Fiction logo

Claudia

This is PART THREE of the first screenplay that I have written and I would love any feedback or questions so I know how to improve it! Thank you so much for reading!

By Madelynn BilbreyPublished 2 years ago 12 min read

INT. LIVING ROOM - NIGHT

Freya and Zella sit next to Oakley on the couch.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: So apparently the house comes with a housekeeper and she is asking if you guys want food.

BELLAMY KNOX: What is it?

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Rabbit, I think?

BELLAMY KNOX: Nah! I’m good!

FREYA HAWTHORNE: She said her name was Dia. Interesting name.

Some time passes. Dovie sits on her phone with her legs over Bellamy legs as he watches the movie. Oakley is sitting in between Freya and Zella, all three are also watching the moving. Credits roll as Claudia enters with her cooked rabbit and roasted potatoes.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Can I join you guys?

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Yeah, sure.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Do you guys like board games? Or like card games?

Dovie puts PHONE down at the sound of games.

DOVIE ABBOTT: OH EM GEE! I love them! Do they have some here?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Yes. There are a bunch in the chest under the tv.

Dovie pulls out THREE GAMES.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Guys! Which one should we play first?

ZELLA CHADWICK: I think I’m just going to go to bed. I’m really tired and it’s been a really long day.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Come on! Please! Just one game at least! Plus it’s so early to go to bed.

ZELLA CHADWICK: Okay fine. But I vote Cards vsHumanity.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: That one is okay with me.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Okay let’s do it.

BELLAMY KNOX: I think I’m going to sit this one out.

DOVIE ABBOTT: No! You can’t. You have to play with us. I’m not letting you not play. Dia, do you want to play with us?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Sure, I’ll play for a little bit.

They all play a COUPLE ROUNDS then they all hear a PHONE RING in the KITCHEN.

FREYA HAWTHORNE Dia, is that your phone?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: My phone? I can go check. Please excuse me for a moment.

Claudia returns after RINGING STOPS. They play a few MORE ROUNDS, then head to bed.

ZELLA CHADWICK: Okay. I’m going to bed now. Goodnight everyone. See you all in the morning.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Good night Zel. See you tomorrow.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Good night Zella! Thanks for playing with me. Everyone ready for another round?

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Actually I think I’m going to head to bed also. We can play more tomorrow though. Goodnight guys.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Okay fine, is everyone else staying?

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Yeah, I’ll play one more round.

BELLAMY KNOX: You won’t give me a choice so hit me.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Yeah, I’ll play if that’s still okay.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Of course! The more the merrier!

They play a couple more rounds.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Okay. Now, I must resign for the night for sleep is the best medicine.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Sometimes he is so strange. Whatever.

BELLAMY KNOX: Are you ready for bed, yet?

DOVIE ABBOTT: I guess so.

BELLAMY KNOX: Okay. Lets go. Goodnight, person.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: My name is Dia and goodnight. I hope you both sleep well.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Goodnight, Dia.

INT. KITCHEN - MORNING

Claudia is COOKING a bizarre breakfast and brewing CIVET COFFEE (kopi Luwak). Freya and Zella ENTER together the KITCHEN.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Oh, Good morning, ladies. How did you sleep?

ZELLA CHADWICK: I slept fine. Thank you.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: I slept okay. How did you sleep?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Like a dead person...

Freya and Zella look at each other.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD (CONT’D) I prefer that phrase over “slept like a baby” because most babies I’ve encountered wake up off and on throughout the night.

Oakley ENTERS the KITCHEN,

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Uh-huh, you don’t say. Oh is that coffee?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Oh yes. It’s my favorite kind of coffee.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: What kind of coffee is it?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Kopi Luwak. It’s also known as civet coffee.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Ah. So, when’s breakfast going to be ready?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: In about 20 minutes.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Cool. Do you guys want to go check out the back yard while we wait?

ZELLA AND OAKLEY: Yeah, sure! Let’s do it!

Zella, Freya, and Oakley take their coffee outside and walk around. Bellamy and Dovie WALK into the KITCHEN a few minutes later.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Oh, Good morning. Breakfast will be ready soon. The others are outside.

BELLAMY KNOX: Okay thanks.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Do you guys want some coffee?

DOVIE ABBOTT: We’ll get some at breakfast. Thank you though.

EXT. BACK PORCH - MORNING

Freya, Zella, and Oakley are SITTING on the PORCH, LOOKING at the BODY OF WATER. Bellamy and Dovie walk out.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Oh hey guys! Good morning! Here try this coffee...it’s different but good!

