Fiction logo

Coven of the Moon

Serena Crimson

By Shanice LawtonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
4
Coven of the Moon
Photo by Kym MacKinnon on Unsplash

It's a day I'll never forget. No witch ever forgets the day she came into herself. It was like any other typical day. I worked on my chores and listened to Taylor Swift's new album. I was dusting the living room and trying to ensure I did it right, or my mom would make me do it again. Mom was cleaning the kitchen. She was the only one allowed to deep clean it because no one could do it the way she liked, and she said it was her happy place.

All of a sudden, I began to feel hot. I figured it was because of moving around, so I took my top shirt off. Unfortunately, It didn't help, and sweat began to drip from my head. Fanning myself while taking a break was a fail. I eventually laid on the cool floor to try and cool myself off. The heat just kept getting worse, and I didn't know what was happening.

"Mom!" I screamed out as I lay on the floor, rocking back and forth. Then, I heard my mother's footsteps as she raced to the living room.

"Something isn't right," I said as she ran in.

"Oh baby, you're going to be okay. Just try and take a deep breath. It will all be over soon," She replied. She smiled through her hands that were now covering her face.

"What?" I could barely speak. I stopped sweating and began to feel a warm sensation flooding my whole body. My body began rising off the ground. My heart was pounding. A bright light began spilling out of my body and covered every inch of the living room. I heard my mother gasp before everything went dark.

"Are you sure she will be alright, Henrietta?" I heard my father whisper.

"Yes, she will be fine, Paxton," My mom whispered back. I slowly opened my eyes. Everything was blurry at first and then began to come into focus. Two wide eyes were staring back at me.

"She's awake!" The voice said. I yelped and scooted away.

"Why is there a talking barn owl?" I asked.

"My name is Mirta, and I'm your familiar," It said.

"My what? mom, what's going on?" I asked

"Oh, looks like we need to talk. I thought I had more time, but I guess I didn't. Come downstairs with me, and I'll make us some tea," Mom said. I nodded and slowly got out of bed. I kept my distance from the owl. It was a little freaky that a bird was talking to me. As I walked past dad, he put his hand on my shoulder and gave it a little squeeze. He always knew how to calm my nerves.

My dad went to his study, and my mom, Mirta, and I went into the kitchen. After my mom made tea, she sat beside me. I took a sip of the tea, and it warmed me. Then my mom took my hand and smiled.

"You're a witch," She said. It took a few minutes to process what she had just said.

"How is that possible?" I asked.

"Well, it's your bloodline. I'm a witch and my mother and her mother and so on," She said. Then she began to explain to me our history. We belonged to a coven of witches called the coven of the moon. Mirta was my familiar guide as I grew into a witch.

My mom gave me an owl-shaped necklace to wear. She said there was a protection spell on it and that I should always wear it and never take it off even when I slept.

The coven were women in our bloodline. I learned that each witch had a familiar who was a nocturnal creature. We were at our strongest when the moon was at its fullest. I wasn't allowed to tell anyone, not even my best friend. My mom said some witches were hungry for power. They would go to great lengths to get more power, even tricking a new witch into giving up her powers.

----------

"I can feel new power. A new witch has been born," Isobel said.

"I wonder who it is," Kerrigan said.

"My dear, that's what I need you to find out. Your mother needs you to help her. I'm getting weaker by the day," Isobel said.

"How am I supposed to find out who the new witch is?" Kerrigan asked.

"New witches always get their powers between the ages of 14-16 which means the new witch will be at your school. So wear this necklace; it will glow when you come across new magic," Isobel said. Kerrigan took the necklace and put it on. It was a small cut diamond that hung on a thin gold chain.

"I won't let you down, mother," Kerrigan said.

"I know you won't, my child," Isobel said.

---------

"Serena! Hey, wait up!" I heard my best friend yell my name. I stopped and waited for her to catch up to me. School had started back, and I was exhausted and ready for the day to be over. Witch training was intense, and I had to do it every day. There was so much to learn, and I wasn't sure if I would remember everything. The highlight of the training was that Mirta and I had become close. It took some time for me to get used to a talking animal, but eventually, we developed a friendship.

"Hey, What a morning. I woke up late and thought I was going to miss the bus-Wait! What kind of necklace is that? It looks like it's glowing," I said.

Fantasy
4

About the Creator

Shanice Lawton

I love writing and I want to be able to entertain as many people as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.