Feast logo

Wilkes-Barre Food

The Diamond City in the Rough

By Nicole "ChaseThePen" SanchezPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. We start our journey here because this is where I lived until fairly recently and, after six years, I got to know the place. I know, it gets a bad name, and it was certainly not my favorite place of residence, even if I technically lived across the river in Kingston; but there are silver linings in all situations and my six years did not defy the pattern. I had the great fortune of living near my best friends and, more importantly for the subject of today’s post, I ate lots of food. Mmmmm. There are some delicious places to stop by if you're in the area.

Note: *Some of them are across the river in Kingston because of my aforementioned residency. So, if you're in the area, stop by these yummy gems.

**These are not my pictures. I had moved on from Wilkes-Barre by the time that I decided to write this blog. Rest assured, the caliber of the food did not diminish while I was living there and I am certain that its quality did not rest solely on my patronage.

Anthracite Cafe

Tucked down an annoying side street off the main drag, this restaurant boasts a "scratch kitchen and beer garden" that does not disappoint. Their menu options are varied and delicious: a solid spread of appetizers, tons of yummy burgers, salads, and various dinner options. They have dessert too, but I always failed my will save and never had the room.

My boyfriend's favorite is the Heart Attack Burger: 10oz of delicious beef with two fried eggs and other delicious toppings sandwiched between grilled cheese sandwiches. Yes, it was a heart attack on a plate. Yes, of course, I tried it. Yes, it was scrumptious. My personal favorite was the Pretzel Chicken—essentially breaded chicken, but the breading is pretzel. Mmm Mmm. Crunchy, crisp and juicy.

They also have an extensive craft beer menu. Their standards take up a whole menu and the taps that they rotate are scrawled on a giant chalkboard, complete with alcohol content. Beer is not my jam, but my boyfriend loved taking advantage of the many options available. They have a fair amount of hard-to-find brews and switch out their menu often.

They have specials most nights. My personal favorite is wing night. Nice meaty wings, crispy, with plenty of delicious sauce options. My first experience at Anthracite Cafe was wing night. A local took me out for a first date when I still didn't know the area well, but one visit had me hooked.

Side note: for those of you who may feel that wings are an inappropriate first date menu option, I choose to disagree entirely. Show him what he's getting himself into. Get messy, lick those fingers, clean those bones!

Goldstein's Delicatessen

Across the river in Kingston, Goldstein's Deli also boasts a delicious menu and a vast selection of beer. Their selection is not as varied in type of food but if you're in the mood for anything remotely sandwich related, this is where you want to go. They also have an extensive breakfast menu which I haven't tried but looks delicious. Apparently, getting there before 11am was just too difficult for us. *face palm*

My personal favorite is the Louisiana Shrimp Melt. While a might smaller than I normally hope for, it makes up for it with perfectly cooked Cajun shrimp, roasted garlic cheese, a creamy Louisiana lettuce dressing and red onions. All of that sandwiched between wonderfully crisp and flavorful ciabatta bread.

My boyfriend prefers the Chipotle Chicken and Avocado Melt. They grill their chicken to perfection and used both cheddar and jack cheeses. The spinach, bananas peppers, and chipotle mayo meld together perfectly on the brioche bun, but it’s the creamy avocado that really brings this sandwich to the next level.

He equally enjoys the beer selection though. The Samoa This was his favorite while we were in the area, a stout made by Southern Tier Brewing Company. Various regional breweries feed their taps, plus they have a wide selection of bottled beer that can be purchased to-go. They also offer a growler service. While we were still in the area, one of our favorite things to do would be to grab food at Goldstein's before our regular Pathfinder game night. My boyfriend would fill up his growler with a thick stout or porter, and off we would go for a fun night of saving the world!

AmberDonia

Still in Kingston… I don’t know which part of AmberDonia I like more: the pizza or the bakery. Using a brick oven, their pizzas turn out crisp and flavorful. If you have never tried a brick oven, wood fired pizza, you’re missing out. The bricks surround the pizza with heat, which allows for a shorter cooking time at higher temperatures. The dough is fluffy and soft because the moisture is trapped inside. Toppings, especially vegetables, are even better. The faster cooking time and shape of the oven means that the toppings crisp quickly, sealing in both flavor and nutrition. Even the cheese is better: perfectly melted with a smokey flavor.

The bakery is varied and delicious. Tarts, cupcakes, baklava, and more fill their cases. I can’t recommend one in particular because I’ve loved them all. They have a full cafe drink menu and are also BYOB, so you can bring in your favorite wine to compliment your pizza, and then have coffee with your dessert.

Shogun

Back into Wilkes-Barre, Shogun is located inside the Woodlands Hotel. This is my favorite place in all of Wilkes-Barre for sushi. They also have a hibachi, and I’m sure it’s delicious, but I go for the sushi. They have the standard classics, but also some house options that I can’t get enough of. My favorite of the specials is their Sakura Roll containing spicy salmon, tuna, and yellowtail with avocado inside and topped with soybean seaweed tobiko. While I’m personally not a fan of eel, my boyfriend very much enjoys the Woodlands Roll, which has eel, white tuna, real crabmeat, and asparagus inside. It’s deep fried and served with a tobiko and a special sauce. Their fish is quality and it’s an enjoyable experience to eat in or take out. Try the plum wine too. Mmmm.

River Street Jazz Cafe

The last stop on my list is here for the music and the drinks, not the food. I know, I’m a slacker, but I never got around to trying the food… I did very much enjoy the ambiance of the venue, the music, and the cool drink menu. Great for a night out, they feature a variety of types of live music and a nice set up. They have a full bar and unique drink options that piqued my interest and pleased my taste buds.

I'll be honest, if I hadn't lived there, I would never have discovered these gems. We wouldn't have added it to our itinerary, and growing up in the Poconos meant that I went to Jersey, New York, or even Allentown first, but I'm glad these tasty haunts exist. While I would never recommend the area for a lengthy vacation, I hope my list ensures that you will find some good food options if you're in the area.

Thanks for reading! Remember to check out the chainmaille shop here and if I missed anything good, let me know!.

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

Nicole "ChaseThePen" Sanchez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.