DOVIE ABBOTT: What is it?

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Shivet, I think, or something like that.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: I think it’s pretty good, despite the weird name.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: So what do you guys want to do today?

DOVIE ABBOTT: I want to swim. It’s hot and I hate the heat...

OAKLEY UPTOWN: All in favor of swimming today?

BELLAMY KNOX: I’m down!

ZELLA CHADWICK: Me too.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Cool! So, it’s settled. After breakfast we will get ready to go to the lake?

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Sounds good to me.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Cool!

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: HEY! BREAKFAST IS READY! COME INSIDE.

BELLAMY KNOX: Time for food. Let’s go!

INT. KITCHEN TABLE - MORNING

Students are SITTING at TABLE while Claudia puts food on the TABLE.

DOVIE ABBOTT: This looks...interesting-

FREYA HAWTHORNE:-ly delicious! Mmm! Right guys!

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Yes, so good! I can’t wait to try it.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Does any of this have meat in it? Because if so, I can’t have it.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Oh, I didn’t know. Do you want me to get you some cereal or something?

FREYA HAWTHORNE: No, it’s okay. I can get it. Does it all have meat.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Most of it does. Yes. Okay well, since that happened, what are everyone’s allergies? I don’t want this to happen again. I feel awful.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: I can’t have any dairy products and meat. It’s not like life or death, I’m just lactose intolerant and went vegetarian a few years ago so any meat that I eat will make me sick.

ZELLA CHADWICK: Um, I can’t have soybeans or fish or mangos or dried fruit or corn. The only life threatening allergies are the mangos and dried fruit though.

DOVIE ABBOTT: I can’t have avocados or sesame seeds or milk. Apparently I’m like deathly allergic to milk.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Damn! All of you are picky eaters. Fuck! I don’t have any allergies.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Excuse you. We can’t fucking help that we have allergies. That’s just how God made us! Fuck off!

BELLAMY KNOX: Hey, Dove. Baby. It’s okay. It’s not that serious. I also don’t have any allergies, though.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Okay cool. I am going to make a grocery list. Would it be okay if I borrowed your vehicle Freya Hawthorne ? Mine was stolen.

A PHONE begins RINGING in the kitchen

FREYA HAWTHORNE: yeah. Sure!

DOVIE ABBOTT: Um, Whose phone is that? Ringing? It’s not mine.

BELLAMY KNOX: It’s not mine.

ZELLA CHADWICK: Yeah, no, not mine.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: It’s not mine either.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: My phone is in my room.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Dia, is that your phone?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Hmm? What phone? What ringing? I don’t hear anything.

ZELLA CHADWICK: You don’t hear a phone ringing?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: No?...

DOVIE ABBOTT: Oh great! Of course we’d be the ones to get stuck with the ugly deaf maid.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Dovie!

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: I’m not a maid and I’m not deaf, you little shit.

Claudia grabs the VEHICLE KEYS off the COUNTER and walks out the FRONT DOOR.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Dovie...

DOVIE ABBOTT: What? She called me a shit.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: After you called her an ugly deaf maid...

DOVIE ABBOTT: Well, the truth hurts.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: How would you feel if someone said that about you?

DOVIE ABBOTT: What? That I’m an ugly deaf maid? I’d laugh because it’ll never happen.

ZELLA CHADWICK: Dovie, I think you’re missing the point. You should say hurtful things if you wouldn’t want people to say hurtful things back.

BELLAMY KNOX: Can we eat now?

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Yes!

BELLAMY KNOX: What is this...?

FREYA HAWTHORNE: I’m going to get some cereal. Anyone want anything while I’m up? No? Okay.

They all EAT in SILENCE. Then put all of the FOOD in the KITCHEN.

EXT. THE BODY OF WATER - AFTERNOON

Zella, Dovie, and Freya are LAYING on shore by the BODY OF WATER. Oakley and Bellamy are INSIDE the BODY OF WATER.

BELLAMY KNOX: I thought you guys said you were going to swim.

DOVIE ABBOTT: We did and we will but we want to absorb the sun’s rays on our skin first. Is that okay with you?

BELLAMY KNOX: No

Bellamy PICKS Dovie up OVER his SHOULDER and CARRIES her into the WATER.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Bellamy PUT ME DOWN!!!

Bellamy PUTS her DOWN in WATER.

DOVIE ABBOTT (CONT’D): Are you happy now?

Dovie GETS OUT of the WATER.

