Fiction logo

A Lonely Road Ahead

A locket and a tin can to keep me company.

By Eric StanfordPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
The last campfire...

It was not always this way. Early on it was quite easy – there were many to choose from. Now, scarce. This proverbial can I have been kicking down the road is about the only sound left in this desolate wasteland of a world. Even the animals are gone. And the plant life – brown as far as I can see. How did I get here? How did we get here? I have been walking for what seems like an eternity. My purpose fulfilled long ago, yet here I remain. An eternal in a dead world.

About a century ago, war, famine, greed, a hostile climate – take your pick, all lead to the downfall of a once vibrant planet. Society collapsed. Governments failed. Humanity faltered. It was as if mother earth began to reclaim her home. It was not long before even she began to fail. The vast oceans began to dry up. First it was the plants to go, and as the dust and sand overtook the barren grasslands so too did most of the animals. Life itself began to fade. It all kept me rather busy, of course. Think of every dystopian wasteland you have ever seen in the movies, and I can guarantee this was much worse. Bandits became the dominant rule of law. The War of the Two Rivers and the Battles of Third Avenue were among my favorites. Half the East Street rovers fell that day – their Chief forced to run the gauntlet. I may have helped devise that little punishment – a particularly devious period for me. I am not proud of it. I had been playing the part of an advisor of sorts to the dominant Chief for quite some time. It kept me closer to the action. As they gobbled more territory, punishing the rivals became a game. What happens when your only goal is complete dominance? You eventually run out of rivals. As the food began to get scarce, the Chief himself was forced to run the gauntlet, and with that the last semblance of order fell. Looking back, maybe I should have stayed out of it.

About a decade ago, I found myself chasing what seems now a dream. I hear voices in the distance and my heart nearly beat from my chest. I had not seen or heard a soul in several years prior, and I knew this would be my last. But I had to be patient. I stayed out of sight. There were two of them, a man and a woman. It was obvious they had affection for one another. He cared for her when she tripped on a pipe while scavenging through an abandoned grocery store. She fed him soup from a can they found two days a go – the last of their supplies. Of course, I cannot help them. All I can do is watch. And wait. These are the last two. The last of my mission here on this wretched earth. And yet, somehow, they have managed to survive this long. I have been following for what seems a year now. It seems they survive despite me. Or maybe because of me. The last of a pack of wolves stalking them held back even when a meal so easy for the taking shuffles in front of them. I suspect they can sense me. It does not matter. The alpha gave up long ago. Even they are now dust.

I knew before they did – defying all odds, she was with child. Dangerous. Foolish. They were happy though. Perhaps there was hope for this god forsaken world? I was as shocked as they were, but what could I do. This may very well be what gets them both. I have seen it before. Carrying a child makes you vulnerable, slow, distracted. She continued to surprise even me – she never lost a step. One day he fell through a rotting floor – gashed his leg severely. Before the war, this might have been only a minor accident. Now, the fever nearly took him. She had to scavenge alone, racing against the heat to find a bit of hidden water, a can of food. I had to stay with him, but each day she returned bearing the fruits of her outing. She even managed to find some long expired antibiotic. Anything would help him now. He recovered in time, though his walk was slowed and halting. Just as well, she was nearing the end of her pregnancy. It would not be long before there were three souls on this earth.

After a few years, I realized this would certainly take a while. The kid learned quickly. She would become a true warrior. Had it been necessary. As it were, there was no one to war against. But she was quite adept at catching the few remaining fish that could be found. The shallow waters helped. With no one to fear sneaking upon them at night and fewer roaming animals, they often slept under the starts wondering what life used to be like. Somewhere up there, a spaceship circled the globe – floating endlessly among the heavens. Humanities failed attempt at escape. I had long visited that free-falling tomb. The Roamers – that is what I had taken to calling them – had no idea of course. They were all born into this world.

Somewhere along the way, I have lost the can. Peaches, I believe it was at some point.

