Fiction logo

Alien Invasion

They are coming...

By larsPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1

Alien Invasion

They are coming. Everything seems like it . The sky has looked so strange lately. And then it happened, just like everyone thought. Hundreds of strange-looking spaceships suddenly appeared and came at us at high speed. They would be here in a few minutes. Then something terrible would most likely happen. Still, she had hope, she had hope that the aliens would be kind to us and that they could live with us in peace.

One year later we found out that it was unfortunately false hope. The aliens, whom we call Xalq, weren't exactly nice. From the moment they arrived, they started oppressing us. Fortunately, my family and I were able to get away quickly, but a few of my friends were less fortunate. After a few months, one of my friends managed to escape and told about the Xalq:

“From the moment we were captured, we were taken to their newly established base in a large flying vehicle. When we got there we had to go straight to work. I was separated from the others and I had to help build their abode. All kinds of materials were used that I had never seen before. I also noticed that they had one finger less on each hand and you couldn't see their mouths because there was a kind of mask in front of them, which they probably needed to breathe here. One day while I was working I overheard them all saying things I didn't understand, even though their language was very similar to ours. After a few hard hours of work, they felt I was done for the day. I had to go back to sleep in an overdue cabin, but I really didn't want that. So when they left I went to investigate. After fifteen minutes of searching I saw an opening and I sprinted towards it. Fortunately for me, no one saw me and I was able to escape safely. After a long search I found my way back here.”

I sat speechless listening to the story and I imagined it must have been terrible. But one thing in the story made me curious. My friend said that their language is very similar to ours. “Hey, um, maybe a silly question since you just got back, but could you show me where their base is. I would like to know if we can somehow communicate with the Xalq,” I said. Luckily he wanted to take me but then he would go right back. The trip to the base took about 3 hours due to the rough terrain and I immediately wanted to see if there could be a way we could communicate with the Xalq. A few guards circled the base. At one point I heard them talking to each other but I couldn't place what they were saying. Of course I had already expected this so I had prepared myself. I had brought a device so that I could record what they were saying, I took the device out of my bag and started recording: “tsuj a ettil elihw dna neht eht dlrow lliw eb srou. Ew lliw esahc eht elpoep yawa dna ekam erus yeht nac reven emoc kcab. Nehw taht si enod ew nac od revetahw ew tnaw, ahaha” At first I didn't understand it at all, but after listening to it a few times I understood it. They spoke backwards. When I found out about this, I knew what was going to happen. More would come. There would be more Xalq, or as they call themselves: Humans.

Short StorySci FiFantasyAdventure
1

About the Creator

lars

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.