Fiction logo

Cold Love

A Story Every Day in 2024 10th April 101/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 21 days ago 2 min read
12
Cold Love
Photo by Chalo Garcia on Unsplash

Nobody understands the way that I feel about you. Nobody.

They think that I'm mad to want to return to you after all you've done to me. But I am drawn over and over again to come back. I can't stay away.

My parents have told me that we have to be through. But I'm finding it so hard. What do they know about passion? I don't think that I can live without you.

I know I can't live without you.

There is nothing for me without you!

I've snuck out tonight. My mum has been watching me like a hawk. I've tried to escape before but there's been no room. Her look stifles me with its mix of concern and pity. I can feel every increment of her eye movement as it traces me round the room. She was the same when I was with you before you hurt me but the feeling was different. She loved to watch. She loved the way we moved together. When we went fast and you'd thrust me forward with your slippery cold hardness, she'd clap her hands.

Now, she finds you repellent. A potential killer.

On my way here, I saw a car skid. It glided into a lamppost and the bonnet crumpled easily as metal hit metal, bonnet to pole. I stood staring until passers-by started staring at me instead. I was mesmerised. People thought it was because of the damage done but it wasn't. It was because of the grace, the way you took that car and just made it move in one fluid movement. And there was no resisting you. It entered your sphere and like a lover, you let it come and come and come and then, you did nothing to stop it from being destroyed. Nothing to prevent the hurt, the damage.

The blood.

You are truly cold.

But we are great together. I don't know why they don't see that.

And now I'm standing here and you're infront of me. I can't wait to etch my mark on your surface, to leave the scars of my blades on your skin, to use your icy unyielding steeliness to fly and twirl and skate.

***

366 words

A deliberately misleading one, suggestive even but truly only about a destructive passion that obsesses and captivates and is difficult to leave.

Skating.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

101/366

*Please note that 100/366 has not been published by the Vocal gods yet but I have not relinquished my streak; merely, an obstacle has been placed which is hindering it a little. Bit annoyed about it, to be honest as I was very much looking forward to completing the goal of 100 stories on the 100th day but there we are.

Short StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionLoveCONTENT WARNING
12

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard19 days ago

    Very creative piece! It had a poetic rhythm to it which helped build the mystery to the reveal! Nicely done, Rachel!

  • Paul Stewart19 days ago

    I knew this was going to be something different...but with every line I was less and less sure...lol. You did this so well though. It felt so much about either an abusive lover or maybe even drugs...but it's jus as raw given its about ice skating! Well done, Chum-chum-charee

  • Andrea Corwin 20 days ago

    OMG You got me!! Great!

  • Well-wrought! You faked me out!

  • Shirley Belk20 days ago

    I so thought this was going to be about an abusive boyfriend...but I like that it was about the passion of skating. Loved it

  • Cathy holmes20 days ago

    That nasty, sexy ice. Lol. This was good, and the ending was not expected. Well done.

  • I thought it would be about coffee or drugs or alcohol. Never would have thought skating. Well done!

  • Mariann Carroll21 days ago

    Got me so captivated

  • D. J. Reddall21 days ago

    Skating into salacious suggestiveness makes for engrossing narration!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.