Feast logo

When The Moon Hits Your Eye.

On being addicted to pizza!

By Hoyt Douglas BattlesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Like a big pizza pie, that's Amore'

I've never really been in love with food like I'm about to tell you.

But, one day I was walking up and down the hall of fame in the late 80's, young and impressionable, I thought the world is my oyster, I was up for anything, suddenly my stomach began to growl, letting me know that it was time to eat. I looked up and down Hollywood Boulevard and while there were many eateries, nothing caught my eye, until I began to cross Las Palmas avenue I looked to the right of me, nothing. ThenI looked to the left of me going south and there it was, Miceli's an Italian restaurant that has apparently been in business for a long time, so I decided to give it a try.

It took me a moment to adjust my eyes to the darkened environment, it was quite the cozy little place, candles were ablaze on every table, with old jazz standards playing in the background, or so I thought it was the radio or jukebox, boy was I wrong! They had a pianist playing and singing his little heart out, I immediately smiled and became infatuated with this restaurant. The Maitre' d came up and asked me if I would like smoking or nonsmoking, naturally, I just pointed up to the extended veranda where the music was coming from and said, 'I'll eat up there, if you don't mind'... 'No, not at all, please follow me,' he replied.

As I settled into the booth, putting down my shopping bags, I was gazing at all the movie stars 8x 10's of actors and actresses that have eaten at this restaurant, then I quickly looked over the restaurant to see if there was anyone I would recognize, but sadly there weren't any movie stars having lunch at the time. The waitress came over to my table and introduced herself to me and asked me if I would like something to drink before ordering and luckily they knew what a lemon icebox was, so off to the bar she went to fetch one of my favorite drinks. I basically already knew what I was going to order without looking at the menu, but I looked over the menu anyway. They had all the Italian fare I could eat and I was happy that I had slipped into the door when I did. My stomach was still slightly growling impatiently waiting for what gastronomical feast I was going to feed it.

Just then the pianist was in between songs when he decided to introduce himself as well and asked if we had any requests to feel free to make them. he was very good and basically seemed to know a lot of songs. I grew up in the south and we never had anything like this. I was in hog heaven, so to speak. I had placed my order for veal parmesan, and I'm telling you it was the most delectable choice cut of meat I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying. the experience was so surreal for me at the time, that after having two drinks and consuming such a nice meal, I was ready to take a little power nap, but of course, you can't very well do that, I had to wait until I got back to the hotel nearby where I was staying until I could find a more permanent place to stay.

I generously tipped everyone as I was preparing to leave. the waitress got the best tip, then the pianist got a nice one, as well as the maitre' d. I told them that this was the best meal I had eaten in a very long time and I would definitely come back soon. Everyone smiled right along with my most infectious smile.

Now here it is 30 some odd years later, and not counting the very first time I had ever visited this lovely restaurant, I believe I have eaten well over three dozen times, It was my most favorite Italian digs to eat.

Which reminds me, I'm a bit famished now! If you'll excuse me I think I will order a pizza to go from the happiest little pizzeria in Hollywood, Miceli's !

Catch you later!

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Hoyt Douglas Battles

The reluctant writer emerges from the thicket of discontent wanting to scold society for the lies and deceit.

Unsure of his methods, he embraces his individual excellence and immeadiately received an offer to publish his very first novel!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.