Feast logo

Why does the USA approve foods banned in other countries?

When I was in the U.S. visiting my family last month, my boyfriend had a few requests of things that he wanted me to bring back. Lucky Charms are the one food item he had been requesting because all the students at his school told him how amazing they taste.

By sara burdickPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Why does the USA approve foods banned in other countries?
Photo by Pablo Stanic on Unsplash

I must admit I lived off Lucky Charms during college. My grandmother would get me two boxes from Costco and send them with brownies and fudge for my roommates and me at least once a month.

So in my sophomore year of college, I lived off Lucky Charms, Brownies, and Grandma’s fudge.

I would also like to add that I ended up in the doctor with excruciating pains in my stomach by the end of sophomore year. The findings, nothing was wrong with me. I concluded that it was my diet, yet my doctor did not ask me what I ate nor cared.

I cleaned up my diet as much as a sophomore in college could do and didn’t revisit the subject until I was in my 20s and became a holistic health coach and health nut.

Since my college days, my food choices have improved, and now if I lived in the U.S., I would never buy Lucky Charms as they are full of sugar and other toxic chemicals I would like to avoid. Yet he wanted to try, so I brought him a big box. I also got him a few other foods to try that I wanted to see what he thought.

I must clarify that here in Colombia, they like their sweets, as Arequipe is a typical sweet used in many things, as well as they add sugar to their juices, and everything seems to have sugar in it.

Also, for years, I have been aware that foods in the U.S. have more toxic chemicals, GMOs, fake sugars, and fake food. If you look at the cereal box from the U.S. vs. Europe, you will see the difference. If you would like to take a closer look at foods banned in other counties but not in the U.S., take a look here.

By Jordan on Unsplash

On the list, there is this infamous cereal Lucky Charms, as they state:

Lucky Charms | This colorful breakfast cereal gets its rainbow hue by using additives Yellow 5, Yellow 6, and Red 40, which must contain warning labels in the European Union. They are also banned in Norway and Austria. They are permitted in the U.S. even though they are known to cause itching and hives for some.

So as they do exist here in Colombia, they are not widespread and only mostly at stores that sell imported foods.

I also admit to having a bowl at my sister’s house, and I also ate foods that I usually do not eat and have not eaten for years. So when in Rome, right?

My stomach hurt almost the entire time I was in the U.S. Was it the food? I am going to tell you yes because that is my opinion.

I also felt puffy the entire time. If you do not buy organic, most fruits and veggies are sprayed with toxins and are primarily GMO. It is why I was a holistic health coach and very neurotic about what I put into my body.

Since leaving, the U.S., I have lightened up since studying and learning that other countries do not use as many toxins. My stomach never hurts even if I have dairy, which I can not touch in the U.S., even organic. It leads to doubling over pains, which I experienced when I was there recently.

The food in the U.S. is full of chemicals.

I also found these foods banned in other countries, except good ole USA.

Brominated Vegetable Oil (BVO)

Carrageenan

BPA

Propylparaben

Azodicarbonamide (ADA)

Chlorine-washed poultry

rBGH or rBST growth hormone

Olestra

Potassium Bromate

Butylated Hydroxyanisole (BHA) / Butylated Hydroxytoluene (BHT)

Color Dyes (Yellow №5, №6, Red №40)

Genetically modified fruits and vegetables

So next time you go into a restaurant, make sure to order your Chicken with a side of chlorine, yummy. I again question why Americans are so sick.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

According to the Cleveland Clinic, studies have found the following:

Studies have linked artificial food dyes to:

Hyperactivity, including ADHD.

Behavioral changes like irritability and depression.

Hives and asthma.

Tumor growth (three primary food dyes contain benzene, a known cancer-causing substance).

So back to did my boyfriend liked the lucky charms; he said they are good but sweet. He also eats them as an afternoon snack, and I can guarantee he will never touch them again after his box is gone.

I also brought a few Oreos back to compare with the Oreos here. I did a blind oreo taste test. I smelled them both, and I instantly knew which one was from the U.S.; it was the one that smelled of toxic chemicals. The taste also was different than the ones made here.

So I was naturally curious, are they the same? You tell me.

Oreos in Colombia

Biscuit [Chierro fortified wheat flour, niacin, zinc, thiamin, riboflavin, and folic acid). sugar, vegetable oil (palm), cocoa powder, invert sugar syrup, raising agents (sodium bicarbonate, ammonium bicarbonate), salt, sunflower lecithin (emulsifier), artificial flavor (vanilla)]; Cream: (Sugar, vegetable shortening (palm), vanilla artificial flavouring), sunflower lecithin (emulsifier)]. CONTAINS WHEAT (GLUTEN) ALLERGEN INFORMATION: PRODUCED IN A FACILITY THAT PROCESSES MILK

USA Oreos

Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1), Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid), Sugar, Palm and/or Canola Oil, Cocoa (Processed with Alkali), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Leavening (Baking Soda and/or Calcium Phosphate), Salt, Soy Lecithin, Chocolate, Artificial Flavor.

Can you spot the very subtle differences?

In my opinion, they are both toxic and harmful to you; now, I am rethinking my oreo habit. Maybe I can find a homemade version to make.

Since I have returned to my usual way of eating here in Colombia, my stomach has only hurt when I eat the food I brought. It was only a handful of sweets, such as Twizzlers, a couple of Oreos, and marshmallows to make smores.

The only thing he says he liked was the Lucky Charms, and I am not sure he likes them or is eating them because he made such a fuss over wanting them.

So to answer my question:

Why does the USA approve foods banned in other countries?

I will answer it with my conclusion. They do it for the nookie; I mean the money. A healthy society is aware of what is going on. A healthy community has a clear mind, body, and soul. A healthy culture will not need medication and surgeries and dump money into the healthcare system. We don’t want that do we?

Keeping you sick is a big business and requires a lot of work, especially to cover up the truths.

It is my very own conclusion that the food in the U.S. is toxic; even if you buy fruits and veggies, they could contain poisonous and harmful sprays. Which could lead to cancers and other diseases; if they keep you sick, it keeps them in business.

I could link more legitimate studies, which I initially did, and then remove them because I do not think you need a study to back up how you feel after eating something.

We are intelligent and can use our critical thinking skills, which sometimes is more legitimate than a study that may or may not been funded by the institution that wants to keep us sick. Yet again, my opinions!

The health care system is really designed to reward you for being unhealthy. If you are a healthy person and work hard to be healthy, there are no benefits. — Mike Huckabee

Yes, a very biased article based on my observations of living in the U.S. my entire life, until recently, as well as working in healthcare for over 15 years.

Originally published here.

healthy
Like

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.