Fiction logo

A Hike up to the Top

Short Story

By Ada ZubaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
A Hike up to the Top
Photo by Jon Flobrant on Unsplash

"This is my life now. It's climbing a hill and this is where I will die isn't it?" panted Brandy.

Her caramel-colored hair was tied back in a ponytail, her make-up was perfectly done and she wore black leggings that clung tightly to her thighs, her black baseball cap told everyone that she was not the most sporty girl, she was curvier than the average girl, her weekends were mostly spent cuddling on the couch watching Desperate Housewives.

"Gosh Brandy, we've only been hiking for twenty minutes!" exclaimed Christina.

Christina was the opposite of Brandy. Christina was the type of girl who went to the gym regularly, and she took yoga classes once a week. Leggings on her were a little loose near her ankles, her long blonde hair was often tinted with chlorine from the pool. "Come on, you've done this hike before," she mentioned.

"That was when I was twenty pounds lighter though!" she whined.

"It's just a little longer until the first waterfall. Come on like half a kilometer!"

"Why are we doing this hike, I don't want to die here!" She groaned as she hung her head back.

"Trust me," said Christina, and they proceeded down the path while running into hikers heading back to their cars.

"Do you think that Trevor will commit to me?" asked Brandy as she caught up to Christina.

"I think he's coming around, he's a good guy, and I see that he wants what's best for you," responded Christina.

"But, what if he's never going to be ready?" doubted Brandy.

"Brandy, look where you are," said Christina as they came close to the waterfall. The waterfall was beautiful, and it made the hike up seem insignificant, but the most wonderful thing of all at the viewpoint was Trevor. He wore his blue baseball cap, his black windbreaker, and he stood there holding a little box. Brandy approached him.

"What is that?" she asked him.

"Brandy Eveline Satine, I think you are brilliant, smart, funny and I want to spend the rest of my life making you happy. So, Brandy, will you marry me?" he asked, and he bent down on one knee.

Brandy was completely taken aback, she lunged at him, and the ring fell out of the box and it rolled down past the side rail and stopped on a small thicket of grass.

"Let me get it," said Trevor, and he bent down, but he accidentally lost balance, and it tumbled down, the ring bounced off the rocks and it clung and clanged as it fell, and then finally with a silent splash, it fell into the river.

"Oh no!" Brandy said, and Trevor's eyes started to well up.

"That took forever to find!" he exclaimed.

"I will go get it," said Christina, and she started to head down the path.

Trevor and Brandy ran after her, they got to a place where the path was straight, and they all hopped over the side rails and into the water, they frantically headed upstream. Brandy and Trevor both stumbled in the river. They shuddered as the cold water reached their socks and the three of them finally got to the place where the ring fell. Brandy spotted it and she dove her hand for it. She put it on her finger it fit perfectly.

"So, I guess that's a yes?" asked Trevor.

"Of course! I love you," she said, and they kissed right there in the freezing river.

They got out of the river and went up to the waterfall once again. He took the ring back and asked her once again, she calmly put the ring on her finger. Together they walked down the path and to the car.

Love

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello and welcome to my page. I love reading fantasy, mystery and thrillers. I am an Amazon Affiliate Marketer even if I make no money, but it keeps my spending habits down. I love writing in different genres and challenging myself.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ada ZubaWritten by Ada Zuba

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.