Fiction logo

As We Walk

One day at a time

By Shanice LawtonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
8
As We Walk
Photo by Sean Oulashin on Unsplash

I sat under the big oak tree in our background as the sun kissed my brown skin. I loved days like this where the sky was a bright blue, and there were no clouds in sight. This tree is where my mother and father found me when I was five. I remember she and dad were worried and sobbed once they found me. They said I needed to let them know whenever I wanted to go somewhere.

This tree has become my haven.

I spent many summer days with mom here playing pretend and many summer nights camping under this tree with dad.

I laid back under the tree, allowing its long branches to wrap me in its shade. Slowly I drifted off to sleep.

"Honey, wake up. You fell asleep again under the tree," I heard mom's voice.

Slowly opening my eyes, "mom?" I spoke.

"Yes, honey, come and get up now," Mom said. So I sat up and took her hand to help me stand up.

"Today is so beautiful. I love days like this. Let's go for a walk down by the beach, dear," she said.

"Okay, I love our walks together," I said.

She linked her arm in mine, and we walked down to the beach. A slight breeze picked up and blew my hair in my face. I stopped for a moment to put my hair in a ponytail, and we continued. The seagulls flew high in the sky, looking for food to steal. There were families on the beach soaking in the sun and having picnics.

"Mom, how did you know where to find me?" I asked.

"My dear, I'm your mother. I know more about you than you think. When you're sad or in deep thought, that tree is your favorite spot. You can hide from the world until you have figured out a solution," she said.

"Well, this problem doesn't have a solution. I can't think of any solutions. Reading didn't even help, and usually getting lost in a book leads me to the solution," I said. We had to step closer to the shore as a runner called out to get past us.

"Some situations don't require an immediate solution. However, sometimes it takes time to get to the solution," she responded.

"I don't think I can handle this situation. This is the hardest situation I have ever encountered. I don't think I'm strong enough," I said.

She stopped and turned to face the ocean. She took a deep breath and nodded for me to watch the ocean with her. We stood there for a few moments before she spoke.

"Life is going to throw you some curveballs, my dear. You'll laugh and cry throughout life. There will be times when you feel you have the whole world on your shoulders. The key is to take life one day at a time. Don't borrow tomorrow's worries. Instead, focus on what you need to do today, and then tomorrow, you'll focus on tomorrow. Look how freely the fish swim in the sea. They could be snatched up at any time by humans or the birds in the sky, and yet they continue to swim and show their beautiful colors. You can't let the unknown future stop you from experiencing what the day holds for you," she said.

"I wish it weren't this hard. But, I will try to take it one day at a time," I said.

"Yes, and you know your father, and I love you very much. You're never alone even when you think you are, remember I will always be here, and your father will be there too," she said.

"Thank you, mom. You always know what to say," I responded.

"Awe, sweetheart, we should start back to the house; it's getting late," she said.

We turned and began our trip back to the house. We walked in silence on the way back. I let myself marinate in the conversation we had.

"Mom, I want to be by the tree for a little to think about our conversation some more before going inside," I said.

"Okay, dear, you're growing up so fast into an amazing young woman. You'll always be my little girl, though. I will always love you beyond the end of time. Also, pay attention to the time you have a big event coming up," she said.

"I love you too, mom. I promise I won't be late," I said.

She hugged me and walked back to the house. I sat back against the tree and thought about our conversation.

"Sofie, wake up; you've been sleeping all day under this tree. If we don't leave for your mother's memorial right now, we're going to be late," I felt my dad shaking me.

"Huh? Oh, it was a dream," I said.

"What was a dream?" dad asked.

"Oh, nothing," I said.

I stood up and straightened my dress out, and picked up my book. I decided to take my mother's advice and take it one day at a time.

family
8

About the Creator

Shanice Lawton

I love writing and I want to be able to entertain as many people as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.