Fiction logo

But I Thought You Loved Me

A story in one minute

By Jacinta MudiePublished 22 days ago 3 min read
Like

A lot can happen in one minute, a person can die, or be born, they can win everything or lose it all. I never thought I'd experience the last one.

"But I thought you loved me," I take a step back.

"I did," he hangs his head.

"What happened? What did I do?" My voice choked up as my eyes filled with tears.

"I don't know, I just realised that I didn’t want this anymore," he hangs his head.

"Well, thanks a lot," I run out of the church, tears falling down my cheeks and leaving our families behind. I decide not to look back at my no longer husband-to-be. How could I face that? In just thirty seconds I lost the love of my life and now my whole life is just gone. What do you do when you've planned a future with someone and they just end it? I get in the limo that’s waiting outside and look back at the church one last time. Not even a minute has passed as we pull away and I leave everything behind. That's when the flames started.

I lost my whole family and all of my friends on my wedding day. In just one minute, I was dumped at the altar and the church went up in flames. The doors were blocked and everyone died. They said it was a candle, too close to a curtain. How did one candle and one minute ruin my life?

~~~~

I loved her, once. She was my everything. I looked at her and saw the most beautiful woman. I saw our whole lives together and wanted nothing more, but as I watched her walk down the aisle I realised that I didn't want it anymore. "I'm sorry," I tell her.

"but I thought you loved me?" she steps away and I almost feel relieved.

"I did," I said.

I regret that now that I’m crawling on the floor. I see my mother and crawl to her, coughing as smoke fills my lungs and not in the good way. I laugh thinking about the pack of cigarettes in my pocket. But I just inhale more smoke. I'm going to die, I think. At least she'll live.

~~~~

I watch my daughter run out the door and get up to follow her. But my husband grabs my hand. He looks at me and says, "Let her go," so I do. I know that she’ll want to be alone to sort through her feelings first before I talk to her. I walk up to the altar and face everyone.

"It seems that the wedding will not go as planned, thank you all for coming, but we should go now," I say, but as I walk back down, I knock over one of the candles and the whole curtain goes up in flames and I watch in horror as my dress also catches fire. Everyone rushes to me and the fire spreads. It's a stampede to the door, but I just scream.

~~~~

I look at her face and my heart aches, I’ve loved her secretly for years. I watched them be happy, sad, angry and happy again. When I agreed to be the best man I thought maybe she’d look at me and realise that I was the one she wanted to marry. But I didn’t want this. She walks away and I want to run after her, tell her how I feel, but I let her go. Maybe if it’s meant to be, it’ll happen. I grab his arm and pull him to face me, “How could you do that to her?” I ask, “She deserves so much better than that,” I see her mother walking up the steps to the altar.

“It would have been worse if I went through with it,” he says looking down.

I don’t even notice the flames at first. I just keep thinking about her and I’m so angry on her behalf that by the time I look up and see everyone running to the door it’s too late. I drop to the floor, but my suit catches fire and the pain is blinding. I hear screams and realise that they’re mine. The last thought I have is about her, I just want her.

LoveShort StoryHorror
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatOne_Girl21 days ago

    woah

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.