Fiction logo

Always Crashing (In The Same Carriage)

A Runaway Train Chat Story

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
The Runaway Train a Night Cafe Creation by Mike Singleton

This is an attempt at chat fiction, suggested to me by Pam Reeder. I really don’t know if I can make this work. The rules are on the website here.

I am also going to use the Vocal “Runaway Train” Challenge as my prompt for this story and you can read about that here.

So here goes

The regular thrum of the rail track woke J

J: “Where the fuck am I, what the hell?”

She was the only one in the carriage, it was dark outside

She could see nothing but this train was fast

Getting off the bunk bed she tried the door

Locked

She banged it, but it wouldn’t move

Trapped

She has her phone in her pocket, half charged

Tried to access the web, but the data wasn’t working

Restarted the phone but the data still wasn’t available and the train had no wifi to connect to.

She tried to phone K but got no answer so she texted

J: “K, I’m trapped on a train and I can’t get off, it’s going fast”

J: “I don't know where I am, no ticket, I don’t know how I got here”

J: “Answer me, please, I’m scared”

K: “I can’t talk, the wife is here, but I can text. What happened?”

J: “If I knew that I wouldn’t be texting you would I”

K: “Have you called the police, or the transport police there is usually a text service”

J: “I can’t get data on the phone and the battery is draining, and I don’t know where I am”

J: “The train is going faster and I am so scared”

J: “Can you call the police, I tried 999 but the line was dead”

She tried the door again but it wouldn’t give

She looked for something to smash the glass, thought the bed rail may do

It was just wood but solid

She smashed the door window, but it held, hardly a scratch

J: “Have you called the police?”

K: “ Am on the line on hold, the wife wants to know what I am up to, will text soon.”

She waits

K: and the Police

K: “My friend thinks she has been kidnapped, she is trapped in a compartment on a train”

Police: “We have an emergency, a terrorist group has kidnapped twenty people and is threatening to crash a hijacked train into the sea at the end of the line if their demands are not met”

K: “Are you negotiating?”

Police: “Their demands won’t be met, twenty people is acceptable collateral damage”

K: “What are you doing, you going to let them die?”

Police: “The Prime Minister says it’s fine, he doesn't want to spoil his sons’ birthday party”

K slams the phone down.

K back to J

K: “The police say the train has been hijacked and twenty people are on board”

J: “Fuck, what are they doing to stop it”

K: “They’ve called in the SAS to rescue the hostages, but is there any way you could smash a window”

J: “I tried = but nothing doing, I’ll just have to sit and wait, but I am so scared, this is going faster, where is the train going”.

K: “It’s going to hit the Circle Line so there is not much that can happen.

K was lying to J and it was making him sick knowing she had minutes left

K: “I Love You J”

J: “I Love You Too, I just want us to be together”

The train smashed through the barrier, off the cliff and into the sea.

There were no more texts

Short Story

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (16)

  • AGB2 years ago

    Oh wow. What a sad and beautiful ending. I was hooked from start to finish.

  • AES2 years ago

    Such an excellent format to convey the rising stakes and speed of the train! Loved this, chat format is definitely a bold choice and you pull it off beautifully!

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    Love that this uses dialogue to tell the tale! Well done <3

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Helen Stuart2 years ago

    how many words was that? Very Interesting.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Good one, Mike.

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Nice storytelling! Hearted❤️

  • Oh. My. Goodness. This was brilliant! I've never heard of chat fiction before. I'd love to try it. And the way you used this technique was awesome. This technique and your plot went very well together. Absolutely loved this story. My mind is blown. You did an awesome job on this one!

  • E M2 years ago

    This was great Mike! Loved the flow and fast pace - well done 😊

  • Misty Rae2 years ago

    Interesting take on the challenge. I enjoyed it very much.

  • Good job!!! Interesting concept.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Surprisingly entertaining way of creating a story

  • Clyde E. Dawkins2 years ago

    Awesome story as always!!!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Splendid runaway train story. Left a Heart!

  • Brin J.2 years ago

    So sad :(. It was quick, but I felt the panic and sadness.

  • Majique MiMi2 years ago

    Great Job with an even better ending 😁

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.