Fiction logo

Cats that don't like the sun

"Drizzle, drizzle ......"

By Stephane PerezPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

"Drizzle, drizzle ......"

It doesn't rain much in spring, and the drizzle knocks on the bear's heart, summoning him that it's time to get up.

The bear, a little groggy from the winter, woke up in a dimly lit cave and unexpectedly found a tiny clump.

It was a curled up cat.

"Who are you?"

"I'm the cat."

"Why are you here?"

"Bear, it's so cold in the winter that it's freezing to walk outside."

"It's spring now, it's not that cold."

"Good bear, there is no food outside now, please take me in!"

The bear took a look at his stash of food, which had gone down by a large margin, and the bear was just about to get angry.

"Please." The cat looked aggrieved, big watery eyes staring at the bear, seemed about to cry.

"Then you'll eat less in the future, where is the cat that eats more than the bear?"

So the cat stayed in the bear's house.

"Bear, I want to eat honey, a big jar of that kind!" The cat licked its paw.

The bear went out, and after a while, the bear with a face full of bags came back with a big jar of honey.

"Bear, how come you've gotten fat in one round out there?"

"Eat less honey, you'll regret it when you've lost all your teeth!"

"You don't need to use your teeth to eat honey ......" the cat slyly argued and ran off with the jar of honey in his arms.

"Bear, I want to eat dried small fish, the crispy kind!" The cat ran over again and shook the bear.

"Cat, do you do anything else besides eat?"

"Besides eating, I will also drink and shit ......"

"In addition to these?"

"Will these be enough ......," the cat came over and rubbed the bear good-naturedly.

The bear sighed: "I'm afraid you're a waste cat."

"There's nothing wrong with being a fat cat." Apparently, the cat misheard "waste".

"Cat, it's spring, it's a beautiful day outside, you should go out for a walk!"

The cat ate the dried fish, tossed the sting aside, and burped.

"Cat, I'm talking to you, are you listening?" The bear aggravated his tone of voice.

"Bear, you're really nagging me too much, more than my grandmother."

"Are you going to be a house cat? How sad!" Bear spoke bitterly to the cat.

"The meaning of life is to spend it in vain. Look at everyone's busy life, in the end, isn't it all about doing nothing and enjoying life?"

"That's only for those who have capital." Bear a bit of hate.

"I have you well." The cat ran over and scratched the bear and ran away again.

"Cat, I've planted a flower outside, do you want to water it with me?" The bear came back to invite the cat.

Cat was a little hesitant, she wanted to go out and water the flower with Bear, it must be a very nice thing to do, but she had some worries.

"Cat, I bet it's a beautiful flower, let's go water it together and wait for it to bloom!"

"Are you sure you're not chasing me away?" The cat stared into the bear's eyes.

"Oh, so that's what you've been worried about! Don't worry, I just want you to go out in the sun."

The cat carefully went out of the cave, and the blinding sunlight outside made the cat back up again and again.

"Cat, come here." Bear called to her from a distance.

The cat shaded her eyes and staggered over to the bear and watered the flowers with him, but in fact the cat's heart was still happy.

"Look, it's so nice to come out and get some sunshine, the sun is so nice, you can't waste it ......"

Before the bear finished, the cat ran back to the cave.

"What a strange cat." The bear continued to fiddle with the flowers.

In this way, the bear and the cat lived together for several months.

Of course, the cat hardly went out, and occasionally went out with the bear to water the flowers.

The bear would often get some honey, occasionally go down to the river to touch some fish, and sometimes go to the market to buy some small snacks, all of which the cat liked to eat.

"Cat, summer is coming, I have to go to the next village to buy some rainproof things, otherwise our cave will be flooded."

"Good, if you can bring back more snacks, that would be even better!" The cat giggled.

"I will, Cat, just wait for me!" The bear said and went out the door.

"Clap, clap, clap ......"

The bear hadn't been gone long when it started to rain heavily.

"No good, no good, it's raining so hard, the flowers I planted with the bear are still outside!" The cat was anxious, but did not dare to go out.

The rain got heavier and heavier, and the cat couldn't care less about that and rushed straight into the storm.

