Fiction logo

Darling, You SHALL Go to the Alibi

11th April, Story #102/366

By L.C. SchรคferPublished 20 days ago โ€ข 3 min read
11

OK, look, the woman was an absolute witch. I slaved away doing every-bloody-thing while she and her precious brats sat on their flabby arses.

Drisella smirked in front of my ruined dress, hiding something behind her back. I lost. my. shit. I've always had beef with Drisella because she's so snooty and she thinks she's so much better than me.

I yanked on her arm, and there it was: the knife she hacked my up beautiful dress with. I snatched it, and swivelled it to point it at her. Just to scare her, you know? To see the look on her gormless face.

The feeling that swelled up in me, though... filling me up to my scalp and my fingertips... such a rush. She's crying and wailing, and that rush took over and slashed! Whoops! A spray of blood across me and the once-lovely dress.

Anastasia burst in, started screaming. So I did her, too. This was fire, even better than when I cut the tail off that mangey cat. The witch came in to find out what all the screaming had been about, and she found out alright. The look in her eyes, right before they went flat and glazed over, like glass... that was satisfying.

That's when the Blood Fairy appeared. There was a lot of magic available in that room, so she sorted out my dress, my transport, everything.

Get this! Then she said, and I'm dead serious, right, she said, "You have to leave at midnight, that's very important. Do you understand? Midnight!" Who even does that? Who leaves a party at midnight?! It's just getting started, then!

I promised, though. It was hard to keep it because I was just about to get lucky, and he was cute as, you know? But I ran, he tried to follow, the clock chimed... And the portal opened and here I am. Isn't that wild? There's horseless carriages. Everything glitters, everything's for sale, everything's on a screen. My old life, and all those deaths... far behind me.

I've picked up the language pretty well. And guess what? It's prom night, and nobody's here to ruin my dress or stop me kissing a cute boy.

++++++++++++

Word count: (excluding note): 366

Submitted on: 11th April at 23.00

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

The story behind the story: This is a response to my own prompt, Fucked Up Fairytales

. Lots of people have responded, and I will go through every single one this weekend!

I've done a bunch of other prompts here.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 102 day streak since the 1st January. Yesterday was my 100th piece!! I can't believe I've come this far. I'm collating them all here.

Thank you

Thank you again! Especially if you are one of the people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you ๐Ÿ˜

I do my best to reciprocate as many reads as possible. If you leave me a comment, that makes it much easier.

Short StoryMicrofictionFantasy
11

About the Creator

L.C. Schรคfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit12 days ago

    Good done job

  • Another well done story LC! Makes me think of Cinderella in a completely different light!

  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    That was wonderful! Great, grisly job.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)18 days ago

    Wow LC, this was a delightfully dark twist on a classic!! I really enjoyed the overall mood and how all the characters got what they deserved!! For a hot second afterwards it made me think of your robot cinderella take you wrote a while back!!

  • Oooo, she was transported into the real world! Like in Enchanted!

  • John Cox19 days ago

    So much more satisfying than the original!

  • Gerard DiLeo19 days ago

    What's the mirror gonna say now?

  • Alexander McEvoy20 days ago

    This was an awesome story, LC! The sistie ugglers and their awful mother got exactly what they deserved if you ask me! Love the exploration of some kind of Fae world on the other side of that portal too! Will we be seeing more of your blood drenched Cinderella in the future? Seems like there's a lot more story to tell

  • Mark Gagnon20 days ago

    Payback is an actual bitch!

  • Hannah Moore20 days ago

    She walks among us!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.