Feast logo

When in Puerto Rico, Eat Plantains

Out of dozens of recipes you can make with plantains, it is in my humble opinion that Mofongo Relleno is the best

By Diana LottiPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
When in Puerto Rico, Eat Plantains
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

Growing up in Puerto Rico meant exposure to many, oh so many dishes where the main ingredient was the plantain (plátano in Spanish). You may look at a plantain and think it’s a green banana, and even though they may be closely related, I don’t recommend eating it raw.

It is unpleasant.

But cook it, and you will experience something altogether different and wonder why you haven’t tried it before. Once peeled, you can steam it, boil it, fry it, or make a creamy soup out of it. The cooking options are endless.

I once remember my mother making lasagna for dinner. It was her specialty. I was still a little girl, but I knew at that time that a lasagna involved layered lasagna sheets with ground beef. That evening, there were no lasagna sheets. However, there were fried plantain “sheets” and ground beef. I thought my mother was genius as she proceeds to layer the fried plantain sheets with meat to make it like a lasagna. She topped it with some cheese, in the oven it went, and then to the plate.

It was delicious. As an adult, I realized the recipe was called a Pastelón. But I still give credit to my mami for its invention.

What Is a Plantain and Where Do I Find It?

The plantain is technically a fruit, and it is starchy, which is why it must be cooked to enjoy it. It is also hard to peel, and it stains your fingers and clothes (there’s always a dark side to the good things). Plantains grow in the tropics and are believed to have come from Southeast Asia. Thanks to trade many, many years ago, the plantain arrived in Puerto Rico.

One of the best and easiest ways to cook plantain is to fry it in a bit of vegetable oil. Some of these fried plantains are called “Tostones,” and others are called “Amarillos.” It depends on how ripe the plantain was at the time of cooking. When the plantain is unripe, you’ll get tostones that are a bit crispy. Amarillos, on the other hand, is soft and a bit sweet and savory. This flavor is only achieved when the plantain is ripe.

Fried Tostones (Photo from Wikimedia Commons)

The best way to eat tostones is by dipping them in what Puerto Ricans call “mayoketchup,” which is a mix of, you guess it, mayonnaise and ketchup (trust me, it’s good). The mix creates a dipping sauce in a salmon-like color, but I love it even more when there’s some smashed garlic in the mix. It takes the flavor up a notch. Another option is to sprinkle a bit of salt or just eat them as is. It is delicious no matter how you eat them.

Fried Amarillos (Photo from Wikimedia Commons)

I prefer to eat amarillos with some white rice and beans. Some people dipped them in sour cream, but I think it messes with its unique flavor. But everyone’s palate is different and what matters is that you enjoy eating them.

These fried options are eaten on the island on a weekly, if not daily, basis. It’s certainly a staple in Puerto Rican cuisine.

Best Plantain Recipe in the World

The best plantain recipe in the world has to be the “Mofongo.” I admit that I am biased since it is one of my favorite recipes from the island. Surprisingly, I have only ever tried to make it myself once in my lifetime. Not because it is hard (even though it can be), but because the best ingredients are found on the island. You may be able to achieve a pretty good mofongo recipe outside of Puerto Rico, but somehow the flavors are just not the same. Something seems to be missing.

Mofongo Relleno

Food Mofongo with Shrimp (Photo from Wikimedia Commons)

A Mofongo Relleno dish requires a fried unripe plantain. Once fried, you smash it with some garlic, but some also add chicharrón (pork rinds). Many serve it in the outer edges of a Pilón, a wood mortar like in the photo above since it’s what it is used to smash it in (plus, doesn’t it look beautiful!). Then, you proceed to stuff it with whatever you fancy at the moment. Options include pollo guisado (stewed boneless chicken breast), shrimp with garlic, a seafood mix, or ground beef. I particularly love it with shrimp and lobster mix with some garlic and spices (even now, it makes my mouth water and miss the island very deeply).

Final Thoughts

As an adult living pretty far away from Puerto Rico, I truly miss eating plantains in any shape or form. But there’s a silver lining about this particular situation. When I get to revisit the island, I’ll indulge in different dishes featuring the plantain.

Thinking about this local delicacy from this tiny little island makes me feel nostalgic and fills me with yearning. It reminds me of the many meals shared with my family and friends and how food truly has the power to bring people together and cherish memories.

As vaccines roll out and travel picks up again, I’ll be visiting the island sooner than I expected. Guess what I’ll be eating for dinner upon arrival? That’s right, a very yummy mofongo relleno with a local brew.

The original story appeared on Medium.

recipe
3

About the Creator

Diana Lotti

Traveler. Photographer. Storyteller. MBA. Writing about first-hand experiences involving travel, photography, and self-development. Twitter: @DianaILotti and IG: @dlottiphotography

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.