Fiction logo

Alone

After a series of volcanos erupt, triggering the apocalypse, Desiree and Victor flee into a tunnel system in the mountains, only to be separated by a cave-in. They must now find to each other in the gloomy dark, and avoid any obstacles in their path. Will they find their way back to each other unharmed? Only time will tell...

By Hillary EvansPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

I was hoping we’d have more time. But the end of the world doesn’t care about your dreams. It doesn’t care that you just got married last year, and that you wanted a family. It’s greedy, and will snatch what it wants from you.

I met Victor in high school, and he’s been my best friend, and the love of my life since then. 10 years later, we’re married and happy. Or at least we were, before the end of the world.

My feet were aching from walking almost nonstop for the past week. I needed a break, so I pulled my backpack off my back, and set it down to my side, sat down, brought out my water bottle, and took a small sip of it. I needed to find a place with water, and fast. 64 ounces wouldn’t last me long. I closed my eyes and leaned my head back into the wall behind me, thankful for a comfortable spot. I couldn’t help but let my mind wander resentfully to the last week.

We’d been hearing about the Ring of Fire for years now, but never thought it would cause any real trouble. The Ring of Fire was a series of volcanoes placed around the Pacific Ocean. One by one they all started going off, eventually triggering Yellowstone. Cue Armageddon. Those of us who didn’t die off right away were left to choke on the smoke and ash in the air. We fled to bunkers and any shelter we could find. My husband, Victor and I lived close to the mountains in our area, and we knew of caves and tunnels from explorations we’d taken throughout the years. It was our only chance to get away from the toxic air.

But only 2 days after entering the tunnel system, there was an earthquake, triggering a cave-in, which separated Victor and I. I have no idea if he’s even still alive. No amount of shouting seemed to be able to reach him. I couldn’t budge the boulders. The only alternative left was to backtrack and find a different way. The entire system seemed to be huge. The tunnels went on for miles, and around every bend loomed more darkness, more winding tunnels. It didn’t help that the noises I was hearing gave the illusion that I was in the intestines of some gigantic beast. That made my journey so much more unnerving.

My hand lifted to my neck and closed around the pendant resting on my chest. You’d never think that a piece of jewelry would be your lifeline. But this necklace, this beautiful, heart shaped locket, is everything to me, because it had been my wedding present from him.

I unclasped the necklace so I could admire it in my hands. Sterling silver, it shone white in the light from my flashlight, it’s elegant swirls on it’s face gleaming from the high points. Tiny green fractals of light danced on the tunnel walls from the glittering emerald in the center. I pushed the button on the side, and the locket clicked and swung open, revealing our wedding picture. We were looking at each other, radiant smiles on our faces, so in love, and thrilled at the prospect of spending the rest of our lives together. My finger found it’s way to Victor’s image, and I stroked it, as I read his inscription he’d included opposite the picture: “Desiree, I’ll love you forever and always. Love, Victor.”

I didn’t even realize I was crying until a hot tear splashed onto my hand. I snapped my locket shut, and placed it back around my neck, my hand lingering around the cool metal, unwilling to let go, for fear I would lose the last piece I had left of him.

Deciding that I’d had a long enough break, I sniffed, wiped away my tears, packed my flashlight and water bottle back in to my backpack, and ventured once more into the gloom.

Adventure

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Hillary EvansWritten by Hillary Evans

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.