Fiction logo

After Draconia

Saturday 8th June, Story #160/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 18 days ago 3 min read

I tread softly. Mustn't wake it. The last thumbnail of sun is dipping below the horizon, and the dragons are lazy sluggish at this time of day.

Since they came back, life is different. Their scaly chaos turned the world upside down.

Nobody believes anymore that the beasts will be contained again. Exterminated, maybe. Something drove them to extinction once, perhaps it was us? Maybe we can repeat the trick.

'Til then, we've reached an uneasy truce. We humans stay hidden during the day in sturdy buildings, or underground like scurrying animals. We hear dragons fighting for food, mates and territory. We've become crepuscular; more active at dawn and dusk.

For most, curiosity about dragons and awe at their glamour was extinguished by the brutal reality. But for some, curiosity is a defining trait. We want to know about them. It's how we protect ourselves. How we turn a catastrophe into a leap forward.

Scales, for instance. Armour made from them is immune to dragonfire. How tough is it? How long does it last? What heat can it withstand. How often? Can we replicate them? What gives them the qualities we want?

Some clever folks are beavering away in high security underground bunkers answering these questions. But they need people like me (LabRats) to scurry above and fetch these items. I'm making a name for myself as an effective and daring LabRat. I've collected many scales for study and manufacture.

I sprint down a side alley clutching my bag, narrowly missing a tongue of flame. Worth the risk! Look! Something I've been collecting, just for some quiet little experiments of my own, nothing fancy. More copious than scales, and less valued by others:

Shit.

Dragon guano holds incredible properties. Magical-seeming, until scientific understanding catches up.

In my previous life, before dragons elbowed their way back into our world, I was a potter. So that's what I've made. Pots. Small. With lids. I keep them sealed and they fill with some magical residue off the guano. It can be sipped (providing visions), inhaled (giving speed and strength), or smashed (causing impressive explosions).

This is how I'm such a good LabRat. I know where to go and when, and I can attain superb strength and speed.

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count, excluding note: 366

Submitted on 8th June at 22.32

This story follows on from Draconia - A World First. They should both work as stand alone stories, but if you'd like to give the other a look, here it is:

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly:
thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent. Maybe I could buy up stretches of rainforest, finally put all this stupendous wealth to good use.

If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 160 day streak since 1st January.


Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!


Rachel Deeming


Gerard DiLeo

Leave me a comment: it makes it easier for me to reciprocate the read. I know I am behind on reads, but doing my best to catch up!

Thank you!

Thank you again, most sincerely. Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed!
😁

+ + + + + + + + + + + +
+ + + + + + + + + + + + + +

SeriesShort StoryMicrofictionFantasy

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.16 days ago

    This is a very different feel from the first part, but it's really interesting! Can't wait to see where it goes next!

  • Oh I loved this one! Such a cool concept and well-executed!

  • It was a marvel of imagination. Nice LC, nice.

  • Caroline Craven17 days ago

    You’re so good at creating worlds and pulling the reader straight in. I love the sluggish dragons! Great stuff L.C.

  • Love the story and I love dragons! Hope they keep the peace with dragons cause dragons are cool!

  • Oooo, I wanna become a Labrat too hehehehehehe

  • John Cox18 days ago

    Thank you, thank you! I fun new series! More please! I feel a little like Oliver Twist asking for seconds.

  • Lana V Lynx18 days ago

    So, how many years is this after dragons escaped the zoo? Excellent peg for another installment, LC!

  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    Great follow up. Cringing at the personal experiment. 😬

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Terrific tale!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.