"Why is it raining so hard all of a sudden?" The bear hid under a tree to avoid the rain.

But the rain didn't seem to be stopping, and it was getting heavier and heavier.

"The cat is still at home, she must be terrified, no, I must hurry back!"

The bear rushed into the rain and made a mad dash for home.

"Cat? Are you home? Cat!" The bear shouted from outside before he even entered the door.

But there was no response.

The bear rushed into the cave and searched everywhere, but there was no sign of the cat.

"Cat, where did you go?" Bear shouted at the rainstorm.

But the bear got no response except the sound of the rain.

The sky cleared up.

The bear asked around for the cat's whereabouts.

"Do you know a cat? She's about this big and likes honey and crunchy little dried fish."

"All cats like those things, right? You're not going to find her like that, Bear."

"O bear, a cat that small in a storm that big yesterday might have been blown away by the wind, so you go down the hill with the wind and look for her."

The bear did not give up and searched for the cat down the mountain path.

"Excuse me, do you know a cat? A very strange cat, she likes to hide in caves and doesn't like the sun."

"That's very strange indeed, where is the cat that doesn't like to bask in the sun ......"

"By the way, I know a cat, but it is very similar to what you said."

"Is that so? Where is it? Can you take me there, please? I would be very grateful to you!"

"I'm afraid I can't take you there. ...... The cat, born with eye disease, can't see in bright places, the cat's mother disliked her so much that she left her in the care of her grandmother ...... "

"Ah?" Bear suddenly know some unknown secrets.

"Then the cat's grandmother died, no one to take care of her, just last winter, she disappeared, everyone does not know where she ran to, Mr. Bear, did you meet her?"

"I'm sorry ah cat, I did not know these things, I ...... "Bear is very sad, remembering the previous events very self-condemnation.

"No, I have to cheer up, the cat must be waiting for me somewhere! She must be very anxious!"

So the bear went on his way and continued his search for the cat.

But, as is often the case, the more you try to find her, the less you find her.

The bear searched almost all the nearby villages, but found no trace of the cat.

Thus, the summer passed, and the bear still had not found the cat.

Autumn was about to pass, and the bear still had not found the cat.

"Bear, it's going to be winter, prepare food for the winter, maybe, maybe the cat is in another great cave, eating happily!" Everyone came to advise the bear.

"No! The cat must be waiting for me, she's waiting for me to find her!"

Everyone said that the bear was a bit possessed.

The bear did nothing but look for the cat all day. If this goes on, the bear will not even make it through the winter, let alone find the cat.

"Hoo hoo hoo, hoo hoo hoo ......"

The wind carried the snowflakes down, and it was winter.

The bear disappeared, no one knows where he went, everyone said, the bear went to find the cat.

Others say, don't be silly, the cat may have died long ago, the bear has refused to accept the reality, hiding in some unknown cave, never to come out again.

In one of the caves, the dusty bear burrowed in, shaking the snow off his body.

"Who are you?" A familiar voice suddenly came out of the darkness.

"I'm a bear." The bear's voice trembled a little.

"How are you ...... you here?" Obviously, the other side is also a bit incredulous.

"Cat, it's snowing outside, and it's freezing me straight."

"Then, then I'll take you in!" The cat pounced, "Bear! My favorite bear, I thought, I'll never see you again!"

"Silly cat, I promised you that I would come back and bring you snacks, look." Bear pulled out a small bag with honey and crunchy little dried fish inside.

"Bear, I'm sorry I couldn't protect our flower, it was blown away by the storm, I searched for half a day without finding it and got lost myself ......"

"Don't say that, cat, we met again, didn't we?"

"Bear, I missed you so much ......"

"Cat, I've brought you a cool present!" Bear pulled something out of his pocket and gave it to Cat.

"Wow, this is a superb sunglass, I love it, thank you, Bear!"

The cat put on the sunglasses and jumped and jumped around the bear.

Maybe next spring you'll see a bear and a cat wearing sunglasses planting flowers, and I'm sure when their flowers bloom, they'll be very pretty!

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Stephane Perez

I hope you like my story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.