Fiction logo

A Mysterious Bundle

What have we gotten ourselves into?

By Taylor MeadPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
A Mysterious Bundle
Photo by T L on Unsplash

“There weren't always dragons in the Valley.” Shirr complained, dodging a spiked tail.

I ducked under a widespread wing. “Exactly how far back are you thinking? A century? Because they’ve been here for a few generations!” Pulling a smoke bomb from my bag, I pulled the tab with my teeth and lobbed it up into the dragon’s face. “Run!”

We made for the trees, diving into the underbrush as the dragon’s roar shook the high branches and knocked loose dry leaves. After a few more, agonizingly long minutes, we stopped beneath a small overhang next to the river.

“See?” he wheezed out. “Everything worked out.”

I snapped up straight, the fear turning to anger. “Worked out?! You call that working out?!”

He shrunk back a step. “Whoa, Amelia, calm down.”

“No! We almost got fried! When you said we would escape through the Valley, I thought ‘okay, no one would dare to follow us into the Valley, he must have some hideout or weird elf-magic that could hide us.’ How could you not know there are dragons in the Valley?!”

His pointed ears lowered back and eyes grew wide, reminding me of a cowed dog. Lip pouting, he knelt in front of me. “I haven’t been this way in a while, okay?”

The irritated energy needed out, so I began to pace. “Clearly the belief that the long lives of elves makes them wise is a misconception.”

“Or a clever PR strategy.” He muttered.

I glared over at him, still kneeling before me, hands on knees, head and ears down, thoroughly chastised. Running my hand down my face, I sighed.

“Tell me you at least managed to hold onto it.”

Perking up, he slipped a hand into his bag and held a bundle out to me. It looked too big to fit in the bag, but there was something to be said for the Smuggler’s Enchantment. If a guard ever caught us with it, we would be in big trouble. As we would be if they caught us with that bundle, I imagine.

I bent over and let my hand hover over it. The magic within tentatively poked my own, unsure.

“Don’t worry. We’re not going to hurt you.”

A tendril of its magic wrapped around my finger for a second, making me shiver. What was going on? It seemed to ask.

“You’ll find out soon enough.”

I straightened and rubbed my arms. It had been a while since any kind of magic gave me goosebumps.

“Is it okay?” Shirr asked.

“It’s fine. Make sure it’s secure and we’ll keep moving. We’re on a timetable after all.”

The trees began to change as we left the Valley behind, changing from charred to sparse to lush. Sunlight was just peeking over the horizon when we stepped onto a cliffside road. It caught in Shirr’s golden hair and drew my attention. He wore it in a loose braid, gleaming, when well-kept. Right now it was streaked by ash and crowned by dry fly-aways. He looked much like the rest of his kind: lanky, trim, bright-eyed. If he really tried, he could even fool you into thinking he was smart. Until he opened his mouth.

“Daydreaming about me?” he asked, his grin marred by a streak of dirt on his chin.

I gave him my best deadpan glare. “You wish. I was just thinking about where to stop. I’m exhausted and could really use a nice hot bath.”

A bath. I longed for a bath. With potpourri and soaps. Ah, heaven.

“Well, as you pointed out, I don’t know this area anymore, so you’re going to have to take the lead on that one.” He motioned with his hands as he walked, making it look like a leisurely stroll where my short legs were pumping to keep a quick pace.

With a sigh, I turned my attention to the upcoming town. It was a simple place, barely large enough for an inn, but it was out of the way enough that we shouldn’t have to worry too much about guards. I’d only stayed here once before and was in little mood for it. Back then, I was so put upon by having to stay there, that I didn’t sleep at all. Now, it seemed just the right placed for us to stop.

“This is as good a place as any.” I said.

The inn was in good condition and well cared-for. I didn’t see any rats wandering the floors and the inn-keeper’s family was as polite and proper as they could be, considering they were in a little farm town. Shirr and I had just enough gold left to rent a room and get some food. No baths here, unfortunately, but a pitcher of lukewarm water and some clean cloth. It would have to do. We took turns standing outside the room while the other rinsed off.

When I was finally able to sink onto the bed, I picked up the satchel and pulled out the bundle. It appeared to be a stone tablet wrapped in a hardened cloth. I could feel the faint outline of runes etched into the outside, but I couldn’t make them out. The bundle’s magic swirled between my fingers, seeking comfort.

