Fiction logo

A New Day

The Golden Chapter

By Amber GracePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
2

The following is a story that is hard to explain without just telling it. Italics are narration. The Narrator is Amy, Amy is Me but this story is for all of us on a precipice.

You know when you do something and you can’t quite explain why? Only that- you just know you have to do it.

It’s like a voice in the back of your head but also like a feeling in your stomach.

Well, that’s how I ended up inside 2000 Wilshire Blvd last Tuesday, and, in a sense, how I never really left.

It was morning rush in Los Angeles- I made my way through the crowd of actors, writers, business execs- scrambling toward their, I assume, very important jobs. I, however, had just taken a sip of my coffee that was so perfect it stopped me in my tracks.

Walking into my coffee shop that morning had felt a bit different, now that I think of it. Maybe it was the seasons changing ? Maybe something in me was blooming- awakening- Whatever it was it felt good. I walked up to the counter with a boldness that was honestly out of character for a type B, like myself, holding almost electric eye contact with the Barista as I ordered-

AMY

Large Americano- extra hot. Like, too hot, I like when it burns a little. I promise not to sue-

The barista took just long enough to crack a smile that I started to doubt my own confidence. But before I could really start to panic she spoke-

BARISTA

Love a girl who knows what she wants

And she went back to making my drink, emphasizing my order to herself

BARISTA

She likes it extraaaa hot

I couldn’t help but blush, suddenly bashful. She topped off my coffee and gestured to the pastry case

BARISTA

Pick a donut. Actually, No. I thiiiink I know what you’ll like. No allergies, right?

I managed to respond with a simple, but obviously cliché

AMY

None that I know of!

The barista smiled to herself as she wrapped a pastry in yellow parchment paper and reached over the counter to hand it to me with my coffee

BARISTA

Piping hot coffee for…. Did I get your name ? I’m supposed to ask for name’s with orders-

AMY

It’s Amy.

Then she smiled again. That smile!

BARISTA

Okay Amy. Americano, piping hot, and a lemon poppyseed donut- trust me.

With a quick scan I found her name tag.

AMY

Normally I wouldn’t, but I think I will trust you on this one, Jade.

I opened the door to exit while taking the aforementioned perfect first sip and was so floored by it I turned around to compliment Jade's work when multiple, very strange coincidences happened all at once.

Another customer had followed me into the café, and as I turned around and opened my mouth placed my exact order, using my exact words.

GIRL

Large Americano- extra hot. Like, too hot, I like when it burns a little. I promise not to sue

Jade’s eye’s flicked up to me, making the connection before asking-

BARISTA/JADE

You got it- and can I get a name for the order?

GIRL

Amy

Jade and I were both completely losing our minds at the serendipity of the moment when the other customer spoke again, and things got even stranger.

GIRL

Wait- no- I’m not Amy, I’m looking for Amy. I always mess this part up. Sorry. I’m…you can just write Americano on the cup, okay?

Jade took this all in, threw her hands in the air, and then gestured to me.

JADE

I have no idea what is happening right now. But, THAT is Amy. Take whatever role-play thing you have going on elsewhere now, please.

The customer apologized to Jade again before turning to me and stopping all of my thoughts with a single look.

In that moment, all I could take in were her eyes-

Blue and green and flecks of gold and a freckle in the right one. Mirroring my own.

She didn’t have to say a thing. She knew she didn’t have to say a thing.

She led the way and I followed, out of the café and down the block and eventually into 2000 Wilshire, onto the elevator, she pressed the button for Floor 19.

I felt nervous, but not afraid. Mostly I felt excited.

The doors opened to reveal a hallway so long it seemed to stretch on for miles. I might have guessed they went on forever if it weren’t for the faintest light, a bright purple hue, at the farthest end, what was it?

Warily I followed her as she swayed left and right, taking her time, running her hands along the papered walls. She hummed a pleasant melody. It struck me as familiar. but I couldn’t place why.

Many doors we passed with ease, others seemed to stall her, breaking the rhythm of her natural gliding pace, some even tempting her to the point of reaching the door handle- but never in getting so far as to open it.

Finally we came to a stop as the girl stared at one door in particular. She then stared at me with the same ferocity of the first moment we’d met.

Almost instinctively, I reached for the handle.

GIRL

Wait

My hand was flicked away by a force I couldn’t understand then and can’t explain now.

She hadn’t moved any closer to me, But she shrugged her shoulders in a way that indicated that she had indeed somehow moved my hand and that she also had something more to say before we parted ways.

GIRL

Did you even read the sign?

My cheeks burned as I became aware of my own boldness. Without question I was about to enter a room with no idea what was inside, who was inside, if they were expecting anyone at all and ... least of all me.

I looked to the left of the door handle and read the plaque-

AMY

"Back?"

That's all it said.

GIRL

Back. Up to you.

She turned and began to make her way again. Down the long hallway. Toward that brilliant glowing purple and..a golden almost glowing yellow... what was it?

AMY

Wait--

Can you just tell me what that golden stuff is?!

She laughed to herself as she continued forward, no answer for me. I would have to find out for myself.

I took a step towards her and in a moment something felt like it was tethering me to that door.

Now, I don’t know how to explain it but- have you ever had an opportunity in front of you that was absolutely once in a lifetime?

Well, I know for a fact you have.

You probably just didn’t see it that way.

But you and I both make choices every moment that alter more than we can even imagine.

At that moment I knew that if I opened the door, I would never know what was at the end of the hallway. I wouldn’t know who the girl was or why she chose me or what any of this meant. But I also knew that if I kept moving forward, I wouldn’t be able to use that door. Not ever.

All that said, I followed the girl.

I turned back to see what I somehow knew would happen if I walked on:

The plaque on the door quickly faded, as my one way back to the life I thought I knew disappeared forever.

GIRL

You didn’t go back.

Everyone always goes back

The end of the hallway had somehow met us where we were now standing.

A small staircase stood between me, and knowing the source of whatever that light could be. I took a step, faltering , Half expecting her to stop me again. Instead, again, she lead the way.

At the top of the stairs I could see everything.

A double window pane with views of the city I thought I knew, only everything was different. The sky was a bright purple, all visible grass was the shade of a marigold flower.

My world. But not what it had ever been before. And it would never be that again.

She watched me as I took it all in.

GIRL

Couldn’t have explained it to ya if I wanted to.

Every important chapter of my life began with a moment I couldn’t walk back from. And there was certainly no walking back from this.

Script
2

About the Creator

Amber Grace

A Los Angeles transplant from Maine, Amber finds meaning through creativity. Amber makes art to better understand herself and others, and to expand on the things that make us all oh-so- human.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.