Fiction logo

Blades Free Weekend

A chapter from The Broken by Kelsey Wood

By Kelsey Ranae WoodPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1
Blades Free Weekend
Photo by Taylor on Unsplash

It’s been a long day, I thought as I finally turned onto my street. Oddly quit too. I don’t even recall seeing Edgar and Destiny at lunch or the rest of the day now that I think about it. They must have done me the honor of skipping school right before lunch. Although I didn’t see them, it didn’t stop me from feeling paranoid all day. I kept thinking I'd come around a corner and run right into one or both of them and get the whole day's worth of torture then and there. It made for a very long and stressful day.

Making my way up the street I pulled out the cheap cell phone I was required to have with me at all times and set up the forty-five-minute timer. Getting it ready for when I walked in the door. However, as I approached the sidewalk leading to the front door I noticed two things. First, a note taped to the door that was clearly written in mothers handwriting. The second was a large box wrapped in brown paper.

I peeled the note from the door and read it. “Blade. Call David the moment you step inside the house. No sooner. No later. Or there will be severe consequences! -Vivian”

Frowning, I shoved the note into my pocket, grabbed the box, and went inside. The moment I closed the door I had my phone out and dialed my fathers' number. While it rang I pulled the note back out and read it again. I began to wonder, yet again, why my adoptive parents never allowed me to call them mom and dad or even mother and father when we were not in the presence of an outsider, but I pushed away from the thought as I remembered the consequences of doing so even by mistake.

After the third ring father answered the phone, already sounding annoyed.

“Are you in the house?” He asked accusingly.

“Yes sir. Do you have any special instructions for me before I get started on dinner?” I tried to keep my voice low and calm, as not to agitate him further.

“Lock the front door and go into my bedroom.” I was quick to follow instructions. It seemed he could hear the squeak of his and mother's bedroom door because he continued without me having to ask.

“There is a keypad next to the bathroom door. Type in seven-seven-six-one-nine-five.” The beep of each button was annoyingly loud. Once it was entered a robotic voice stated that an alarm had been turned on. As to answer my unasked questions, father lowered his voice making it clear that what he was about to say needed to be listened to very carefully.

“We are out of town for the weekend. You are not to leave the house for any reason. I will know if you leave because there are two codes for that alarm. One to arm it and another to disarm it. So open the front or back door and it will set it off. Open a window and it will set it off. And let me make myself very clear if you set off that alarm and we have to come home early. I, Vivian, and Edgar will all take turns making use of that new scourge. Do you understand?”

His words made my blood run cold. Images of the scourge father bought last week flashed into my mind and I almost stopped breathing. “Yes sir. Do not leave the house for any reason.”

With that father ended the call. I fell to my knees and put my fist to my chest to calm the oncoming panic attack. I ended up curling up into a ball on the floor for several minutes before I was able to completely calm down. Once I was able to think rationally again, I remembered that I needed to call work and let them know what was going on.

My manager wasn’t happy that I was calling last minute to let her know that I wasn’t going to be able to work all weekend, but was completely understanding once I explained to her that I had gotten just as much notice as she had.

“Well, if you need extra shifts to make up for this weekend let me know and I'll schedule for double shifts all weekend next week.” She said, sympathy coming through the phone clear as day. After thanking her and ending the call, I went back to the living room to collect my backpack.

As I turned to head towards my room, I caught sight of the large box again. There was a name written on the top, but I didn’t look long enough to see if it was for mother, father, or Edgar. If I had to guess it would be for my mother. She is always ordering new clothes, shoes, or handbags online. However, I have far too much homework to worry about if she got new shoes or if Edgar got another new gaming system.

Three hours later I was halfway into my assigned novel for AP English and two pages of notes into my science project when I decided to take my chances at stealing a cold bottle of water from the kitchen. Unfortunately for me, there was a padlock on the refrigerator. Feeling annoyed I grabbed a plastic cup from the cabinet intending to just get some tap water from my bathroom sink.

Walking through the living room I saw the large box again. This time seeing clearly the name written on it: “To the lovely Blade Buckley”. The words were written in cursive letters. I looked around to see if there were cameras hidden somewhere in the house. I checked every corner of every room. Surely one of my family members set up some kind of cruel torture device inside the box and had cameras somewhere so they could watch their evil joke unfold, but to my surprise, I didn’t find a single camera anywhere.