“Shh, it’s alright.” I cooed.

“Those people had it under a lot of security. What is it, anyway?” Shirr asked, sitting cross-legged on his bed across from me.

“We’re being paid extra not to ask that question, remember?”

It was impossible not to wonder, though. Through all my training and every misadventure I’d suffered through, I’d never felt a magic quite like it. It felt alive, but didn’t move, didn’t breathe. I had heard of spirits and demons that could inhabit such innocuous dwellings, but had never encountered any.

A slight pressure leaned against my hand, reminiscent of a cat asking for scratches. Curious, I let a little of what magic had refilled in me line my palm. A wave of giddy happiness slipped from the bundle to my skin.

“I think it liked that.” I said.

“What?” Shirr’s voice was heavy. He was already giving in to sleep.

“My magic.”

He rubbed his eyes, tried to focus on me, then shrugged and turned over. “Just don’t break it.”

“I’m less likely to break it than you.”

But he was already asleep. I slipped off the bed and stole a peek at his sleeping face. Almost angelic.

Shaking my head, I went to the window and blew through a special wooden whistle. A raven landed on the windowsill next to me. I handed it an amber stone and it flew off. Our client would soon know we were successful and on our way. I put the bundle next to me on the bed and curled up.

This whole mess was nearly over. We would deliver the bundle and get paid. I drifted off to sleep, dreaming of gleaming gold and everything it would return to me.

The next day we woke early and got on our way before most of the town even stirred. I was eager to get this job done, get paid, and move on.

“Do you think those people will come after us?” Shirr asked as the city came into view.

I bristled. It was a thought I’d been avoiding. “They didn’t get a look at our faces. They don’t know who we are. As soon as we drop the thing off, we should be free and clear.”

“Hmm.” He paused to think on it. “So, what are you going to do with your cut?”

“That’s for me to know and you never to find out.”

He took a few steps and turned around in front of me, walking backwards. “That’s no fun. You don’t want to stay in contact?”

“No. Definitely not. This was an arrangement of convenience, nothing more.”

He stuck his tongue out. “Oh, come on. Has it really been so—Whoa!”

I nearly slammed into him as he stopped. “What? What are you doing?

“I think it just—there! It did it again!” He flipped open the satchel and I saw it. It looked like something kicked the side of the bag.

“Don’t get it out here!” I hissed and shoved him off the side of the road where we would be shielded a bit more from any passersby. Shirr slipped his hand in and pulled the bundle out. I ran my fingers along it.

“What’s going on with it?” he asked.

Ignoring him, I focused on the bundle, letting its magic flow around my own, trying to feel what it wanted. It swirled with emotions, switching from fear to happiness to uncertainty.

“What’s going on, little one?” I asked aloud, feeding it more of my magic. As the two mixed, it seemed to calm down, the magic steadying into a quiet flow.

“Well?”

“I think that did it. Hopefully that should tie it over until we finish this.”

“Then let’s hurry. That was freaky and I’d rather not have to explain to a guard why my bag is jumping about.”

We approached the city and tugged our cloaks on. Walking through the markets we were able to blend in, look like one more pair of travelers in a crowd of dull, brown cloth. Guards didn’t even spare us a glance.

It was a little different in the noble quarter.

Guards eyeballed us each time we turned a corner. Only once did we get stopped and asked our purpose. I handed them the leather ID I carried. Not my official ID. Not even my unofficial ID. As he scanned it, I hoped he wouldn’t see the small imperfections in the royal seal. Or the how the leather wasn’t quite the same quality of a real royal courier’s seal. Or how the name on it didn’t really match the naming conventions of the kingdom it claimed I was from.

“Very well.” He said just as I was sure I would have to use some questionable magic to manipulate him. “Move along.”

“Thank you, Guardsman.” Shirr crooned. I fought not to glare at him.

Finally, we stopped before a grand mansion. It was three stories high and at least the equivalent of five long. The grounds provided a moat of flowers on every side I could see and well-manicured plants marched all the way up to a sturdy stone wall.

Excessive, glamorous, rich. Just my kind of place.

I sighed, trying to dust myself off, from curls to boots, and failing miserably. I hated meeting with clients when I was in such a state. Not that it happened all that often. This was a bit of a special case. A life-changing case.

Too bad it wasn’t in the way that I’d hoped.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Taylor Mead

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Taylor MeadWritten by Taylor Mead

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.