Fiction logo

A lesser known path

Not for any challenge, just written for the hell of it.

By JBazPublished 7 months ago Updated 6 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - October 2023
35
A lesser known path
Photo by Oliver Hihn on Unsplash

I don’t know what made me go this way, I never take this path. Ask anyone who knows me, I’m a creature of habit. In fact, it wouldn’t be hard to assassinate me, if someone wanted too. I don’t know why they would, I am just saying it wouldn’t be hard.

But, back to this unplanned detour.

The day started normal, six a.m. wake up, shave, shower, dress in my Thursday outfit. One cup of black coffee, a bowl of oatmeal generously sprinkled with blueberries, and off for my morning stroll to work. I walk of course, driving has to many potential variables that may hinder my morning commute. You know, accidents, road construction, stray animals veering onto the road, carjackings, the typical madness associated with driving a vehicle.

I always walk through the park, following the main path, it's the most direct route. For some inexplicable reason, today I went right, following a lesser-known trail which loops around the lake, still in the park but definitely not a direct route. Instead of arriving to work in exactly twenty-three minutes I now have no idea what time I will show up.

Madness.

Fall was in its prime, the crisp, clean air reminds me of camping, or what I imagine camping would be like. I personally have never been and think it is a barbaric ritual. Who in their right mind wants to lay on the cold damp ground stuffed into a puffy zip up blanket? Falsely believing that a nylon barrier has magical powers to stop a cantankerous bear or possessed owl from tearing through and devouring the poor soul who foolishly believes they're safe. Yes, I said owl, can you really trust an animal that is able to spin it's head around, like it’s auditioning for the exorcist. Especially when there is a perfectly good bed to snuggle in, under a solid roof. Also, why would I want to poop in the woods, we have indoor plumbing people.

Anyway, for no particular reason I took a different route today. It is now 7:21 a.m. and the world is unusually quiet, I find it interesting not seeing the same faces I normally pass on my way to work. In fact there is no one, only me on this path. Sounds of my footsteps crackling on dead leaves echo off the majestic trees. A mist hovering over still waters, splits open and swirls as two ducks land upon the clear sheet of liquid beauty. My eyes automatically squint as the morning sun peaks between half barren branches, lighting the foliage that covers the forest floor with a golden halo. The cries of busy birds feasting on the last of the shriveled berries before the onslaught of winter snows begin to fly, is music to my ears.

I must say this enigmatic action of mine is a little exhilarating. Living on the edge like a nomad.

So lost in thought and mesmerized by this wonder that has awakened my senses, I fail to hear the sound of running feet behind me. The blow from behind knocks the air out of me. I find myself falling, my legs buckle, I barely manage to brace for impact while dozens of tiny lights fill my vision as I tumble downward. There is a hard crunch as my face smashes into the unforgiving ground. I lay there, unmoving, the musty smell of moss, leaves and dirt fill my lungs. A metallic taste coats my mouth, realizing I must have bit my tongue.

Soon mumbled voices mix with the ringing in my ears, the feel of hands roughly molesting my prone body send my muscles into tiny spasms. This was it; my life was over. Realization that I never really lived, hits me harder than any cowardly attack from behind. I should have done more with my life. I should have tried new things. I should have eaten pasta on a Tuesday, instead of Friday. Crazy I know, heavy carbs midweek, that’s insane. But when you come face to face with death these are the thoughts that flash in one’s head.

I am too young, well not really, but still to young to pass from this life and slip into the endless night of permanent sleep. A clear vision appears before me, highlighting tomorrows news headline… 'Mutilated body discovered in woods, near a seldom used path along the lake. He should have known better.’

With what will probably be my last breath, I cry out. “Why, oh why…”

”Hey, buddy you ok?”

I feel myself lifted from a prone position to once more stand on my own. A voice crackles the morning air like the leaves beneath my feet.

“Dude, I am so sorry, I didn’t see you there. I jog here everyday and rarely come across anyone.”

"Whaa?"

The voice continues to babble. "I mean, I ran around the bend, and you were just standing there. You good?"

Opening my eyes, my vision clears, I am facing a young man in his prime. With extraordinary effort I find my voice. “Ah Yeah, I’m fine.”

”You sure?”