DOVIE ABBOTT (CONT’D): The water is nice after laying in the sun. It’s a nice cool down. Thanks, babe!

BELLAMY KNOX: Anytime, baby!

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Hey, Freya...you should...get in with us.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: In a little bit? I’m enjoying sunbathing right now...which you two could also do.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Did you put sunscreen on?

FREYA HAWTHORNE No. Did you?

OAKLEY UPTOWN: No. You’re going to be so sunburnt at the end of the day.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: It’s okay. So, will you.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Come on, Bellamy. Lets go explore something.

BELLAMY KNOX: Like what?

OAKLEY UPTOWN: I don’t know. Whatever we can find...leave these lame asses here. Bellamy and Oakley swim away.

ZELLA CHADWICK: I wonder where they’re going.

DOVIE ABBOTT: I don’t really care. They need a bromance. Bellamy is too far up my ass. I can’t breath.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: This sun feels so good.

ZELLA CHADWICK: It does. I could take a nap.

EXT. THE CABIN / HOUSE - AFTERNOON

Claudia arrives BACK to the HOUSE, TAKING all of the GROCERIES INSIDE to the kitchen.

INT. KITCHEN - AFTERNOON

Claudia puts groceries away, she hears a noise outside and goes to look out back door window.

INT. BACK DOOR - AFTERNOON

Claudia SEES Freya, Zella, and Dovie OUTSIDE by the body of water THROUGH the WINDOW of the BACK DOOR. She watches them for a few minutes, then goes back to the kitchen.

EXT. THE BODY OF WATER - AFTERNOON

DOVIE ABBOTT: What do you guys think about Dia?

FREYA HAWTHORNE: No. We’re not talking bad about her again.

DOVIE ABBOTT: No, really. She kind of gives me and unsettling feelings.

ZELLA CHADWICK: I wasn’t going to say anything but same.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Yeah. She’s a bit odd. I’m not sure why she was hired but we didn’t hire here so we can’t really do much about it but complain.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Yes. Do that. Complain. Tell the owner, whatever his name is, that the maid he hired is fucking weird and creepy and he needs a new one.

Bellamy and Oakley return.

BELLAMY KNOX: Whatcha talkin about?

DOVIE ABBOTT: We’re talking about Dia and her bizarre behavior.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Yeah. I don’t know how I feel about her either. She’s different...unique.

Claudia is WATCHING them from the WOODS, a few hundred feet away, with a SHOVEL in her hands. She DESCENDS further into the WOODS after a few moments of watching them.

Freya LOOKS in the DIRECTION that Claudia was standing. She sees nothing. Zella LOOKS with Freya. Bellamy SPLASHES the three of them with WATER.

DOVIE ABBOTT: What the fuck was that for? You’re literally so fucking annoying, dude. Piss off.

BELLAMY KNOX: A distraction from the heavy conversation we just walked into.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Honestly, it was cold but it was a pleasant cool feeling. A breath of fresh air from the heat of the sun.

ZELLA CHADWICK: Yeah. I agree.

Oakley STARES at Freya as she LAYS in the SUN. Bellamy and Oakley have a SOFT conversation

BELLAMY KNOX: Dude, just ask her.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Bro, I can’t.

BELLAMY KNOX: Why not?

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Because I don’t want to ruin what we already have.

BELLAMY KNOX (loud whisper): Hey Freya Hawthorne ...

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Huh? What?

Bellamy Knox SHOVES Oakley Uptown.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: You should...you should get in the water with m-us!

BELLAMY KNOX: Yeah, Dovie, baby, come here. Come to papa!

ZELLA CHADWICK: It’s fine, you guys. I don’t want to be in the water anyways. It’s okay. I'm good. I’ll just stay here all by myself. Don’t even worry about me!

DOVIE ABBOTT: Bitch, chill. We’re not going in. We’re not leaving you...So STOP asking!

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Geez Dove. Maybe I want to go in. Zel, do you want to come with?

ZELLA CHADWICK: No babe, It’s all good. I was just giving them a hard time. Plus I really, really don’t like bugs...or a lot of things in nature. What if there are snakes in the water...no thank you!

EXT. BACK DOOR - EVENING

Claudia returns to the house with a DIRTY SHOVEL and DIRTY BOOTS. She LEAVES both ITEMS outside BY the BACK DOOR before entering the house.

INT. HALLWAY - EVENING

Claudia WALKS to BATHROOM and TURNS on SHOWER.

EXT. THE BODY OF WATER - EVENING

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Okay...This water really isn’t that bad. But you’re right it’s kind of gross and I’m hungry. Do you guys want to go back up and see if there is stuff to make sandwiches or something?

