Fiction logo

A Destiny Unmatched

The Journey of an Aching Soul

By Y.A.N.A. Published 3 years ago 3 min read
A Destiny Unmatched
Photo by Josh Nuttall on Unsplash

The smell of fresh brewed coffee and smudged lipstick on the edge of a mug was a far distant memory withheld in my brain. I slowly seeped back into my chair to realize that this is the last time I will ever feel such ease. For the rest of what I will live out to be I will constantly look over my shoulder in desperation of the fact that I am not normal, or never was. Sheltering myself from insanity and the obstruct judgement of just about anyone was a common practice. Almost as common as brushing your teeth or sipping water. I was never great at hiding it, the indifferent portrayal I display. My mind ponders the seven seas and for a split second I grasp reality only to find that I did not even know what that was. Everything was a figment of imagination. I was never blending in only keeping myself an outcast. Striving for the day I can finally catch a breath I realize now this was a fate far stretched. Captivated by winged creatures fighting a destiny I could not allow; I had no choice but to break free. The room went dark, my mind traveled faster than my pacing heart. Reaching for the light within my wildest dreams I found the ticket to set me free. The keeper will know where I shall go, but how must I escape. Without being caught I moved my constrained hands from the back of me clinging to a blade. Releasing myself from the bounties of wicked fools I could then see far above from me a glimmer of hope, an open door. Scaling the walls within me I found the strength to do the impossible. Unlatching myself from a dungeon of emptiness I was then thrown into the white glare. Suddenly laying in a meadow of ‘lollygaggers’ and daisies it reoccurred in my mind I was still fighting freedom. Transported into a dimension of cold flesh with a welcoming face I knew I was still roaming in a destructive hibernation. Falling over every step I ran until I could take no more breaths; rolling downhill into a forbidden land I could not be touched. The sun hazed over me welcoming me with such grace. Although my journey has only begun; I fear this might be my last moment of forgiving warmth. Chills rushed down my body as the cracks of branches grew closer I instinctively knew I was not alone. My mind was unlocking new divine attention as every hour passed; I was gifted. A power I did not know I had, it all seemed a blur at first and quite mesmerizing. I don’t know where this started or how I even got to where I am. The last memory I carry was being pulled away from all I knew. It was all in flames, collapsed buildings, flipped cars, children yelling from the top of their lungs with no one to save them. Then it all went blank and suddenly I was chasing after life gripping on to all I had left, this golden locket of love. Feeling close to what I once knew showered my entire body in magic knowing I can one day find who placed it in my hands. Tired of sprinting and inhaling thin air I needed to rest away from it all. I found a tree where I climbed and laid for the night gazing at what I could soon be. Praying on a whim for salvation and a sign. The birds cross my eyes horizon with a sincerity that I would soon get my answer. The day stopped and I rose again at the crack of dawn with eagerness. Carefully descending from the roots that held me I met the floor once again. With a growling belly and quench for thirst I’ve mentally prepared for my next expedition, there was no time to rest. Smoke filled the air as a cult of ogres and vultures gathered nearby. An instant overwhelming gut feeling of destruction; I was being hunted. I must not stop for I must fulfill my mission that whoever so willingly gave me their beauty to hold I was required to return. With trouble dividing our souls collided into a forgotten promise. I told myself I would not give up. Crawling through tall grass I was able to pass the unmentionable doom I so closely encountered. To be greeted by a loving hand pulling me up, was my fight over?“It was you”, I said with shriveling lips. Tears rolled down my face as you wiped them away so effortlessly with your smile. I knew we would meet again, my twin flame. You saved me…I am home.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Y.A.N.A.

artist/musician/poet/writer

social: @yesitsyana

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Y.A.N.A. Written by Y.A.N.A.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.