Fiction logo

A Lamb Called Sunday

Sunday 9th June, Story #161/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 9 days ago 3 min read
12
A Lamb Called Sunday
Photo by Liam Read on Unsplash

Once upon a time, there was a lamb called Sunday. Sunday lived in a beautiful meadow. He frolicked around in the sunshine under a blue, blue sky. The grass was sweet and fresh, and the green of it unrolled langurously around him in every direction.

Beyond the boundary of the meadow (a quaint little fence, if you must know), there was a Forest. In stark contrast to the gentle meadow, it was dark and dangerous. The trees weren't friendly trees such as children might enjoy climbing. They were the sort that loomed menacingly in the gloom, snagging at you with cruel twig-fingers.

The forest was home to a Beast. A big cat, or wild dog, or a wolf, perhaps. Let the record show wolves are generally not wicked or spiteful. They're family-oriented, clever, and brave. But perhaps this one was a lone wolf, a rabid one, or some other species completely. Imagine him huge and demented. See his unkempt black fur, smell his stink. Watch him circling that meadow, eyeing that lamb. His chops soaked with drool and his eyes glinting in the shadows. His name is Monday.

Sunday can sense when Monday is creeping closer. He cringes, twitches and shrinks. His eyes flick here and there. His poor little belly churns with anxiety and dread. The grass withers beneath his hooves, and the sky darkens with threatening clouds.

The boundary between the meadow and the forest is paltry; a token effort, barely there at all. But there is a trick to keeping Sunday safe.

It's very important to stay in the centre of the open field. The Beast won't encroach there. Admire the daisies, breathe lungfuls of fresh air.

When night comes, the precious little lamb will be led away. This much is inevitable. But you do have a choice. You can choose not to let your little lamb stray too close to the fence. Stay in the middle of the meadow, in the Now, where the sun shines, and the green is expansive, and the buttercups wink.

The more you're drawn to thoughts of the Beast, the closer to the fence you'll wander, and if you aren't careful, Monday will gobble up Sunday completely.

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

Happy Sunday!

Word count, excluding note: 366

Submitted on Sunday 9th June at 18.33

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly:
thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent. Maybe I'll hire a personal chef.

If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 161 day streak since 1st January.


Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!


Rachel Deeming


Gerard DiLeo

Leave me a comment: it makes it easier for me to reciprocate the read. I know I am behind on reads, but doing my best to catch up!

Image: From Unsplash. Look, there he is with his pal Saturday!

Thank you!

Thank you again, most sincerely. Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed!
😁

+ + + + + + + + + + + +
+ + + + + + + + + + + + + +

FableMicrofiction
12

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 days ago

    Oh MY.... I love the metaphorical meaning of this LC!! I also love that this felt like a classic tale with a moral at the end!! So clever!!! Great work!!

  • Cathy holmes8 days ago

    My God, that is so true. I have been guilty of leading Sunday a little to close to the edge.

  • Very interesting way to express this, LC!

  • Caroline Craven8 days ago

    Ha! This was fab. I used to get physically sick on a Sunday dreading Monday mornings (in one particular job). Such a clever metaphor! Nice work.

  • LC, I missed this but finally found after 21 hours 😀. Hate Monday, lovely Sunday. If Sunday is always at the middle we are safer 😂.

  • But no matter what we do, Monday would gobble Sunday up 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Mark Gagnon8 days ago

    I'm not actually back, but it's Sunday and I needed a break. Sunday will need to retire for a couple more weeks I'm afraid.

  • This was so good. My Sunday is currently being devoured by the approaching monday!

  • Dana Crandell9 days ago

    This was delightfully different, and enjoyable, especially since I just decided to drop by on a Sunday, which I don't do oftten! Well done on a great little fable with and congratulations on #161! Gotta go, Monday's trying to sneak in!

  • I love this! I love Monday and Sunday! The names are cool! I’ll stay safe from Monday for sure! Sunday forever!🤓

  • Andrei Z.9 days ago

    Still, Wednesdays are the worst :D

  • John Cox9 days ago

    The workaday thoughts of Monday looming in the shadows has ruined many a Sunday for me. I love your use of metaphor in this fable. It is both playful and thought-provoking.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.