Brushing the dirt off, I begin to smile then laugh, thinking to myself. ‘Am I fine? Hell yes, I am more than fine, I’m alive, a survivor.’ Things are going to change. I have a new lease on life. The dawn of a new me emerges, brighter than any day has ever shone. It’s time to take risks and explore the world. Tomorrow, I’m having strawberries with my oatmeal.

This popped into my head while munching on toast and drinking my morning coffee, wishing I would have made oatmeal for breakfast.

Thank you,

Jason

Here is a continuing story of our hero ( of sorts). Another day in the life of an ordinary event gone a stray. I hope you enjoy it.

Short StoryHumor
35

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 6 months ago

    This was a really great story. It's one in which the symbolism can be applied to almost any situation in life knowing you can be lifted up and out of most any direction situation to become a survivor.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    great story. Love it

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Humorous yet authentically and descriptive tale!!! Fabulous storytelling!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    This is such a great story, Jason! Your bit about camping made me laugh. I love camping (maybe not the defecating in the woods part 😂), and I don’t worry much about owls…although maybe I should. Haha! Always a good idea to have pasta on a Tuesday and live as though it were your last day. You never know when it’ll come. Enjoyed this very much! 💫

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    This was great JBaz, I love the narrative voice you chose and the way you made such an unsuspecting story into. something more! I found myself giggling at the characters sense of adventure prior to the accident! Great story, made me smile!

  • Miss Catherine7 months ago

    Creative work. Lovely story

  • Ibinabo Brown 7 months ago

    Love it! Congratulations on your top story

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    Love it ❤️

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    This is fantastic. You definitely deserve the oatmeal after that, with all the berries you want. That part about the owl was hilarious. Congrats on the TS.

  • Caroline Jane7 months ago

    can you really trust an animal that is able to spin it's head around, like it’s auditioning for the exorcist. What can I say? The observations and the characterisation in this are excellent! Well done. A sparkly and fascinating gem. ❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    I love this, excellent spot of growth! I hope he never changes his opinion on camping though. I love that your character describes himself as "easy to assassinate" - this little nugget tells us SO MUCH about him 😁😁😁😁

  • lol..YEAH, a survivor, this was great. Congrats on your top story

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    Oh man, this is so good. Your descriptions of time and place mixed with the inner monologue are perfection. I truly enjoyed this. Congrats on a great Top Story.

  • Judey Kalchik 7 months ago

    It's the little things that make us proud of ourselves, like taking a different turn. Then, of course, second-guessing it at every subsequent moment. Really enjoyed this. Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    Funny but also extremely vivid with the description of your walk. I don't want us to fall out but I love camping. Don't want to get eaten by bears (or owls) but that feeling of being outdoors with just a bit of material keeping you closeted - I do rather like it. Less so, finding yourself next to drunken young women listening to music really loudly and singing tunelessly along to those songs into the early hours of the morning with just a bit of material keeping you closeted. Congrats on TS!

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    I dunno, Jason. Transitioning to strawberries is a big step. I'll have to check for an update after we get back from the camping trip. 😂 Really enjoyed this!

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Jason, you are such an amazing writer. I get caught up in your stories all the time. It’s funny you mention in you story , Yes, I said owl, can you really trust an animal that is able to spin it's head around, like it’s auditioning for the exorcist. Lol. I might try blue berry and strawberry oatmeal for breakfast, this made me hungry 🙂

  • Hahahhahahaahahahha omgggg this was freaking hilarious, especially that whole paragraph about camping! I mean, he's not wrong. The parts about the owl auditioning for the exorcist, pasta on Tuesday instead of Friday and oatmeal with strawberries tomorrow made me laugh so much! I'm a routine person and hate making changes. So this was my kinda humour!

  • Test7 months ago

    I wish to hell I had masterpieces like this meander into my mind at breakfast! Brillianlty done. Completely engossed the entire way through! And that twist. Bloody awesome! 🤍

  • Shirley Belk7 months ago

    Loved the autumn background....you did a marvelous job on descriptions. Also, your story made me laugh and that's always a win. Great job!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I'm glad you wrote it for the hell of it, I really enjoyed it.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Lol, he thought he was a goner for sure and so did I. There are a few lessons here. One of which is, 'Screw those less traveled paths!' I also loved the take on why we should never go camping 😅.

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    This was unique and a fun read!! I also loved your descriptions of camping 🤣🤣🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.