Fiction logo

De-void

Everyone needs some space

By Merritt XavierPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image credit-Joshua Earle on Unsplash

"Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space" or so they say, that's what I thought in the depths of my mind as my lungs ached from screaming. Screaming seems pointless when no one can hear you in an oxygen filled helmet. Although, it was my instinctive reaction after being expelled from my connector cord. The concept of space remains interesting as it remains vast but close, bright but dark and attractive but warning. It's a bit more silent than you would think but that scared me a bit more, because the silence had depth in it's void. Floating idly as I gave up panicking is eerily more peaceful especially with 4 spare canisters of oxygen in my flourecent white jogger suit. I have been out for what feels like 2 hours but actually 40 minutes. The accelor watch may not be able to contact anyone for now but i still have the time running on earth's EST which we are all adjusted to. Being in space is incredible but being expelled from homehub X110 is not as incredible.The food and resources have grown desolate just as my hope of being returned to any of that. The eco-system has been going well for the population and seems to be progressing with productivity and efficiency but if they had fixed the second lower home base connector, I wouldn't be floating with my thoughts on an infinite trampoline. 

After the earth's collapse thanks to our awful habits, the X110 for eXistence 1st generation ship of 10 billion people has been rather interesting the past 10 years as i remain 20 since we fled earth. We finally got all the consequences of climate change and ruined the earth, obviously, relocation was needed. Thanks to the numerous billionaires and scientists that prepped for this, therefore creating the life we know now. They were able to accommodate people from different places of the world mostly from the Americas though since that was the home of the project. 

"Ding!", my watch alerted. Good to know my stopwatch finally ended. I lost connection with the home base upper in charge of my monitoring without a functional back-up for once. I didn't even finish cleaning, de-rusting and waxing the fan blades which should have a different method from now on, if i ever make it back. I don't know who thought cleaning blades with a cord from within the shaft would be great when the possibility of it being turned on is high. It was unusually started before my confirmation which cut the connected cord to within and blew me away therefore causing my dilemma. This is what i get for overestimating my ability for extra jobs.

"I am definitely asking for extra compensation". So far, we've had no wars, no invasions and no other publicly viewed lifeforms, many space show fanatics are highly disappointed. We do move every now and then and sleep in pods. The strange pods are supposed to help for good sleep and has the formulated air we breath. It's different from the filtered oxygen in public spaces due to the Z1 component we only know as the "live better and longer air". There are tiers in the homehub but i always wondered what the donut shaped center within our dome is for. Everyone's a vegan or 3d-printed and infused-flavour food eater but i hope i get enchiladas today. Everyone helps out in their own way and have assignments for X's which helps buy extra things and all. I really can't believe we have not interacted with aliens…hmmm…I remember the day we saw the….

"beep beep beep beep beep, beep, beep beep beep beep beep" 

"What?!, it's working?", I thought.

"Hello, Ranger? Ranger, are you there?"

"Yes, I'm I'm …here"

"We're finally able to pin-point your location now and we'll be coming for you. Ensure you put on the light feature on your suit for better visibility.

"Yes, Melissa."

"We also see that you are getting low on oxygen, do you have any extra's?"

 "I…"

As I checked to verify I saw the 3 out of 4 are the cleaning agents i needed to clean the ships exterior fans in the first place.

"Oh, great."

MysterySci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Merritt Xavier

"A little space to be creative"-from Unsplash picture by Toa Heftiba

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.