Fiction logo

Collapse In A Day: P2

Part 2: Heading into the middle...

By L.RPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
(Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash)

Stepping out from one of the elevators with the same black briefcase from earlier, Leon crosses the busy call centre floor and enters his private office, closing the door behind him. Then whilst letting out a long breath he places the briefcase down and takes his jacket off, Hanging it up on the door before turning back to sit at his desk. Just as he gets bum to seat, Becca nudges the door open and slides into the room. Her bright blue eyes and tight fit outfit instantly stealing his attention.

"Leon, you got a minute?" she asks. "There's some issues across the office."

"yeah, yeah suppose got to get this shit out the way before anything else."

He leans back in his chair as Becca crosses the room and seats herself on the edge of his desk, one leg crossed over her the other.

"Like I was trying to say when I called earlier, staff are being poached by competetion. Fuckers are offering a twenty-five percent pay raise, whilst cutting six hours a week off!"

Clearly irritated by the news. Leons face scrumples up a split second before he leans forward, thumping elbows down onto the desk with his hands grasping at the back of his head.

"Ugh, alright, alright" he grumbles still facing the tabletop "what can we do to compete with that? Can we afford slight pay rises with a few less hours?"

Becca shifts her weight uneasily and rests a hand on top of Leons head. Simply clasping gently at the fingers he's already holding onto it with.

"In all honesty I don't think we can do much. Not with the sudden loss of customers this morning." She responds. "I can run some numbers and get back to you later though."

For a moment Leon strokes his fingers through Beccas with only the tiniest pause before pushing her hand away and sitting up. He rubs his face with his palms and lets out a sigh of anguish, before raising his head again.

"Look, add a ten percent cut off my wages to the calculation and get back to me later darlin'. I'm expecting a call and seriously don't have time for office bollocks," is Leons eventual response. The agitation in his voice scratching at the air between the pair of them.

"I'll see what I can do Leon but no matter what, I'm not sure we can plug all the holes in this boat..." Becca spits back at him as she hops to her feet, her brow furrowed. "Please don't let yourself get too distracted from this though babe." Are her parting words before stepping out of the room, pulling the door shut behind her.

A moment or two later, Leons earpiece starts buzzing with an incoming call. Looking down at his wrist he can see the caller ID has been masked. He reaches to his ear, touching to answer.

"Hallo..? "

"This is Leon I assume?"

"Yes. Who's speaking?"

"Hello Leon, glad to finally find a moment to talk. Call me Johnson, keeps things simple as it's what Tony knows me by already..."

Hearing his associates name Leons spine stiffens, instantly putting him on edge. It must be that difficult A-hole Tony mentioned earlier, is the first thought to cross his mind.

"Ah,well, Johnson it is then. I understand you've wanted to speak for a few days now. Tony was light on details, so I'll start from scratch and simply ask... How would you like me to help?" Leon swiftly but calculatingly responds to the voice in his ear.

The tension in his back releasing along with his words, Leon stands up and steps over to the window. The bright mid-morning sun almost whitewashing the clear view of the city skyline.

Getting straight to the point Johnson says "We both know the type of product I desire Leon. I just don't like your idiot friend and refuse to talk much deeper over the line. If you could meet today it would be most appreciated."

Head rested on armed, against window, Leon simply replies with "Send me the when and the where. My schedules suddenly cleared itself up" before swiftly hanging up and then slumping back down into his chair.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

L.R

I mostly find myself here to release creative flair, but also like to pass on what knowledge I can, so the odd tutorial and/or guide worms it's way to the forefront of my mind along the way =)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.