ZELLA CHADWICK: Yeah, I’m down!

DOVIE ABBOTT: Only if it’s peanut butter and grape jam!

EXT. BACK DOOR - EVENING

BELLAMY KNOX: Oakley, wanna race to the door?

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Oh yeah? Like we used to in sixth grade to the cafeteria? Bet! Lets go!

Bellamy and Oakley are the first two at the door. Zella, Dovie, and Freya follow shortly behind.

BELLAMY KNOX: Were these here before?

OAKLEY UPTOWN: I don’t know. I don’t recall seeing them...or not seeing them.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Yo, what the fuck is that?

ZELLA CHADWICK: Well, obviously it’s a shovel and boots. Where it came from, I don’t know.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Come on guys, don’t touch anything...

INT. KITCHEN - EVENING

Claudia is freshly SHOWERED and in the kitchen COOKING. Students ENTER through BACK DOOR.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Welcome back! I hope you had a relaxing day in the sun. I know I sure did! I’m starting a little garden on the side of the house!

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Oh, okay. So that’s what the shovel and boots was from.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Yes, silly. What did you think I was going to do? Bury a body? Heavens no!

FREYA HAWTHORNE: O...kay...Well we’re going to get showered and wash out wet suits and we’ll be back for dinner.

INT. HALLWAY - EVENING

All students ENTER their BEDROOMS, SHOWER, then walk out holding their swimsuits.

INT. LAUNDRY ROOM - EVENING

Each student TOSSES all of their SWIMSUITS and TOWELS into the WASHER, then go to the living room. Freya is the last. Freya STARTS the WASHER.

INT. KITCHEN - EVENING

Claudia is putting food on plates. Zella enters looking for something to drink.

ZELLA CHADWICK: What is there to drink around here besides water?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: I bought some stuff at the store. Here take a look in the pantry!

ZELLA CHADWICK: Thank you!

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: You’re welcome! HEY! GUYS! DINNER IS READY! COME EAT!

INT. KITCHEN TABLE - EVENING

Students SITS down at TABLE. Claudia PUTS a PLATE in front of each of them. Freya gets up to get a drink.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Does anyone want something to drink?

All shakes head, yes.

ZELLA CHADWICK: There are some really good stuff in the pantry that Dia bought today.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Thanks, Zel.

Freya comes back with a drink for each of them.

FREYA HAWTHORNE (CONT'D): I didn’t know what you guys wanted so I brought a variety. Thank you for dinner, Dia.

ZELLA CHADWICK Yes, thank you.

PHONE rings.

DOVIE ABBOTT: What the fuck is that ringing? I swear to god, if I hear this phone ringing one more time I’m going to throw it into the water. What the fuck is it? It has got to be yours because it’s none of ours.

CLAUDIA ASHFORD Mine? I don’t think so?

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Oh shit! Sorry, my mom is calling me. I’ll be right back.

Freya LEAVES. Another PHONE rings.

DOVIE ABBOTT: Oh, for fucks sake. Whose phone is that? PHONE continues. So, nobody is going to get that? Okay cool. If you’ll excuse me for a moment. I need some air...or some drugs or something.

Dovie goes out back.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: This is really good. Thanks, Dia!

Freya RETURNS.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Where’s Dovie Abbott ?

BELLAMY KNOX: She got mad at the phone’s ringing and went outside.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: Oh. My bad!. Hey Dia! I’m curious. Is Dia short for something?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Yes. I was named after my mother so, as I grew up, I was always called Dia, just so we knew who was talking to who.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: What was your mom’s name?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Clau- I mean Dahlia.

ZELLA CHADWICK: Dahlia is such a pretty name.

OAKLEY UPTOWN: Who’s Claudia?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Claudia?

OAKLEY UPTOWN: You were were you just about to say Claudia, not? Who is she?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Oh, Claudia. Yes. I apologize. She’s hard to talk about. She was my twin sister.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: “Was”?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Yes. She passed away a few years ago.

FREYA HAWTHORNE: What happened?

CLAUDIA ASHFORD: Well a few years ago she invited meto dinner and I hadn’t seen her in like 10 years...

HorrorScript

About the Creator

Madelynn Bilbrey

Hello! I am a college student pursuing performing arts. I hope to be able to take the skills I learn to pursue a career in the film industry. I have always enjoyed writing and I hope you enjoy what I share with the you!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Madelynn BilbreyWritten by Madelynn Bilbrey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.