Fiction logo

barbecue

The smell of barbecue has lost its luster

By Parton BTangPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Memory of the barbecue, is in the Ziqiang middle School at the gate of a stall, the owner of the wife every night at six o 'clock on time to set up the stall, and then the charcoal ash rubbed up, with wood to light the carbon, scattered a little Mars, and then put a variety of baked ingredients, sea cabbage, potatoes, ham sausage, beef. Once my grandmother gave me some pocket money, I would go to the stall with my friends to eat two strings, a string of sea cabbage, a string of ham sausage. Every time I saw ham mixed with chili, popping in the Mars, my heart would be very excited, and then my partners and I would go around the stall, eager to eat this itching delicious. So, often think of, I will swallow saliva, and then stretched out longer than the nose, want to smell the smell of gray smoke.

Time flies, a few years later, my attachment to barbecue has not diminished, but more urgent. Although there are no stalls at the gate of Ziqiang Middle School, there are more and more barbecue shops, which are becoming more and more popular. My most impressive time to eat barbecue, is in Weiyuan River in a name of fat big sister barbecue shop, that day is August 15, the moon in the sky dim yellow, like a baked egg. I took the plate, put a bunch of potatoes, sea cabbage, ham, beef, sausage in it, finally filled the plate, think about a mouthful. I sat back down in my seat, skinning and itching. Serving speed is too slow, three uncle even asked a few; "Is our barbecue ready yet?" The master said, "Almost fast, just wait for two minutes." But it was a long two minutes, and I couldn't bear it anymore. I started hanging around the grill again, staring at the glistening grease and white MSG. Finally eat! I picked up a bunch of potatoes, Wolf swallow, and then looked at the dish each fragrant string, wish to eat all into the stomach. May be I eat too fierce, sister beep mouth, dissatisfaction, afraid I give her share to eat.

Just a few days ago, I went to Zhengzhou. It was August, and it was very hot. I am in a town, often in the evening, the night market is active, a malatang stalls are put out. This malatang is very similar to barbecue, which also skewers the ingredients and then cooks them in a hot pot. It is very attractive. After a few days, I could not help it, just went to a booth, want to taste this kind of foreign "barbecue", this string cooked quickly, not a few minutes, I picked a white egg, slowly eat up. Even after a few bites, I felt that it could not match the taste of barbecue. With a little regret, I ate a few more skewers, but I did not feel that way anymore. I began to miss barbecue.

Finally, I have a long time to eat barbecue, it is two days before school, I could not help but point a plate, leisurely sitting on the position, smelling the thick incense in the gray smoke, waiting for the barbecue end. Looking at the crowd, I thought of the small booth on the road, the moon of the Mid-Autumn Festival that day. Eat the barbecue plate, I can not help but frown, this is not the taste of barbecue, although it still has layers of bright red pepper, a drop of crystal clear sesame oil, a little bit of slightly yellowed corners, also scattered out of the taste of gray smoke. But the smell is gone. In the next few days, I went back to eat, in several places, but still can't find the taste of barbecue. I gradually lose heart, eat less, may be my mouth to eat too much, the taste of barbecue has already min everyone.

Maybe after a while, I suddenly go to eat, maybe can recover the taste of barbecue, but at least now not, and I don't know whether I will go to eat barbecue, because its taste has changed, changed the taste, can be found back?

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.