Alright. Alright. Don't go crying now."

"I'm not going to cry." I folded my arms across my chest.

"You sure?" He shot me a small pout, "You sure you don't want to run away so you can cry in peace. Maybe you could just hide in your car and let out a couple tears."

Crying wasn't exactly what was on my mind at the moment. He just didn't want me to witness whatever he had planned for Ace right now. Usually, I'd choose to ignore these kinds of conflicts so I wouldn't be involved but I am already involved in this. That could have easily been me on the other side of that barrel. I shuddered at that thought. No. It wouldn't. Rev would never kill me. Otherwise, he would have already done it last night in the middle of that field.

"Last chance." He said to me.

"Shut up." That was when I noticed the way he held the gun. His finger wasn't even placed on the trigger. He had wrapped it around the handle of the gun this entire time. I slowly stood up, taking a couple steps closer to Rev before he swung his arm and gun away. I tried to look back towards Ace but he was already gone. Did he really just leave me alone with this dude? Seriously, dude. What the hell?

"Don't you dare make me shoot."

"You aren't going to shoot."

"Yes I will."

"No you wouldn't." That did it.

His finger pressed against the trigger, "Wanna bet?"

What the hell did I just put myself into? I fell back onto the pavement and pulled my legs up to block my face. I had felt a piece of cold metal press up against my forehead between my knees. I closed my eyes real tight, afraid of what was about to happen next.

"Say goodbye." He said. I heard a blow, but felt no different. My eyes opened again to see a guy sitting on top of Rev. Rev was holding his arms up to block his face.

"Stay.. the.. hell.. away.. from.. her." I recognized that voice. Ace.

I watched as the fight became more and more intense, somewhat fascinated by how fast Rev seemed to be getting his ass kicked after looking like the toughest lad to ever exist just a second ago.

"Stop it, Ace." I said out loud.

"But he-"

I put my hand up to let him know that he should stop, "Don't be like him."

"Lex-"

"Don't hurt him. Not for me. He may be an ass, but nobody deserves this." I told him, "Just look at him. He's gotten his punishment already."

Ace moved away and crawled over to me, grabbing ahold of my arms, "Why shouldn't I protect you?"

"You don't want to protect me. You barely even know me." I chuckled, "You just want to kill that asshole."

"But Lex, I-" He was cut off. His body collapsed in front of mine before I had the chance to catch him. I ran my hands along his back before my eyes fell upon the bleeding that was currently staining his hoodie.

"Ace!" I forgot about the pain my body was in as I jumped up. I tried to lift him up but he had been too heavy, "Please wake up, Ace. Get up."

"Lex." He moaned out.

I knelt back down to look into his eyes again, "We need to get you to a hospital."

"No."

No? The hell does he mean no? "Ace, you're hurt."

"Lex. Please."

I slowly exhaled to keep myself calm, "Where do you want me to go then?"

"Home."

"I have no idea where you live."

"You go home."

"I'm not going to just leave you here."

"Then take me with you," He crawled to his knees, "Let me come with you Lex. You just have to get out of here."

My hand reached down to grab his after I stood up, but he ignored the gesture. "Dammit Ace, just take my hand." I reached it out again, waving it in front of his face so he wouldn't miss it at all this time around.

He ignored me once more, leaning against the pavement to help himself up before leaning against my shoulder. "I don't need to grab your hand."

I didn't even say anything about.. no much I wanted to comment about how he couldn't even stand up straight without my help. I just helped him get into the car, "Just get in."

"Excuse me?"

"Just get in." I repeated. I gave him a slight shove, expecting him to shove me back but he didn't. He just grabbed onto the handle above the seat and helped himself inside. Once I closed his door, I circled around to the other side and hopped in myself.

"So.. my house?" I hesitated about turning the car on. He's seen my house.. he's been through my neighborhood.. but never in the daytime. Plus he's currently hurt. If dad was to see him, especially right now, he'd ask about what happened. I don't really feel like explaining that to him. I glanced back over at him and let out a sigh. I started the car up and began to drive back onto the main road.

"I'm sorry for that, by the way." He said.

My eyes turned back to face him. He was leaning his head against the seat and his eyes looked closed.

"Ace?"

"Hmm."

"Why did you?" I asked, "I mean.. why'd you start it? Why you keep going at him? You could have just stopped before it was too late. Didn't you know what Rev was able to do?"

Silence filled the car. I turned my eyes at Ace before focusing back on the road ahead of me.

"I just wanted to." was the only words that came out of his mouth.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.