Fiction logo

Asiphe's Wild Hair

Loving your body

By yonela mtsiPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like
Asiphe's Wild Hair
Photo by Ben Masora on Unsplash

Asiphe is sitting by the school gate and playing with stones. Asiphe has an afro. A shadow blocks the sun and she looks up. Her big brother is standing in front of her. “Time to go, kid,” he says, taking her backpack. She stands up and they walk away. He is wearing his school uniform and carrying two backpacks. He is in the big school. Asiphe counts in her head how long she has to wait to be in his class. ‘One, two, three, four, five years!’ She still has a long way to go.

Asiphe is looking down and kicking stones. This is not a nice thing to do. Her mother will not be happy. She always tells her brother that kicking stones makes shoes tear. It ruins shoes. She doesn’t mean to do it but she can’t help it. “Linda,” Her brother looks at her. “Yeah?” Asiphe is quiet. “Asiphe, what is wrong?” She shakes her head. “You are kicking stones, smarty pants,” Asiphe stops kicking stones, “Yes, I know. I stopped, I’m sorry, I know I shouldn’t,” Linda stops walking and stands in front of her. “Talk to me,” She looks up at him. He is tall. “Is my hair wild?” she asks. “Who said your hair is wild?” he asks with concern. “Some of the girls in my class said hair should be silky. Hair should not be bad like my wild hair,” She touches her hair. “Do you want me to tell mom?” She smiles and says, “That’s okay, I know what to do,” Her brother laughs and asks her, “And what is that?” She straightens up and says firmly, “I have to do a show and tell for class and I will show them my hair,” Her brother laughs and gives her a high five.

At school the next day, the teacher tells Asiphe to go to the front of the class. It is her turn to do a presentation for show-and-tell. Asiphe goes and stands in front of the class. She is wearing her favourite pink dress. “I love my hair. My hair is big and strong.” She flexes her right arm.” It is very soft. It feels like my mother’s hug when I touch it.” She says, hugging herself tightly. She looks around and all eyes are on her. “When I fall, it protects my head from hurting. It is very good because it does not go anywhere when it is windy.” She pats her head. “My hair is not wild. It stays in one place.” She turns to look at her teacher who is standing next to the board. “I love my big hair as it is. Thank you,” She takes a bow and goes back to her seat with a big smile on her face.

"They loved it, they loved my hair!" Asiphe shouts when she walks into the house. "What?" Her mother asks, not knowing what she's talking about. Asiphe hops on the chair and drops her backpack on the floor. She looks at her mother, smiling from ear to ear, "Well, you see mom, the other children in my class kept teasing me about my hair," Her mother gasps, "they're teasing you? I'm going to see your teacher -" "But mom," Asiphe interrupts, "you don't have to. I did a show and tell about my hair and all the students wanted to touch my hair" Her mother smiles, "Okay, that's great news," Asiphe touches her hair," So you see mom, I handled it. They wouldn't stop telling me how soft it is," Asiphe laughs.

SeriesYoung AdultShort StoryFan Fictionfamily
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.