Fiction logo

Damien

A Story Every Day in 2024 19th April 110/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 14 days ago 2 min read
11
Damien
Photo by Ekaterina Kasimova on Unsplash

Damien couldn't eat his breakfast.

"Hey, munch. What's up?"

He didn't want to tell her because he knew she'd worry.

"Nothing," and he picked up his spoon and tried to eat some more of the porridge his mum had prepared.

"Do you feel alright?" his mum said, and she came round the breakfast bar to where he sat and put her hand on his forehead. "You don't have a temperature."

"I'm okay," he said, lying. "I'm just not hungry," which was true. He couldn't tell her it was because his gut was in knots and if he ate, he was liable to throw up. He couldn't face that happening and the questions that would follow too.

He thought about his day.

If he could just keep out of her way. He'd done it before. He could do it again.

He jumped down from the stool and landed on his ankle awkwardly.

"Ow!"

He went to put weight on it and felt it smart.

"What's happened?"

He sucked in his breath.

His mum came over and looked at it.

"I'll get some ice. Can you walk?"

He took some tentative steps and although it was hurting a bit, he knew he could go to school.

"It's okay. It just feels a bit weird."

"Well, sit here, we'll put the ice on it and see how it is. But I think no P.E. today. I'll write you a note."

He knew that he could make out it was worse than it was and stay at home. The relief would be wonderful! But the courageous, not yet defeated part of him knew that he had to confront her, it, this situation because if not, he would forever live his life a coward.

Knowing this gave him strength but it didn't stop his legs from shaking and his belly from churning.

"Ready? Here's your lunch money. And your note."

Tasha. That was her name. He felt quite sorry for her. She always looked so...grim.

He nodded to his mum's question and took the notes offered.

He could tell Tasha needed money more than him.

But a boy's got to take a stand against bullies and today might be the day.

***

365 words

I wrote a story for the Just a Minute challenge on here and thought I would explore, as I often do, the other side of things, of a situation I've created: an alternative perspective.

This story stands alone but is linked to Lunch Money if you care to make your way there:

I also wrote another story about bullying for the A Story Every Day in 2024 microfiction challenge as set by L.C. Schäfer, which is below and got a Top Story accolade:

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read it, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

110/366

MicrofictionfamilyCONTENT WARNING
11

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard10 days ago

    He did have the money!! Oh wow! This adds an entirely new layer! I like that you chose to develop this character for one of your stories!

  • Cathy holmes12 days ago

    This is really good as a stand -alone, but now I'm off to read Lunch Money for full effect. I'm so far behind on subscriptions. 😬

  • Flamance @ lit12 days ago

    Congratulations 🥳 top story

  • Shirley Belk13 days ago

    I love the empathy you have for others...I can see it in all of your stories :)

  • Caroline Craven13 days ago

    I really do love the way you explore the other side of the story. I wish he'd stayed home though. What an emotional rollercoaster you've put us through. Great job Rachel.

  • Ameer Bibi13 days ago

    I really appreciate your writing skills and efforts amazing Fabolous story

  • John Cox13 days ago

    I’m with Hannah on this one. Wah indeed.

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    Oh no! It took me most of the way through to make the link and... Wah, can he not just stay home!

  • Damien didn't ring a bell but the way my eyes grew wide when I saw Tasha! That's when I made the connection!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.