About three years ago, the father’s old leg injury came back to take its toll. While chasing a sickly-looking deer, a severe cramp seized his calf at a very inopportune time as his prey neared a ravine. He was not able to stop quickly enough. A sigh escaped my lips as I sat up from the bench, I had been lazing about most of the day. Finally. I finally met Mr. Roamer that day. They had an understanding. If one were to fail to return at the end of the day, maybe they got lost or went a bit too far in their search. Perhaps they found a safe place to rest that night. Should they fail to return the second day – well, not everyone could survive the end of the world.

About a year ago, she came across what used to be an old trading post. It was full of little trinkets and baubles. The little one might like something shiny. She found a locket hanging on a door handle. A small silver heart. Inside was a nearly faded photo of a mother, father, and a fat little baby. It was no telling who they were or how long gone they were. Well, except me of course. Still, Mrs. Roamer gave it to her daughter. She liked to pretend it was a photo of her little family. It never left here neck, even when she tumbled down the hillside running from the emaciated, hungry bear. Fitting she might go out similarly to her father, though this time the prey. Lucky that she did not break a bone in the fall, returning to her mother late that evening. Sadly, after nearly a decade, her mother and I had just become acquainted.

Only one remaining. I really do not know what happens after. That was not covered in the handbook. I found another can, by the way. Kick. Kick….kick, sigh. I did not even look to see what it once held. Pity, I am sure.

She was named Liv, the last remaining human soul on this earth. Grief and loneliness had no place in this world, yet she would often cry herself to sleep at night – longing for her mother’s sweet voice. Her father’s goofy smile. I must admit, I missed them too. Of all the beings I have met in my many eons, these three were my favorite. I had watched Liv grow up in a world determined for her to fail, and yet – here she was, thriving. Buildings of the past being reduced to dust and ruble. Even the seasons seemed to have abandoned this place. It hardly rained at all. Even I hated it here. She still carried that locket though – the last memory she had of her family. If I could give her a hug, I would.

“Do you miss them as much as I do?”

JUMPING JELLYBEANS! I fell off my chair. She giggled, as she plopped on the floor next to me. I was not aware she was in the room. How had I not sensed her?

“You…you can see me?” I stammered.

“Yes.” The locket rolled between her fingers. “I have always seen you. I just thought you were my guardian angel. You make a lot of funny faces for an angel.” Even beneath the dirt and grime smeared across her face, I would have described her as an angel before myself.

I had never been approached by someone before. I was always the one to introduce myself. It was always as shocking to them as I now felt, I assume.

“I’m not an angel. And certainly not your guardian.” I said, dusting myself off and sitting up.

“And these are not my parents, but a girl can wish right?” She held the open locket up for me to see. “I figured you were lonely too and I gave up waiting for you to say hello,” she said with a shrug.

This went against everything I knew. But what could I do now? What could I have ever done if she knew of me all along?

“Why did you let my parents die?” she said. Her lips trembled as she hugged her knees close. It was cold out, this late at night. Whether from sadness, or lack of warmth, I could not tell, but it did break my heart to see her torn this way. Against my nature, I have rooted for this kid all along.

“I gather you understand the answer to that already.” I breathed deeply.

“Yeah…” she sighed. “Just as you can not help me now.” I looked over at her deep blue eyes. I had felt it a few days ago, the end nearing. I wanted to help. Such is the nature of being human.

“We cannot alter destiny” I said, despising the words as they were spoken. I would punch this destiny in the nose if it would change things.

“Is that supposed to make me feel better? I would think you much wiser than that.” She shuffled over, ducking under my arm, curling up against my cloak. “You are certainly not any warmer than you look.”

“Thanks” I chuckled. I hugged her close before moving to build a fire. The loneliest campfire, if there ever was.

I lost another can. Maybe I should find something easier to keep up with. This road is long – and I have no idea what is at the end of it. The empty cans seem plenty though. I suppose I will just stick with them. My hand reached up to my neck, finding a little silver, heart shaped locket swaying with each step. My heart filled with longing. It had been a few months, but I still remember. Hers was the most difficult for me. Not because she was the last, but because she was.

There was no one left to fear Death any longer. Not that they would. I like to think this little locket makes me less, well, me.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Eric Stanford

Scientist, nerd, photographer. Budding author.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eric StanfordWritten by Eric Stanford

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.