Fiction logo

Creed 3 - Movie Review

Is it the best Michael B Jordan Movie?

By Havi NagpalPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

Plot

So as the title implies or absolutely clearly states Creed 3 is the third Creed movie directed by Michael B Jordan is actually his directorial debut in this chapter of Adonis Creed's life Adonis Creed is enjoying retirement enjoying the fruits of his labor he's absolutely earned it then an old friend from his past named Dame played by Jonathan major shows up Dame was an up-and-coming boxer went to prison never got his shot but now he wants that shot let the Friendship the bonding the catching up and the tension commence still gonna talk about him out the gate why because we just talked about Jonathan Majors as Kang also in my Quantum Mania review I said Jonathan Majors was great I just wish the movie around him was better well a week later I got to see that Jonathan majors and Michael B Jordan have great chemistry together also I love the fact that this movie really does make you empathize with Dane dude just wants the shot he never got you totally see why Adonis Creed's like I feel obligated to help him which in turn lays the groundwork and you feel the sense of obligation when things go bad.

Rocky

Now there was a little bit of the oh why is Rocky not in this movie conversation a little while ago after seeing the movie absolutely Rocky Balboa the character Sylvester Stallone not in this movie but after seeing the movie I want to give the movie credit for that granted and Rocky 3 when Rocky has to get his mojo back you know and he has to take out clever Lang Apollo Creed helps him out it would have been cool to see Rocky come in and help Adonis out but for the character Creed in these Creed movies that would have made it feel like he was still in Rocky's Shadow this is a movie that makes a clear statement without making the statement to the camera I mean just in terms of action and execution makes a statement that Adonis Creed is his own man the Creed movies are not in the shadow of the Rocky movies they still mention the fight between Rocky Balboa and Apollo Creed after the fight's done I I'm pretty sure I heard that theme that plays at the end of Rocky fights reminds you that it's in the same world absolutely but I felt like Creed 3 made the biggest attempt and success at having Adonis Creed and the Creed movies feel like their own movies and there were a couple of creative choices going into this movie I was just looking okay if this movie is even competently directed Michael B Jordan's fine we'll see more from him but there were a couple of moments where he aims to put his mark on the movies one fight in particular where all the ambience goes down you're just in the ring with the two of them it was a cool moment where they were just in the zone there was nothing else but them there was no crowd music sound effects cheering I will say there are moments of pacing issues in this movie I run into that feeling of things I wanted to know more about that I feel would have been interesting to elaborate on I feel like the movie skips right by it maybe it's a grass is always greener on the other side kind of scenario where I'm like well because I didn't see that other stuff I wish I did but the movie would have been four hours so I guess something has to give and I'll be completely honest with you I'm kind of having a hard time framing this you know like formulating a way to illustrate my point I'm about to say I guess that's the point of it is it's a very subjective preference for me rather than an objective critique on the film.

Adonis Creed

For me, Adonis Creed's Ark and his journey are most interesting when it's synonymous with his journey through the boxing world the character drama and the boxing in relation to that character are very much interwoven but for most of this movie Adonis Creed's retired so the boxing journey is actually Jonathan Major's character but the personal Journeys with Adonis Creed's characters so there's a separation granted all of it is leading to this big boxing match showdown at the end and I suppose that's a byproduct of telling this story of Adonis Creed's life in this phase of Adonis Creed's life I mean he is retired he's coasting his career is kind of on cruise control he's doing good but problems could arise oh hey the old friend that I feel responsible for and I'm gonna the president yup here we go feels like James T Kirk when he was an admiral it's like but I liked you better as the captain just like that now all my personal Heroes Journey boxing Journey interwoven thing aside from the movie works so that's all you need to know is whether or not it works and whether or not the movie's a good time Michael B Jordan and Jonathan Majors make sure that the Chemistry Between the actors and the tension between the characters is all there and it makes for a good time.

Conclusion

It's a movie about Taking Chances or giving others as well as yourself but it's also a movie about taking responsibility I had a great time in Creed 3 no alcohol required I will say the last few months have been doing really good at working out eating healthier I need to do more. All right so Creed Three have you seen it what did you think about it whatever you thought comment below and let me know.

Short StoryScriptFan FictionAdventure
1

About the Creator

Havi Nagpal

Hey there, I'm Havi! I'm a passionate movie lover and an avid writer of movie reviews.

My writing style is pretty casual and light-hearted, and I try to inject humor into my reviews wherever possible to make them more engaging.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.