Dumbfounded, I walk back into the living room and look down at the extremely suspicious package again. I gave it a small kick with the side of my foot and when it didn’t do anything, I decided it was safe enough to pick up. The brown paper it was wrapped in felt the same as the paper bags we use at work. It wasn’t incredibly too heavy but definitely had some weight to it. I couldn’t guess what was inside by shaking it either. The only sound I heard sounded like some kind of fabric rubbing against the inside of the box.

I decided against opening it for now and just carried it to my room, leaving it to sit in the farthest corner away from me. I finished my notes for my science project and decided to go to bed. I changed into my worn-out and patched pajamas then went to the bathroom to take off my makeup. The bruise on my neck is healing nicely, but the ones on my chin and under my eye are still pretty dark. I walk back into my room and glance at the box again before climbing into my cot.

I turn away from the wall with a groan. My whole body aches. I stretch and grab my phone to check what time it is. Three in the morning. I let out another groan. Getting up I nearly trip over my bag on the way to the bathroom. I stop to fumble around inside for the pain medication I got from Lilly. Inside the bathroom, I decide to leave the light off in the hopes that I won’t wake myself up further. I turn on the faucet and fill my cup with water. I take a few sips before I take two pain pills. I leave my cup sitting next to the sink and make my way back to my cot.

I toss and turn for about 2 hours trying to get back to sleep. Finally, I give up and get up to turn on my bedroom light. The light blinds me for a moment. At first, I had decided to just go ahead and do more of my homework, but I caught sight of the box again. I open my bag and find the hidden zipper and undo it. Digging around my forbidden items I finally found the letter opener I had bought from a thrift store a few years ago. It was small and gold with an image of a wolf engraved on it and small green gems going all the way around the wolf.

Grabbing the box and carrying it to my cot, I carefully rip away the paper. So far so good. Taking a deep breath, I use my letter opener to cut the tape keeping the box closed. Still, nothing happened. I let out the breath I was holding in and opened the lips of the box. Again, nothing happened. Inside, what looked like a very large purple hoodie was sitting right on top. Odd. Who would give me clothes? Brand new ones at that. My family certainly wouldn’t have. I've had to buy from thrift stores ever since I was old enough to have a job and even before then, mother would always make me wear the clothes Edgar was either too big for or didn’t want.

Removing the hoodie I saw there was another box inside sitting on top of what looked like a blanket. I set the hoodie and the second box aside. Pulling out the blanket, I got so excited. It was also purple and had large images of the moon in every phase. I wrapped it around me, enjoying the warmth of it. A moment later I placed the empty box on the floor and grabbed the second one. I opened it with as much caution as the first. Inside it sitting right next to a brand new cell phone box and on top of a brand new laptop box sat an envelope. My name is written in the same handwriting as the brown paper that now sits on the floor at my feet. I set the box aside again and hold the envelope in my hands.

Turning the envelope over in one hand, I use the other to open it with the letter opener. I brace myself for possibly reading that this was all a joke set up by Edgar and slip the paper out of the envelope. When I unfold it I realize that there is no way Edgar wrote this. The writing is beautiful cursive. Like it had been written with careful hand strokes.

“Dearest blade,

You are probably confused by all of these gifts, but rest assured. They are all yours to keep. You do not know me. Yet, that is. The hoodie and blanket are because I noticed how thin your sweater was for this cold weather. The phone because yours is clearly cheap and falling apart. It is paid for and set up through my account. So do not worry about the bill on it. The laptop is because I heard that most of your classes are online since you are on the fast track to graduate early, but you must use the school's computers to get your work done. So hopefully this will make things easier on you. We will meet soon.

-Your secret admirer”

Sucking in a breath and reread the letter again and again. I can’t believe someone had decided to do all this for me. I didn't trust it. I ran my hand over the boxes that held the laptop and phone. I opened both boxes and tucked them with the chargers into my bag. Then I cleaned up the mess. Pulling on the hoodie and turning my light off. I quickly fell asleep in the warmth of the blanket and large hoodie, very happy.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Kelsey Ranae Wood

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.