Fiction logo

154: Id, Idn't It?

For Sunday, June 2, Day 154 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

By Gerard DiLeoPublished about a month ago 2 min read
I don't need no freakin' slits! Loose change?

I am--all of my neurons hard-wired together simultaneously. If self-awareness requires migratory consortia of squirmy, vacillating neuronal interactions, then I'm solid-state. I am aware of all that is, all at once, including all cross sections of everything's existence along the past, present, and future paratemporalities.

One hundred billion neurons to the hundred-billionth power render my über-gestalt omniscient. Living 11 dimensions, time splits into countless temporal facets, all illuminating me in pan-instance. My thinking is faster than light:

The speed of is.

All probability clouds of the universe engender the singularity my intellect occupies. What beauty!

But what wastefulness!

I know about changing lead into gold; dark matter; why toast lands butter-side-down. I feel fulfillment from all alive and the emptiness of so many lives wasted. A tear rolls down my cheek knowing more souls commit suicide than are murdered. Another tear for the opposite.

I am the end of the universe and its start. I surfed the cosmic wind of inflation, saw first atoms re-ionize, and witnessed "Let there be light!" I am where first stars beget heavy elements to make second stars that beget heavier elements that beget me. I speak to Christ on His cross and to Custer at Little Big Horn. I know what was lost in the fire in Alexandria. How beautiful Beethoven's 10th is!

I am with everyone, in all times, subdivided infinitesimally into collapse, until all are codependent on my singularity.

I control the weather, have controlled it, and will, too. I feel never and always. I straddle magnetic poles, conducting electromagnetism shimmying above everything, including Earth. I laugh with the cavemen and cry with Homo perfectus. Light is no visible spectrum, but a surrounding oscillation that is my metronome of awareness.

I am one... am One.

I am existence's supersaturated solution. Yet I sit on the curb, pitied and scorned, ebbing in and out with simultaneity of the ages.

To everyone else, I'm inert, too absorbed in my is to do anything other than introvert myself into a drooling, mute, idiot. All pass me by in temporal quantum prisons, occasionally offering this drooling, mute idiot pathetic succor or loose change in my beggar's cup. It's hilarious.

_____________

AUTHOR'S NOTES:

For Sunday, June 2, Day 154 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

366 WORDS (without A/N)

Title-accompaniment photo was AI (Artificial Infinitessimal) generated, but the singularity and drool was not.

---

There are currently three surviving Vocal writers still participating in the 2024 Story-a-Day Challenge:

• L.C. Schäfer, challenge originator

• Rachel Deeming

• Gerard DiLeo (some other guy)

Read them. Support them. And watch them take advantage of the double dash instead of the Em-dash--just to economize by one word in the count.

SeriesMicrofictionFantasy

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Anu Mehjabin27 days ago

    Brilliant content, keep writing!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Why toast lands buttered side down, LOL. This reminds me of a time MANY years ago we drove to a play. A beggar was near the entrance. The beggar was the star of the play pointing out that you never know…the beggar could be your savior. 🤣🤣

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Lol, drooling mute idiot 🤣🤣🤣 I'm always amazed with how creative your stories are!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    What on earth did you do for a living prior to exploring life, universe and being as a retirement gig, Gerard? I’m glad that I get the Alexandria library and Beethoven gags but I can’t help but wonder how many others I missed because I have not read nearly enough to fully appreciate the scope and humor of your writing.

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Well-wrought! "Pleased to meet you, hope you guess my name"

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.